English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 October 2015, 00:49   #41
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,180
Nice Thanks a lot.
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 20 October 2015, 12:21   #42
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 3,507
I would disable shadows as default, because they slow down the game and look pretty bad (shadow overlays the opponent)
viddi is offline  
Old 20 October 2015, 14:26   #43
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
[ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is offline  
Old 20 October 2015, 15:58   #44
Gzegzolka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Warszawa / Polska
Posts: 1,200
ok, I play it a bit, it's still bad game for me, just a little less bad. You made interesting stuff with it, now I want to play as red cyborg If You are interested with adding more fixes to it I propose to make proper cd32 pad control. Add button for block, and 3 buttons for different attacks. Also scrolled backgrounds and add music for stages, but I think it's too hard. Also reduce hit boxes for some opponents so they have to come closer to player to have successful punch.
Gzegzolka is offline  
Old 20 October 2015, 18:44   #45
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
How is the intro different from the old one? I can't find out the difference in the video s2325 posted :/ It doesn't have the bits where the Cyborg is built.
Akira is offline  
Old 21 October 2015, 07:36   #46
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,841
@ransom @reido Cheers!

@viddi Cheers. I actually turned on the shadows by default as they weren't previously - I know they're a bit glitchy but overall I thought it looked a bit better with them on.

@s2325 Thanks for posting to youtube incidentally with Crusher doing a round-house kick seems to be the best strategy - kick at him a second before he's about to come into range with his clippers. Also, it was heart breaking to see how close you got to beating him :/

@Gzegzolka a little bit less bad is basically all I could have hoped for, so I'm glad to have achieved that . All of your suggestions would be great but far beyond my programming ability. Although I -might- have a look at putting block on the Blue button sometime.

@akira The new cdxl intro is in a separate file which plays when it's booted on a real CD32 (the youtube video was filmed by starting the main executable directly in workbench, so you don't get to see the new intro). It's basically just a trimmed version of this - [ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by earok; 21 October 2015 at 07:49.
earok is offline  
Old 21 October 2015, 11:41   #47
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
It's not my YouTube account.
s2325 is offline  
Old 31 October 2015, 02:42   #48
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,826
Quote:
Ability to play more than just Cyborg vs Other Robot or Military vs Military. There are significant problems with this, not the least of which certain files for supporting a bout between two robots (the R#R# files) are missing for most combinations of one robot vs another.
It seems the omission of those R#R# files is deliberate and due to technical considerations. 3DO Magazine (issue #1 p. 34) says: "The immense size of many of the robots rules out robot versus robot fights, although there is a secret option for military versus military since they're reasonably sized."
Minuous is offline  
Old 31 October 2015, 02:53   #49
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
It seems the omission of those R#R# files is deliberate and due to technical considerations. 3DO Magazine (issue #1 p. 34) says: "The immense size of many of the robots rules out robot versus robot fights, although there is a secret option for military versus military since they're reasonably sized."
Ah, interesting. Thanks for that
earok is offline  
Old 22 October 2016, 01:52   #50
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,841
I've made an official downloads page for the project. There's also a preinstalled WHDLoad version for HDD users (which is based on the CD32 files).

http://earok.net/game/rise-robots-se-agacd32

If there's any interest I *may* look at applying the changes to the standard AGA or ECS versions (if anyone's really interested in playing it on a stock A1200 or A600)
earok is offline  
Old 22 October 2016, 03:16   #51
apex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 362
Great work! Thank you. I will get my SX32 Pro soon and test it!
apex is offline  
Old 22 October 2016, 03:24   #52
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,816
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
I think we might be talking about two different things - frames appear to be missing from the animations, but the frame rate is theoretically a solvable problem (from a quick experiment, the game runs far better with Fastest Possible Winuae settings)

I'm going to take a guess that fullscreen 256 colours / 8 bitplanes is far too much for a cd32 to cope with at full speed. I'm theorising here but maybe making cuts to the background (height, number of bitplanes, scanlining it) might make a noticible difference.
I have checked this game. It uses 128 colors, and all the tricks in book from the chipset (new 1200 registers and so on).

The problem lies in the game code, they have converted the PC version on the A1200, the problem is that the PC version had a frameskipper included. This has not been removed, and since then, the game engine autolocks on the 68020 clock speed. That's why some frames are skipped.

They are inside the sprite tile banks, i checked the game tiles with maptapper.

I guess the coders never had the time to properly adapt and convert the PC engine for the AGA machines. That's why you get all sorts of bugs on screens, palette bugs and so on.

Have you noticed that Ken and Deejay have bugs from the start ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 22 October 2016, 03:37   #53
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,826
The download page for the WHDLoad version did not work on 3 of the 4 browsers tested. Earok, would you mind if I mirrored it at my site so it can be downloaded by non-Internet Explorer users?

Last edited by Minuous; 22 October 2016 at 04:08.
Minuous is offline  
Old 22 October 2016, 10:57   #54
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,841
@dlfrsilver that is very interesting. I can only hope the source surfaces so someone can do a proper tidy up.

@minuous I don't have any problem with all with that idea, I know Mega is temperamental at best. But it's entirely possible I may need to take the project down in a hurry..
earok is offline  
Old 22 October 2016, 11:54   #55
apex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 362
@dlfrsilver
What do you think, would it possible to fix this? I am no coder, so sorry for the stupid question.
apex is offline  
Old 22 October 2016, 16:17   #56
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,816
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by apex View Post
@dlfrsilver
What do you think, would it possible to fix this? I am no coder, so sorry for the stupid question.
I don't exactly know if the SSF2T amiga program is full asm 68k or part in C.

I'm sure a part of it in C (how stupid, since the CPS2 arcade code is full ASM !).
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 06 November 2018, 22:54   #57
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 36
Posts: 2,444
I would like the Whdload version, but only find the ISO at earok site (http://earok.net/game/rise-robots-se-agacd32), unable to see how to start it without burning it, got no cdrom connected to the Amiga these days..
kriz is online now  
Old 07 November 2018, 01:09   #58
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australian in London
Age: 42
Posts: 12,600
You're in luck kris

...I still have this on one of my many external HDD's; I downloaded after earok's initial release: RiseOfTheRobots_AGA_SE [earok].zip

Now in The Zone! for you.

...no idea why earok has removed this from his site though?!?
DamienD is offline  
Old 07 November 2018, 04:03   #59
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
...no idea why earok has removed this from his site though?!?
Who knows thanks for sharing that.


I think when I lost my Mega account I only got around to reuploading the CD32 version, though from memory the 'AGA' version is just the CD32 version bundled with the WHDLoad slave.

I'm planning to look at properly re-releasing it (with a new ECS edition) but I'm not totally sure when I'll get around to it.
earok is offline  
Old 07 November 2018, 10:35   #60
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 36
Posts: 2,444
AHh there it is Thx Damien and Earok for your nice work
kriz is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rise of The Robots in AmigaSYS WeiXing3D support.Amiga Forever 3 29 May 2015 20:28
Did anyone ever apologise for rise of the robots? DDNI Retrogaming General Discussion 43 06 November 2013 17:44
Rise of the Robots - HD install / Disk 7 viddi support.Games 10 06 March 2009 22:04
Rise of The Robots problem NPI support.Games 5 12 January 2008 17:43
rise of the robots for the 600 gotmashed MarketPlace 7 13 June 2006 09:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09819 seconds with 15 queries