English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 June 2019, 21:47   #1
amigaosx
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Montevideo
Posts: 37
Re-partition a hardrive without losing data

I'm having some problems installing a couple of programs on my A2000.
VideoToaster and AMOS Pro.
Both of them don't want to install because they say there's not enough space on the hard drive.
I have Workbench 3.1.4 and a 60gb disk with 2 30gb partitions.

I'm guessing that there's a problem with these large partitions.
For example, AMOS Pro sees a negative 30gb partition.

I've read that I have to make a partition no bigger than 4.3gb and the block size must be 512k.

Now, is there a way to re partition on of the partitions without losing my programs and data?

thanks!

Last edited by amigaosx; 17 June 2019 at 00:20. Reason: typo
amigaosx is offline  
Old 16 June 2019, 22:32   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,922
You cannot change partition sizes without loosing data.

But you can work around the negative free space issue without repartitioning.

Divide the free space by 4GB and check the remainder of the division. If it is larger than 2GB, then the value is treated negative. Create some dummy files (or one big dummy file) until the remainder is less than 2GB, then the programs will install.
thomas is online now  
Old 17 June 2019, 00:26   #3
amigaosx
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Montevideo
Posts: 37
Gonna try that, thanks
amigaosx is offline  
Old 17 June 2019, 14:56   #4
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,469
Alternative you can install to RamDisk and then copy the data to your large partition. But you need to check manually the installation procedure to be save the program still works after moving to a different place.
daxb is offline  
Old 17 June 2019, 16:50   #5
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 47
Posts: 3,667
To answer the original question, you can copy all your data to another place, then change the size of your partition, then move the data back.
Repartitioning a drive will lose data only on the partitions you move/resize, not on the whole drive.
meynaf is offline  
Old 17 June 2019, 23:40   #6
amigaosx
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Montevideo
Posts: 37
Creating some dummy files to reduce the free space helped and now AMOS sees the free space as positive, but upon pressing the install button it doesn't do anything. VideoToaster doesn't eve see the drive.

I'm gonna try to move data to the other partiton and delete the partition the data was on, then create a smaller partition like 3gb. Does block size has anything to do with this? My partitions block size are 4096, this helped reduce boot time a lot.

thanks
amigaosx is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CSSPPC v1 72MHz - Loosing 6MB highpuff Hardware mods 2 01 August 2015 19:44
Change partition size without destroying all data? Akira support.Hardware 18 28 July 2015 18:29
Getting data back out of partition dumps gryf support.FS-UAE 7 21 February 2014 12:47
Partition Resize - Without Data Loss? EvilCensor support.Apps 7 29 June 2010 16:24
Loosing my mind webmany New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 11 September 2005 10:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06626 seconds with 15 queries