English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 November 2012, 07:12   #1
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,500
[ongoing] DosBox AGA (v0.74)

Another way to bring loads of games to 68k (after ScummVM) is of course DosBox

Just got it running (under WinUAE) and got it to load DOOM

Needs lots of work to get it running well on AGA but at least it's a start.

Not sure how fast I can make it yet, I'm thinking of getting a talented assembler coder to knock up a 68k core which should help.

Don't expect a playable BETA anytime soon, I'm time poor with lots of interesting AGA projects to work on

Last edited by NovaCoder; 12 July 2013 at 14:18.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 12:52   #2
Lord Riton
Registered User
Lord Riton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 495
Why making Dosbox work on the Amiga, if you need a PC and run WinUAE for it to be fast enough is beyond me
Most plateforms that can run WinUAE already have a DOSBox too.

Now if it would work well on real classic Amigas, and be able to run some games like Ultima Underworld fast enough, it could be great.
But such games do not exist on classic Amigas, because it's already hard enough to make them smooth coding them in 68xxx assembler. I have bought "Legends of valor" for my real A1200 when it came out, i liked it, but it was way below the PC version, and still to slow..
Dosbox is emulating a PC, and emulation takes much more time than nativ code.

..sure you could run games like Pacman () or maybe a little bit better games, but most of these games already exist on the Amiga and are way better than their PC version...



Yes, i know, today i'm in the mood to make me a lot of ennemies
Lord Riton is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 13:32   #3
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,500
I don't code for winuae but I do like to push classic hardware to the limits
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 13:49   #4
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
Thumbs up

I think anything below a 060 (and a fast one) will be very very slow for VGA games, but it's a great project for the Amiga. Go for it Novacoder!
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 14:13   #5
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 40
Posts: 1,576
That would be awesome Novacoder my friend!!!

Keep surprising us
mfilos is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 22:41   #6
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,500
Hiya

Yep it will be 060 only of course, sorry to the 030/040 guys.

If I can get it to run as fast as my old 25Mhz 386 I'll be happy. That would allow me to play great CDROM games like [ Show youtube player ] on my Miggy

Last edited by NovaCoder; 20 November 2012 at 00:27.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 23:39   #7
Peter
Still an Amiga user
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 50
Posts: 2,664
Amazing, looking forward to following your progress!

Last edited by Peter; 20 November 2012 at 02:10.
Peter is offline  
Old 20 November 2012, 01:31   #8
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
If I can get it to run as fast as my old 25Mhz 386 I'll be happy. That would allow me to play great CDROM games like [ Show youtube player ] on my Miggy
Thats impossible, though the cpu-intensive vga emulation, but nevertheless looking forward for this project!
But with optimized 060 asm routines - who knows
amigoun is offline  
Old 20 November 2012, 02:10   #9
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigoun View Post
Thats impossible, though the cpu-intensive vga emulation, but nevertheless looking forward for this project!
I remember that lots of Amiga users said that [ Show youtube player ] with digital SFX and music wasn't possible on an 030 AGA 1200
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 14 December 2012, 07:16   #10
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,500
Ok, got a little bit further with this port today, managed to figure out why the sound and MIDI emulation wasn't working (basically I'd somehow missed out some code).

So which game did I happen to have on my hard drive to give it a go....Day of the Tentacle of course

So it is now basically 'working' for RTG Amiga's, this isn't the plan though of course....I want it for my AGA 1200

TODO:
  1. Remove SDL back-end and port to native AGA
  2. Fix up memory bugs
  3. Make it fast enough to be of some use.
  4. Have a beer (or two)

Last edited by NovaCoder; 12 July 2013 at 14:18.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 14 December 2012, 11:49   #11
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 38
Posts: 1,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
I remember that lots of Amiga users said that [ Show youtube player ] with digital SFX and music wasn't possible on an 030 AGA 1200
I thought it ran with sound very slow on 030. Is it available for download anywhere?
frikilokooo is offline  
Old 14 December 2012, 13:04   #12
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
So it is now basically 'working' for RTG Amiga's, this isn't the plan though of course....I want it for my AGA 1200
The RTG version is also great especially for Amithlon/WinUAE users.
amigoun is offline  
Old 24 December 2012, 06:30   #13
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,500
Good news, I'm now working with the talented Matt Hey who is kindly working to develop a dynamic 68k core for this puppy
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 17 January 2013, 11:16   #14
spajdr
Old fart
spajdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ostrava/Czech Republic
Age: 40
Posts: 309
Send a message via ICQ to spajdr
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Good news, I'm now working with the talented Matt Hey who is kindly working to develop a dynamic 68k core for this puppy
Any news matey?
spajdr is offline  
Old 17 January 2013, 14:30   #15
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Good news, I'm now working with the talented Matt Hey who is kindly working to develop a dynamic 68k core for this puppy
I missed this post somehow, but this is really great news.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 17 January 2013, 23:12   #16
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,500
Matt is currently debugging the dynamic 68k core on his real Amiga, once he gets it working properly he can make it faster.

