English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 December 2008, 22:57   #1
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Question Hard drive converters

Hello, i posted the following on Amiga.org too:

I'm getting ready to part from my old SCSI-harddrive connected to my BPPC due to lack of 80-pin QUIET scsi-hdd's on the market (10000 rpm's is pissing me off). So i've decided to use a converter to connect an IDE or SATA harddisk to my BlizzPPC. Now i've tracked down a couple of possibilities:

1. use an IDE-to-SCSI converter to use IDE HDD's
2. use a SATA-to-SCSI converter to use SATA HDD's
3. use an IDE-to-SCSI converter connected to a SATA-to-IDE converter to use SATA HDD's.

Now i've examined and option 2. is a rather expensive one and i don't know if option 3. works (2 converters connected to each other). Has somebody tried any converters? If then please share your experiences!

Thanks

Last edited by Bamiga2002; 16 December 2008 at 23:08.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 16 December 2008, 23:28   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,404
(1) is your best choice.

You can still by PATA (IDE) hard drives just as easily as SATA.

Remember that the Blizzard SCSI driver can (AFAIK) only access upto 128GB (26-bit LBA in READ10 SCSI commands)

Last edited by alexh; 16 December 2008 at 23:42.
alexh is offline  
Old 16 December 2008, 23:32   #3
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
@Bamiga2002:

See this thread concerning SCSI to IDE adaptors:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=41108

The news is not all good, though, I'm afraid.
prowler is offline  
Old 16 December 2008, 23:41   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,404
ACARD AEC-7720UW works fine with CSPPC/CSMKIII's SCSI and all the Seagate, WD and Samsung drives I've thrown at it over the years. Also works with CF adapters.

The regular AEC-7720U has been reported to work well with Amiga's internal IDE and Blizzard SCSI
alexh is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 07:02   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Remember that the Blizzard SCSI driver can (AFAIK) only access upto 128GB (26-bit LBA in READ10 SCSI commands)
This is incorrect in itself. 2 ^ 26 * 512 = 32 GB.

There is no such limit. READ(6) has a 16 bit LBA (32 MB limit) and READ(10) has a 32 bit LBA (2 TB limit).

See http://www.t10.org/cgi-bin/ac.pl?t=f&f=sbc3r17.pdf (from http://www.t10.org/drafts.htm)
thomas is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 07:29   #6
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Thanks for answers. I was in fact thinking of buying this AEC-7720U converter and as it's reported OK i'll strongly consider it.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 07:51   #7
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
I found an Acard AEC-7730A that allows straight connections of SATA-drives to a SCSI-controller. Would this do with a BPPC?

Link to a seller site of the item.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 10:36   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,404
AFAIR, that is not compatible with Amiga SCSI. It's for LVDS based SCSI
alexh is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 10:39   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
There is no such limit. READ(6) has a 16 bit LBA (32 MB limit) and READ(10) has a 32 bit LBA (2 TB limit).
My bad. The limit i was thinking about is 28-bit and it affects for IDE drivers.
alexh is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 17:54   #10
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Ok i've ordered an IDE-to-SCSI converter (AEC-7720U) and a SATA-to-IDE converter (Delock IOI) to hook up a SATA-hd to my BPPC. So i'm gonna try to use a chain like this: SCSI-IDE-SATA. Let's see how it works...
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 22:18   #11
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Ok i've ordered an IDE-to-SCSI converter (AEC-7720U) and a SATA-to-IDE converter (Delock IOI) to hook up a SATA-hd to my BPPC. So i'm gonna try to use a chain like this: SCSI-IDE-SATA. Let's see how it works...
Good choice, mate!

I've had no problems with my ACARD AEC-7720U, and the website support is very good.

