English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

Old 25 December 2016, 16:05   #1
Spec-Chum

AGA first or OCS/ECS?

Hi all and Merry Christmas!

I'm brand new to Amiga coding and have just about managed to do a simple system takeover ( https://1drv.ms/u/s!AipiGCTl1HL_g4Mzga3k3DRLQXGJZg ) but, eventually anyway, I want to do some simple AGA demos. Nothing major, parallax stars, simple scroller, that kinda thing.

Anyway, should I dive straight into AGA or stick to the much more documented OCS/ECS modes whilst I'm learning? I've got the recommended hardware reference material and books and the autodocs etc

Is going from OCS to AGA pretty straight forward or is it recommended to just go straight to AGA?
Old 25 December 2016, 17:00   #2
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Going from ECS to AGA is straightforward. Audio and blitter didn't change between them. All AGA adds is big sprites, more palette registers, fast Copper when the display is inactive, color bank switching for sprites and dual playfield mode, faster video fetching, and guaranteed access to Kickstart version 3.
Old 25 December 2016, 17:15   #3
Spec-Chum

OK, cool, thanks.

So 99% of things I'm hoping to learn from ECS will translate over to AGA?

EDIT: Ignore that, you've clearly answered it above lol

Last edited by Spec-Chum; 25 December 2016 at 17:35.
Old 26 December 2016, 14:57   #4
sandruzzo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
Going from ECS to AGA is straightforward. Audio and blitter didn't change between them. All AGA adds is big sprites, more palette registers, fast Copper when the display is inactive, color bank switching for sprites and dual playfield mode, faster video fetching, and guaranteed access to Kickstart version 3.
Fast Copper?? How?
Old 26 December 2016, 17:11   #5
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
Fast Copper?? How?