English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 November 2001, 06:12   #1
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
Light Gun

I just received my EBay win today

It was a Light Gun for the Amiga. The box says it's made by Actionware, but when you open it up, it looks strikingly like an Atari XE light gun. I look at the port, and what do I see? The atari logo

Anyway. I pulled out Capone and started mucking around. Apart from a little cable problem, the thing works fine, but I've never been good at using light guns so I didn't do very well (reminds me of how shit I do in Time Crisis )

Oh well. It was pretty cheap (Can't remember how much. About $8AUS) so I'm satisfied

Last edited by Amigaboy; 12 November 2001 at 11:09.
 
Old 12 November 2001, 09:17   #2
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 5,901
If you are looking for some light gun games, then Firestar, Aliex and Cyber Assault were designed for the Phazer light gun. I don't know if they'd work with your gun.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 12 November 2001, 09:18   #3
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
I don't know if I have them, but if I do, I'll give them a try

(ie. If it's on either Dreamzone or PE2000, then I have them)
 
Old 12 November 2001, 09:45   #4
Tim Janssen
Junior Member

Tim Janssen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Den Bosch / The Netherlands
Age: 44
Posts: 1,271
Question P.O.W. & Spacegun

Amigaboy,
Oooh, a real collectors-item methinks. Is Capone the only Actionware game which came with the lightgun? I remember they also produced another game called P.O.W. - a Vietnam shooting galery, around the same time (end 1988).

Also, is it possible to use the lightgun with other Amiga games? If I am correct Ocean's Spacegun also supports lightguns. -Would be great fun to play this game with plastic guns.
Tim Janssen is offline  
Old 12 November 2001, 09:56   #5
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
I didn't get any games with it

I've had 2 original copies of Capone for years, and have been playing them with mouse until now

I think I have P.O.W. somewhere as well

I'll be sure to try it with these other games, since, in theory they should work too
 
Old 12 November 2001, 10:09   #6
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 5,901
There was also Sideshow.

Last edited by CodyJarrett; 13 March 2007 at 09:34.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 12 November 2001, 10:09   #7
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 5,901
And Creature.

Last edited by CodyJarrett; 13 March 2007 at 09:34.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 12 November 2001, 10:13   #8
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
Creature uses the gun?

My uncle has that game original. I might have to borrow it
 
Old 12 November 2001, 10:25   #9
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 5,901
Mmm, maybe it doesn't use the gun. It looks like it should.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 12 November 2001, 10:50   #10
Kodoichi
Banned
Kodoichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: I'm the smiling face on your TV, I exploit you still you love me
Posts: 514
There's also a game from a french company (Infogrames?) which supports lightguns, West Phazer or so, but it was released under 2 other names too.
Kodoichi is offline  
Old 12 November 2001, 11:04   #11
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 29
Posts: 4,662
I have originals of Creature, Sideshow and P.O.W. and I just checked them...they all three support the lightgun!
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 12 November 2001, 17:22   #12
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,347
doesn't Steve McQueens's accept the Phazer gun?
Akira is offline  
Old 12 November 2001, 17:49   #13
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 5,901
Does anyone have a copy of Steve McQueen's West Phaser that actually says Steve McQueen in the title? Or a box scan?
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 21 November 2001, 00:54   #14
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 36
Posts: 2,731
Big grin Tee-hee-heee-heee-heee...

Looks like even the Amiga got a light gun and shit, yet I don't see the PC with many lightguns and games as such...
MethodGit is offline  
Old 03 December 2004, 13:56   #15
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 2,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigaboy
I just received my EBay win today

It was a Light Gun for the Amiga. The box says it's made by Actionware, but when you open it up, it looks strikingly like an Atari XE light gun. I look at the port, and what do I see? The atari logo

Anyway. I pulled out Capone and started mucking around. Apart from a little cable problem, the thing works fine, but I've never been good at using light guns so I didn't do very well (reminds me of how shit I do in Time Crisis )

Oh well. It was pretty cheap (Can't remember how much. About $8AUS) so I'm satisfied
do your light gun run fine with loriciel's and trojan's phaser games?

all following games support light gun/phazer

Trojan's phazer:
Aliex
The enforcer
Orbital destroyer
Cyber Assault
starfire
Skeet shot
Space gun

Loriciel's phaser
west phaser
Crazy shot

Actionware phazer:
Capone
POW
Creature
Sideshow

Perhaps others exit

Last edited by CFOU!; 03 December 2004 at 14:23.
CFOU! is offline  
Old 03 December 2004, 18:42   #16
terryhan
Registered User
terryhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: a zombi filled shopping mall
Posts: 103
I think Die Hard 2 supported a light gun.
terryhan is offline  
Old 03 December 2004, 19:14   #17
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 2,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by terryhan
I think Die Hard 2 supported a light gun.
I'am not sure for this game because isn't notified on box

I will try it when i will receive my new phazer

http://hol.abime.net/?id=353
CFOU! is offline  
Old 04 February 2005, 11:29   #18
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,047
I just received my Actionware light gun today also from an ebay auction ($10.50AU + $6.00AU postage) . It seems it is only compatible with the Actionware games listed above, I have tried it with both the Trojan and Loriciel games listed above with no luck.

Does anyone know of any PD games that might require a light gun that I could try?

(clutching at straws) Any hardware hacks that could make the gun compatible to all games?

Mine also has an Atari logo on the port connector, does this mean it could be compatible with the AtariSt or 2600 lightgun games?
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 17 August 2011, 23:21   #19
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 40
Posts: 17,789
gameplay of Firestar: [ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is offline  
Old 18 August 2011, 02:28   #20
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 516
I didn't know that a Light Gun was available for the Amiga.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MethodGit View Post
Looks like even the Amiga got a light gun and shit, yet I don't see the PC with many lightguns and games as such...
Another reason why the PC is crap.
B14ck W01f is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GOLEM Light Gun - for Action Games shutter support.Hardware 15 16 July 2019 11:11
Light gun games damon_sisk support.Hardware 64 06 December 2017 18:31
Sega megadrive + Light gun + 7 Games Wasagi MarketPlace 18 03 August 2010 15:39
[Request] PHAZER light gun andreas MarketPlace 5 24 April 2004 12:12
Actionware Light Gun Twistin'Ghost MarketPlace 0 03 May 2002 06:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08966 seconds with 13 queries