English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 June 2020, 00:32   #1
Sandancer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Wakefield/United Kingdom
Posts: 162
WANTED - A1200 Floppy mod for gotek

Can anybody makeme one of these



[ Show youtube player ]


I cannot do it myself, don't feel confindent to do it.
I will pay just tell me how much.


Thank you
Sandancer is offline  
Old 09 June 2020, 02:19   #2
aeberbach
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 232
From watching the video I think there's only one drive active, it doesn't make the internal drive DF1: while the external is DF0:, you get DF0: either internal or external. Are you going to be happy with that?
aeberbach is offline  
Old 09 June 2020, 02:48   #3
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,174
This cable based DF0 switcher is also documented at (not mine):

https://www.ikod.se/amiga-1200-gotek/

This is what I made for my A1200, including the internal Gotek.

As stated above, the real floppy drive will not work as DF1 when the Gotek is DF0.
solarmon is offline  
Old 09 June 2020, 13:18   #4
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,856
Indeed, making mechanical drives work in both positions is more challenging, because the /MOT signals also need to be swapped over, and that means extra wiring to other points on the motherboard, as well as a more complex switch.

The Gotek doesn't need the /MOT signal, and will work in either position.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 21 June 2020, 00:14   #5
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
This cable based DF0 switcher is also documented at (not mine):

https://www.ikod.se/amiga-1200-gotek/

This is what I made for my A1200, including the internal Gotek.

As stated above, the real floppy drive will not work as DF1 when the Gotek is DF0.
This is incredible! I like how it has fitted neatly on the opposite side. I'm not sure I could manage it without the tools though.
lesta_smsc is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gotek floppy emulator and A1200 Floppy Mod iowtheme support.Hardware 37 12 October 2018 19:23
GOTEK A500 SOUND MOD LOOK AT ME IM A REAL BOY ! er... FLOPPY 3160550 Hardware mods 13 07 September 2017 14:07
WANTED: A1200 Floppy Drive Wasagi MarketPlace 5 27 July 2010 01:03
Wanted new Internal A1200 floppy DDNI support.Hardware 3 04 April 2006 00:20
Wanted: Internal A1200 Floppy Drive Peanutuk MarketPlace 0 31 January 2005 16:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06352 seconds with 13 queries