Update: He just got the dynamic core to execute a couple of 68k instructions on his Amiga, loads more work to do of course but at least it's a start

Last edited by NovaCoder; 18 January 2013 at 06:04.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 17 January 2013, 23:14   #17
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by frikilokooo View Post
I thought it ran with sound very slow on 030. Is it available for download anywhere?
That video is of it running just fine on an 030, my old 030 in fact

Yep my old version of DOTT is available on EAB's sever but you'd be better off using Scummvm AGA because my old DOTT port was based on a very old and buggy version of ScummVM.

Last edited by NovaCoder; 18 January 2013 at 02:44.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 18 January 2013, 13:55   #18
Reynolds
Alien Breeder
Reynolds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szigetszentmiklos / Hungary
Age: 41
Posts: 546
will this mean that for example Need For Speed 1 will be available too?
Reynolds is offline  
Old 18 January 2013, 15:47   #19
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 506
If the source code of PCTask was also released for free, we would have the optimized 68k-x86 JIT core already. But the source code was probably lost?
amigoun is offline  
Old 23 January 2013, 07:25   #20
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigoun View Post
If the source code of PCTask was also released for free, we would have the optimized 68k-x86 JIT core already. But the source code was probably lost?
I'm not sure if that would even help very much, it needs to be coded in a DosBox format for it to work.

Matt is getting closer with the core, this is what the 68k code is now generating on startup (means nothing to me but looks pretty).

Code:
$0bdc4000:                MOVE.L     #$0b5c1c34,$0a419b54.L
$0bdc400a:                MOVE.L     _CPU_Cycles,D0
$0bdc4010:                TST.L      D0
$0bdc4012:                BLE.L      $0bdc406c
$0bdc4018:                MOVE.W     $08c49f8a.L,D0
$0bdc401e:                MOVE.W     #$e7ce,D1
$0bdc4022:                JSR        $08a3c95c.L
$0bdc4028:                SUBI.L     #$00000002,_CPU_Cycles
$0bdc4032:                JSR        $08a3fa04.L
$0bdc4038:                TST.L      D0
$0bdc403a:                BNE.S      $0bdc4054
$0bdc403c:                ADDI.L     #$00000006,$08c49f98.L
$0bdc4046:                MOVE.L     $0b5c1c58.L,A0
$0bdc404c:                ADDA.L     #$00000008,A0
$0bdc4052:                JMP        (A0)
$0bdc4054:                ADDI.L     #$00000008,$08c49f98.L
$0bdc405e:                MOVE.L     $0b5c1c64.L,A0
$0bdc4064:                ADDA.L     #$00000008,A0
$0bdc406a:                JMP        (A0)
$0bdc406c:                MOVE.L     #$00000001,D0
$0bdc4072:                RTS
So the current plan is for Matt to get DosBox running using this dynamic core on his real RTG Amiga, when it seems to be running properly he will concentrate on improving performance.

Hopefully by the time I've pulled my finger out and ported my RTG version of DosBox to AGA, his 68k core should be fast and stable
NovaCoder is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
roomeo
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DosBox v0.74 AGA 68k Port NovaCoder Amiga scene 20 07 June 2018 03:17
[ongoing] Descent DXX-Rebirth AGA (v0.57.3) NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 49 09 January 2018 04:39
68k SoftCore development for DosBox AGA NovaCoder Coders. Asm / Hardware 0 18 February 2013 07:04
KG's HOL problems (Ongoing) killergorilla HOL data problems 102 24 April 2011 13:34
Is this still an ongoing project? garyg AMR suggestions and feedback 17 04 October 2010 23:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10340 seconds with 14 queries