English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 February 2017, 20:28   #1
Cktwo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 3
Fusion Forty with Matze 68040->68060 adapter

Dear all,

I have recently purchased the Fusion Forty accelerator that is referred to in this thread:
http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...-Matze-version)

However I can't get it working. I have installed the patched Kickstart ROM supplied with the card, including its Gary adapter and the ROM does indeed work (at least with my A2630, the computer boots perfectly well). However when I install the Fusion Forty the computer doesn't start. The power LED doesn't even switch from dark red to light red, let alone does the Fusion Forty splash screen appear. This is both the case if I try the card with its supplied 68040->68060 adapter (and its 80 MHz quartz) and if I try the card with a real 68040 and a 40 MHz quartz (I do not have a 50 MHz at hand). Of course I tried the on/off switch of the Fusion Forty which no big difference.

Any help anyone? What's wrong here?

Thanks in advance!
CKtwo
Cktwo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 February 2017, 00:28   #2
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,193
I don't have any experience with the Fusion Forty, but if you can't get it to boot with an 040 then you may have some other problem.

First thing you should do is verify it works with an 040 that at the speed the board was shipped originally, if you know. 50MHz crystal for 25MHz or 57MHz crystal for 28Mhz, if you don't have these then maybe try 66MHz. Next thing I'd ask is does it have the latest ROMs on the Fusion Forty? Lastly is your 060 a Rev 6?

You say you tried a 40MHz crystal, from the pictures I see the board halves the frequency for an 040, it may not run an 040 at 20MHz, but maybe the 40MHz board was different.

The Fusion Forty has some incompatibilities with other cards, you have removed all other Zorro cards?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 14 February 2017, 18:43   #3
Cktwo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 3
Yes, I have removed all other Zorro cards, making no difference unfortunately.

Currently I only have a 40 MHz crystal (making the card supposedly run at 20 MHz) and a 80 MHz crystal (overclocking to 40 MHz) that was supplied with the card. The seller claims that the card ran reliably at 80/40 MHz.

Yes, the card is equipped with the latest Plug'n'go ROMs (3.4).

The CPU is labeled "MC68060/75 MHz". This means it is a fake CPU. Therefore I do not know what's really inside. If it booted, I could check it with WhichAmiga. But I don't get that far. But as I said, the card doesn't boot with a 68040 either, so sorting out the 68060 would be the second step.
Cktwo is offline  
Old 14 February 2017, 22:59   #4
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,193
That is troubling for sure. What version A2000 motherboard do you have 6+? I suppose since it's not working with the 68000 fallback switch it would indicate something more serious is going on. Can you check the power on your A2000?

Is the A2000 power supply original? Something that happened to me is the since the A2000 power supply is getting into middle age is the Tick signal from the power supply is unreliable. You could try moving the J300 jumper to position 2-3 so the Tick Signal is generated from the motherboard instead of the power supply. This jumper is between Paula and one of the CIAs.

Easiest no-bull thing to do is to try the Fusion Forty in another A2000 if that is a possibility for you.

In thread the guy you bought it from, he apparently got the wrong kickstart from Cosmos until Cosmos shipped the right one to him, you should be able to check this by booting with no startup-sequence and version full exec.library if it reports 45.20 with a recent date then you have the right kickstart, but that would only apply to the 060.

Other things to try is remove all of the RAM from the Fusion Forty and see if it is any different. Be careful though ancient RAM sockets are often brittle.

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 14 February 2017 at 23:04. Reason: more info
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 15 February 2017, 01:27   #5
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,439
With the card running, try to feel if any chip on the card feels hotter than normal.
idrougge is offline  
Old 15 February 2017, 01:59   #6
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,193
Regarding the fake 060, most of the time these remarked chips are an old revision usually Rev 0 or 1. I notice Britlord didn't actually state what revision this was. It is uncommon for a Rev 5 to run at 80MHz reliably without a lot of cooling. And I notice, unless I missed something, he didn't even post the obligatory picture of a Sysinfo or Sysspeed result or even mock one up in Dpaint.

He also says he had a genuine MC68060 but apparently he sent you the fake 75MHz one.

And lastly his board was a 28MHz 040 not the 33MHz version might maybe it might run at 40/80MHz, but if you look on that board the RAM controller is only a 33MHz part. Look at the big socketed chip near the RAM marked KS84C32-33CL. The -33CL refers to the speed it is rated at.

I think you should stop trying to run this 28MHz board at 20 or 40MHz and find a 50 or 56MHz crystal first.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 15 February 2017, 18:34   #7
SpeedGeek
Registered User
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 54
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
That is troubling for sure. What version A2000 motherboard do you have 6+? I suppose since it's not working with the 68000 fallback switch it would indicate something more serious is going on.

In thread the guy you bought it from, he apparently got the wrong kickstart from Cosmos until Cosmos shipped the right one to him, you should be able to check this by booting with no startup-sequence and version full exec.library if it reports 45.20 with a recent date then you have the right kickstart, but that would only apply to the 060.
The original exec 45.20b patch was intended to be used only with A1200, A3000 and A4000 so it won't work with "68000 Fall-Back" mode. Also, exec 45.20b is normally used with OS3.9 which requires a 68020 CPU minimum.

