English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 December 2009, 17:03   #1
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 62
Posts: 189
Parallel port zip 250

Hi chaps,
Hope you are looking forward to Xmas and that all your presents are good ones.I'm hoping for a scandoubler/flickerfixer and World Peace.But I wont get either....ah well.
Is it possible to connect a parallel 250 zip drive to my Miggy.I already have a Catweasel floppy drive,an IDE zip 100 drive and a surf squirrel cd drive.When I power the 250 up there is no recognition of the fact I am trying to use one.I have looked in the hard drive toolbox but with no joy.Any help would be much appreciated as I am running out of ideas
Dave........and a Happy Xmas
Dave_wb is offline  
Old 14 December 2009, 17:21   #2
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 753
SCSI IomegaTools (ZIP or JAZ)

Hi Dave_wb. I have a SCSI ZIP 250 drive with similar problem as you have, my trick was to open the program for the ZIP drive on the A1200 and edit the 'Tooltypes' for the the Zip drive program icon, i then runned the program and let i stay open in the background when i needed axx. to the ZIP drive floppies. If you have OS3.9 you will find the ZIP drive program there.

Remember that the original PSU that follow the A1200 are a weak one, so you need a lot of ampere to fire up a A1200 with all the extras that don't have it's own PSU.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 14 December 2009, 17:34   #3
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_wb View Post
Is it possible to connect a parallel 250 zip drive to my Miggy.
No, sorry. The Amiga's parallel port is not compatible with the Zip drive parallel interface, which was designed to be used with the PC's parallel port.
prowler is offline  
Old 14 December 2009, 18:05   #4
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,821
maNumber, weird that you have to do something special. I simply connected my SCSI zip drive to the SCSI interface, formatted a disk and I could boot from it and there was nothing special I had to do. This was on A500 kick 2.0 WB 2.0. Worked fine to swap disks even in CLI/Diskmaster. Don't remember if I needed a mountlist for the removable blah-blah.
Photon is offline  
Old 14 December 2009, 18:13   #5
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_wb View Post
Is it possible to connect a parallel 250 zip drive to my Miggy.
No, sorry. The Amiga's parallel port is not compatible with the Zip drive parallel interface, which was designed to be used with the PC's parallel port.
Actually it is possible, but only if you are prepared to build an experimental custom hardware interface.
prowler is offline  
Old 14 December 2009, 18:56   #6
solaris104
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Czechia
Posts: 76
I conected ZIP Drive Parallel 100MB to A1200.
http://aminet.net/package/docs/hard/ppazip
solaris104 is offline  
Old 14 December 2009, 19:07   #7
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
So, the experimental interface works, then!
prowler is offline  
Old 14 December 2009, 19:14   #8
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 62
Posts: 189
Oh bugger! Thanks for the info
Dave
Dave_wb is offline  
Old 14 December 2009, 19:18   #9
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 62
Posts: 189
250 zip drive blues

Quote:
Originally Posted by ma693541 View Post
Hi Dave_wb. I have a SCSI ZIP 250 drive with similar problem as you have, my trick was to open the program for the ZIP drive on the A1200 and edit the 'Tooltypes' for the the Zip drive program icon, i then runned the program and let i stay open in the background when i needed axx. to the ZIP drive floppies. If you have OS3.9 you will find the ZIP drive program there.

Remember that the original PSU that follow the A1200 are a weak one, so you need a lot of ampere to fire up a A1200 with all the extras that don't have it's own PSU.
Thanks for the reply and the info on the psu.I have an A500 psu and that is more than meaty enough for my setup,but I only found that out when my Miggy "died" from lack of juice
Happy Xmas
Dave
Dave_wb is offline  
Old 14 December 2009, 22:11   #10
Ed Cruse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Cruces, USA
Age: 67
Posts: 351
I have a Parallel Port Zip100, but I had to buy a PC Parallel Port kit which connects to a little circuit board that plugs into the clock port on my 1200. It came with a Zip100 driver that talks to the little circuit board. It's not as fast as a Zip100 SCSI but it works.

I don't believe they are made anymore and they are very sensitive to static, I've killed two of them. It's very important to ground the Parallel port connector itself. I mounted it in the upper back of the plastic case so no ground, I had to actually run a wire from the connector to ground.

If your interested I can probably find the name of the kit. It would probably work for a Zip250 by simply changing the mountlist to the proper values.
Ed Cruse is offline  
Old 14 December 2009, 22:13   #11
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,393
I believe the interface works for the Zip100.

The Zip100 Plus and Zip250 use a different Parallel to SCSI chipset, and I seem to remember it wasn't compatible with the interface, unless there's more than 1 interface out there....

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 14 December 2009, 22:21   #12
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
I believe the interface works for the Zip100.

The Zip100 Plus and Zip250 use a different Parallel to SCSI chipset, and I seem to remember it wasn't compatible with the interface, unless there's more than 1 interface out there....
The ReadMe file suggests strongly that you are right, since only the parallel Zip 100 drive is mentioned specifically.

Thanks for the info!
prowler is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 19:22   #13
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 62
Posts: 189
zip 250 woes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Cruse View Post
I have a Parallel Port Zip100, but I had to buy a PC Parallel Port kit which connects to a little circuit board that plugs into the clock port on my 1200. It came with a Zip100 driver that talks to the little circuit board. It's not as fast as a Zip100 SCSI but it works.

I don't believe they are made anymore and they are very sensitive to static, I've killed two of them. It's very important to ground the Parallel port connector itself. I mounted it in the upper back of the plastic case so no ground, I had to actually run a wire from the connector to ground.

If your interested I can probably find the name of the kit. It would probably work for a Zip250 by simply changing the mountlist to the proper values.
Thanks for the heads up - I will wait until after xmas to see what I will do - I gotta have a zip 250 that works for my Miggy - this is war and hopefully I will be fighting the allied side and not the axis!!
Merry Xmas
Dave
Dave_wb is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
zip 250 on A1200 Dave_wb support.Hardware 2 24 December 2009 10:42
ide zip 250 Dave_wb support.Hardware 5 16 December 2009 21:15
Parallel ZIP Drive Drake008@ support.Hardware 2 26 August 2007 20:24
What's this? : parallel port thing Galaxy support.Hardware 19 07 September 2006 12:09
Parallel port emulation alexh support.WinUAE 8 20 March 2006 17:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08416 seconds with 13 queries