English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Off Topic > OT - Technical

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 May 2018, 00:43   #1
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,358
XMP Memory Profile

This one has me baffled but it could be due to the new BETA BIOS I have installed onto my current X99 chipset motherboard.

Using the ASUS X99 Sabretooth with quad channel DDR4 modules installed.

https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/SABERTOOTH_X99/

These were a matched set of 32GB, 2400 speed memory but for some reason the motherboard is only clocking them at 2166.

I then rebooted and went into the BIOS settings and selected XMP-2400 but they are still showing at 2166.

I could of sworn before the BIOS update they were all running at 2400.

Any tips or ideas on this one ?

Could be I have to hunt for multiple settings for this to occur or go into some kind of OC mode ?
jmmijo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 May 2018, 18:28   #2
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 40
Posts: 1,950
xmp is just an extension of spd which reads a chip on the memory and sets speeds accordingly.

what does CPU-Z say about the memory on the SPD tab?

I am guessing it will tell you it is 2400 speed somewhere, and it's just the beta bios you are using.

I would see what the memory speeds actually are, then put the old bios back on and check again, I guess it would be the same if it's a simple reporting error on the bios.
Ian is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 23:54   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
xmp is just an extension of spd which reads a chip on the memory and sets speeds accordingly.

what does CPU-Z say about the memory on the SPD tab?

I am guessing it will tell you it is 2400 speed somewhere, and it's just the beta bios you are using.

I would see what the memory speeds actually are, then put the old bios back on and check again, I guess it would be the same if it's a simple reporting error on the bios.
CPUz does show it being XMP-2400 and so are the specs of the memory.

It is a Corsair Vengence kit, Quad-Channel so they are matched.

The issue is that the BETA bios has some of the stupid ass Meltdown and Spectre fixes so I don't want to go back.

I'm thinking that there is an option other than AUTO in order to enable the XMP profiles.

I just have to dig around and see if I can find it.

EDIT: I found another setting that showed XMP disabled in the BIOS, changed it to enabled and saved, but CPUz still shows the memory running at 2133 for some reason.

I don't appear to be seeing any slowdowns but things that take advantage of faster memory will be affected, just not many game I take it.

Last edited by jmmijo; 18 May 2018 at 00:51.
jmmijo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: 128mb 72 pin low profile Simm Zeph MarketPlace 0 08 December 2016 15:29
XMP eXtended Module Player squidbass support.Apps 1 20 June 2014 17:10
Can't update my profile Pfloyd project.EAB 6 06 June 2005 17:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06183 seconds with 14 queries