Since, there is a possibility that exec 45.20b could be used in a Kickstart 3.1 ROM and most A2000/A500 040 accelerators support the "68000 Fall-Back" mode the patch has recently been updated to support the 68000. You should contact Cosmos if you are interested in this updated patch.

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 15 February 2017 at 20:39.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 01:58   #8
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,193
Thanks Speedgeek, good point. I guess he wouldn't know if the 68000 fall back mode was working unless he installed his original kickstart and the 040.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 18:45   #9
Cktwo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 3
Hi all,
thanks for your hints!

First of all the A2000 has recently had a complete rework. Capacitors, PSU etc. have been revised by Gonzo and the system is running perfectly well with its A2630 card and all other Zorro cards. It is VERY unlikely that the base system itself has a problem. However, that's true, I don't have another A2000 at hand to check the card there.

Version reports exec.library 45.20 after booting without Startup sequence. Since there seem to be "different 45.20 versions": Is there any way to check which one I have?

With its original 3.1 ROM inserted, the A2000 runs fine both with its 68000 and its 68030 processor. With its custom ROM, 68000 mode won't boot (even with a "naked" A2000, not Zorro boards).

It is a Rev 4.3 board, which according to the Fusion Forty FAQ should work fine with the card. Late versions are reported to cause problems sometimes.
Cktwo is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 23:06   #10
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,193
As Speedgeek says above the custom ROM won't boot with a 68000 at all(Speedgeek would know since he originally wrote the 68060 FPU shut up code in exec for Cosmos).

Though if you put the 040 in it should boot with the original Kickstart with the 68000 switch turned on unless the card is not starting up at all at 40MHz. Or there's something more seriously wrong with the Fusion Forty that should work.

Too many unknowns really.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 23:58   #11
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,219
Fusion Forty with Matze 68040->68060 adapter

Please let me know if you get this working as I have the same Accelerator and I wanted to use the adapter. Where can I get the special ROM?
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 17 February 2017, 00:28   #12
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,193
Cosmos will sell you the ROM. You should be able to test with an 060 LC at first if you happen to have one of those around without the ROM to see if it works.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 15 May 2017, 10:14   #13
ShK
In carbonite
ShK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lahti / Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 289
Does anyone know why these mods are done? One of the U4 pins is bent up and U53 is removed.

https://postimg.org/image/9a446cv73/
https://postimg.org/image/h44prr2zz/

With the original CPU it does not boot at all if I disable the fastkick. Otherwise it seems to work normally.

Last edited by ShK; 15 May 2017 at 11:42. Reason: cpu adapter is not in use
ShK is offline  
Old 25 May 2018, 23:58   #14
Crumb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Madrid / Spain
Posts: 27
@Cktwo


Hi! I use Matze's 060 kickstart patch that works even with a plain 68000, no need for special exec, much cleaner solution.


I have Plug'n go 3.4 ROMs, in addition to that I use p5 040 dummy and 68060.library. In order to load these libraries I have to disable FASTKICK booting with the right mouse button pressed, I disable autofastkick and boot pressing nofastkick button, then Startup-Sequence is executed, I had this:
SetFF FASTKICK AMAXIV
Setpatch NOAGA REVERSE
...


However when SetFF does a reset to configure MMU the next time SetFF is executed it crashes... I did a small utility to detect when mac memory is being reserved and with a few lines in teh Startup-Sequence it skips nicely the SetFF command so it won't crash.


Code:
FailAt 21
c:ismacmemenabled
IF ERROR
    echo "loading setff"
    SetFF FASTKICK AMAXIV
ELSE
    echo "mac mem already reserved"
ENDIF
echo "loading setpatch..."
SetPatch NOAGA REVERSE

The only uncomfortable thing is having to boot with right mouse button first time I boot, some kind of patched firmware that didn't enable fastkick as default would be great (and even better if it used 4KB MMU pages instead of 8KB ones). Please find attached the little program, I hope it helps you.

BTW, It could be a good idea to give it a go to Thor's MMU libraries, firstly running ScanToConfig with FF 040 library (instead of the commodore one), once the configuration is done original library could be theorically replaced by MMUlib ones, maybe without SetFF command as MMU page size and configuration may match original one...
Attached Files
File Type: zip FUSIONFORTY SetFF workaround.zip (3.1 KB, 9 views)

Last edited by Crumb; 26 May 2018 at 00:05.
Crumb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
68040-68060 Adapter on Cyberstorm MK1 amigoun support.Hardware 10 07 January 2016 11:18
Fusion Forty Plug'N Go ROMs! TjLaZer support.Hardware 24 21 September 2013 14:40
68040 vs 68060 tesla support.Hardware 10 20 April 2013 19:13
Fusion Forty (68040) and A2091 Troubles fortytwo support.Hardware 3 28 March 2007 08:41
Fusion Forty Problems :( THX1138 support.Hardware 13 29 December 2005 22:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10011 seconds with 16 queries