Product info:
http://www.acard.com.tw/english/fb01...e&type1_idno=2

Downloads:
http://www.acard.com.tw/english/fc01...odno=AEC-7720U
prowler is offline  
Old 01 January 2009, 20:33   #12
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Ok then, the SCSI-IDE converter should arrive early next week or so . Just wondering which IDE-cable to use, 40-wire or 80-wire to connect the SCSI-IDE converter to SATA-IDE converter??
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 01 January 2009, 20:52   #13
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Ok then, the SCSI-IDE converter should arrive early next week or so . Just wondering which IDE-cable to use, 40-wire or 80-wire to connect the SCSI-IDE converter to SATA-IDE converter??
With the cascaded drive signal translation involved in converting the SCSI commands through IDE to SATA and vice-versa I can't see that an 80-wire IDE cable would provide any advantage here.

However, depending on whether or not you intend to build a cable link yourself using existing parts, the 80-wire version would probably be the more common and maybe just as cheap to buy as the 40-wire version.

An 80-wire cable should not be any disadvantage here. My best advice would be to keep the cable as short as possible.

prowler
prowler is offline  
Old 01 January 2009, 20:57   #14
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Thnx Prowler, i'll experiment with both cables and see which one works . I let you lot know about it too.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 01 January 2009, 21:00   #15
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Thnx Prowler, i'll experiment with both cables and see which one works . I let you lot know about it too.


Good luck, then!
prowler is offline  
Old 01 January 2009, 22:39   #16
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 7,989
I'd believe you just plug the adapters into each other, no cable should be used.

Post pictures once you have them set up.
Jope is offline  
Old 14 July 2009, 20:02   #17
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Today i finally tested the SCSI-IDE-SATA chain and guess what: after much fiddling i couldn't get the SATA-drive recognised within blizzppc.device. Q-Device --> no drive, HDToolBox --> no drive. Tried even various combinations of terminator settings and SCSI ID settings.

I think the problem lies somehow within the IDE-SATA converter, so i decided not to hassle with it anymore. I have one 160GB SATA and one 160GB IDE hard disk, so i just switch the IDE-SATA converter to the FastATA and connect the SATA drive there and IDE drive to the BPPC scsi-cable. Just hoping a harddrive will pop up on the blizz controller and get recognised then...

I'm connecting the HD's tomorrow so thumbs up everything goes well .
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 14 July 2009, 21:53   #18
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Thanks for the update, Bamiga.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Today i finally tested the SCSI-IDE-SATA chain and guess what: after much fiddling i couldn't get the SATA-drive recognised within blizzppc.device. Q-Device --> no drive, HDToolBox --> no drive. Tried even various combinations of terminator settings and SCSI ID settings.

I think the problem lies somehow within the IDE-SATA converter, so i decided not to hassle with it anymore.
Don't you just love it when these things happen with no obvious explanantion?

Better luck with the next step...
prowler is offline  
Old 15 July 2009, 04:08   #19
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 999
Some IDE-SATA converters may not be able to handle 160GB drives (yeah I know stupid considering when SATA came out, but true according to disclaimers on some of these converters). They don't say what happens if you do try to use an unsupported drive size.
Calgor is offline  
Old 15 July 2009, 15:34   #20
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
I successfully installed and partitioned the 160GB SATA drive connected to FastATA . The other IDE hd was 80GB instead of 160GB .

And about the two adapters connected together:
I realised i've connected the 50-pin SCSI cable wrong way around (silly me), so it might have worked still. I'll test that also during this week .
Bamiga2002 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"winuae.exe - Drive Not Ready" when trying to add CF card as hard drive vroom6sri support.WinUAE 20 20 June 2012 22:55
Video Converters Methanoid support.Hardware 2 20 June 2012 00:12
Has anyone tried one of these converters ? Kakaboy Hardware mods 18 19 May 2010 14:03
Project: Adding a CF Drive as an Hard Drive to an A500 mfletcher support.Hardware 8 03 July 2008 00:20
Compact flash drive Vs. 2,5" hard disk drive fc.studio support.Hardware 5 16 June 2007 16:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09601 seconds with 13 queries