English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 February 2006, 00:56   #1
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,821
Kara Fonts?

About 1988 there came a disk or disks with multicolor fonts made by a woman I think, which became classic and were used in a multitude of demos. I think they were called Kara Fonts. Does anyone have this disk or disks and if so, could you upload it/them to the Zone?

I have the urge to use them in another retro-demo, you see.
Photon is offline  
Old 18 February 2006, 19:07   #2
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,821
Google really IS my friend!

Found out that Kara died a year ago She also left her legacy on Cloanto. Found the Kara files at ftp://de.aminet.net/pub/aminet/biz/cloan/

Can someone advise on how to get the font characters into an Amiga-readable picture?

I'm having no luck with DPaint4 (it loads the font, changes the palette but you can't put characters on the screen with the A icon). And Colortype won't even start, gurus (I'm emulating an A500 Kick 1.3, tried Kick 2.0, 68020 CPU, more ram etc). Is that program made for Amiga, and which configuration in that case?

Last edited by Photon; 18 February 2006 at 19:13.
Photon is offline  
Old 18 February 2006, 19:17   #3
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,821
Read this in the colorfonts readme:

"Publication or distribution of any part of this archive without the
prior written license from Cloanto constitutes acceptance of a licensing
contract and fee to be determined by Cloanto, at a cost in no case lower
than USD 10000.00, payable to Cloanto immediately upon publication or
distribution."

Am I in trouble if I use these fonts? Why, in that case, do they put the file on a publically accessible ftp server on the internet?
Photon is offline  
Old 19 February 2006, 02:35   #4
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 9,123
DPaint allows you to use the fonts so just use that and type all the chars
BippyM is online now  
Old 19 February 2006, 12:53   #5
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,821
If you read above you would have seen that I tried that and it didn't work. You only get like 1 of 3 bitplanes, some of the fonts don't show at all. Remember these are multicolor fonts and not Emerald 10. Tried with both Dpaint 3 and 4.
Photon is offline  
Old 19 February 2006, 16:24   #6
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 9,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon
If you read above you would have seen that I tried that and it didn't work. You only get like 1 of 3 bitplanes, some of the fonts don't show at all. Remember these are multicolor fonts and not Emerald 10. Tried with both Dpaint 3 and 4.
I distinctly remember using Kara fonts with DPaint yrs ago (cannot remember which version).

One version actually ships with some kara fonts!

I'll have a look later if I get time
BippyM is online now  
Old 19 February 2006, 22:39   #7
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,821
Hmm, weird that I get these errors then. If I had DPaint 2 I'd try them with that, but I don't. Looked it over and everything seems correctly installed, Fonts: is assigned correctly and I've tried starting DPaint both from harddisk and from the boot disk it came on.

It's funny because it all "seems" to work, it lists them, I select one and Show it, only get one bitplane of it, it changes the palette (sometimes), and when I type with it one bitplane comes out. I'm using 32 colors in 320x256.

Btw wasn't there more than one Dpaint 3 version? Maybe I have the wrong one? I have v3.14.
Photon is offline  
Old 20 February 2006, 03:00   #8
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 9,123
Try a newer version of Dpaint (like 5 maybe) and I'll put DPaint 2 in the zone for ya
BippyM is online now  
Old 20 February 2006, 13:32   #9
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,821
Is there really a Dpaint 5?

In any case, I tried it with DPaint 2. You have to do it a bit differently there. You load a font dir into a menu and select the font in the menu. Except when I do that, when I am to select a font the screen goes black and when I release the button, the font hasn't changed and there is menu garbage left on the screen.

Photon is offline  
Old 20 February 2006, 13:49   #10
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,821
Managed to get a proper-looking menu by dividing the fonts dir into two. Apparently DP2 couldn't handle more fonts than fitted in the menu. Now they are selectable and I can type with them.

BUT STILL ONLY ONE BITPLANE! None of the fonts are multicolor.

And when I selected my third font, I got "task held".

I'm doomed... *sniffle* :'(
Photon is offline  
Old 20 February 2006, 21:11   #11
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 9,123
Send me some Kara fonts (can't be assed to look) and I'll have a play
BippyM is online now  
Old 20 February 2006, 22:13   #12
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,821
That's mighty nice of you!

Download link in the 2nd post from the top. I refuse to "distribute" Kara fonts after reading that legalese with USD 10000 penalty (see above)
Photon is offline  
Old 20 February 2006, 22:17   #13
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 9,123
Use PPaint - tested and works fine

You'll have to load the correct colour palette after loading the font

Last edited by BippyM; 20 February 2006 at 22:24.
BippyM is online now  
Old 20 February 2006, 23:59   #14
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,821
Great! What config are you emulating it under? Mine gurus when starting PPaint :'(

Edit: Got it working with an AGA/68020/2MChip only config. It launched in 640x256, 8 colors. Changed to Lores PAL, 32 colors. Loaded the font palette.

And guess what? STILL ONLY ONE BITPLANE!!

Sigh. Hand me a razor.

Last edited by Photon; 21 February 2006 at 00:09.
Photon is offline  
Old 21 February 2006, 01:59   #15
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 9,123
Just for you photon

Last edited by BippyM; 02 November 2008 at 13:50.
BippyM is online now  
Old 21 February 2006, 02:51   #16
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,064
DPaint IV came with sample Kara fonts (on Art Disk #1). So, that one is sure to work.
adolescent is offline  
Old 21 February 2006, 22:26   #17
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym
Just for you photon
That's a mighty hi res picture there. Is it on a real Amiga or emulated? If emulated, which config?? I have no link from PC to Amiga, so right now I can just emulate.

I'm getting nervous. Maybe it wasn't Kara who made the classic fonts I meant... I uploaded Megaforce Megademo to the Zone, can someone take a look at for example the font used in the loading picture and tell me who made it and where I can get it. Haven't found this font in the collection yet, you see.
Photon is offline  
Old 21 February 2006, 23:25   #18
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 9,123
It's an emulated OS3.9 setup with picasso96 screenmode

Here is the config and PPaint works

Also I ripped the font from megaforce.. not sure if it is the one your after tho!

Last edited by BippyM; 02 November 2008 at 13:50.
BippyM is online now  
Old 10 November 2008, 17:56   #19
Solid Snake
Wonderful World Of Amiga
Solid Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 344
Kara Collection CD

I have had no success in registering and no luck contacting the administrator of AF.

Has anyone downloaded this file already?

http://www.amigafuture.de/downloads....tail&df_id=679

If so, can you please PM a link where I can download it. Thanks.
Solid Snake is offline  
Old 11 November 2008, 10:03   #20
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,612
Coming soon - at least I'm trying to upload. Ok, here, 452 MB:

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=QSD46DKE

Last edited by zipper; 11 November 2008 at 11:01.
zipper is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga fonts to PC ? abelthorne support.Apps 19 29 January 2018 20:35
Looking for The Kara Collection videofx request.Apps 5 04 February 2013 17:12
IFF Fonts BippyM request.Apps 14 11 February 2007 13:33
Digita fonts MrZammler request.Apps 4 12 December 2005 10:21
Fonts alkis21 request.Apps 2 23 August 2002 09:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09052 seconds with 13 queries