English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 May 2011, 15:17   #1
jman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 307
VCR backup: did anyone of you really used it?

Hello,

these days I'm indexing some old VG magazines and I smiled at the advertisements about VCR-based solutions to perform a backup on your Amiga.

Did any of you really used such a kind of backup back in the day? Was it realiable?
jman is offline  
Old 13 May 2011, 17:40   #2
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
I remeber a mate of mine buying it, but as to him using it regularly I think he gave up in the end and brought a bigger HDD
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 13 May 2011, 17:56   #3
ceedy
Old-Amiga-Git
ceedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somerset , in the UK
Posts: 175
I used to make a few long ago... just a few bits and an OP amp.

Still got a couple lying about..
But Slow!!!!!!. but did work OK used it to backup the BBS.


Yer's my own version ,



Chris
ceedy is offline  
Old 13 May 2011, 18:24   #4
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
Kewl
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 13 May 2011, 19:15   #5
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,438
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Lol thats brilliant!

How many MB's could you get on a four hour tape?

E240 lol, takes me back
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 13 May 2011, 19:50   #6
ceedy
Old-Amiga-Git
ceedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somerset , in the UK
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Lol thats brilliant!

How many MB's could you get on a four hour tape?

E240 lol, takes me back
Can't remember too long ago..
ceedy is offline  
Old 13 May 2011, 21:33   #7
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 41
Posts: 3,243
[ Show youtube player ]

and Scotch (3M) still honor the Lifetime Guarantee! (according to a poster on there)
Paul_s is offline  
Old 14 May 2011, 06:13   #8
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 52
Posts: 695
Yes, I used to use it too and only used high quality TDK video cassettes

I still have the hardware etc, not sure if it's my original one however... eg probably got angry with it one day and smashed it LOL
Slayer is offline  
Old 21 May 2011, 02:10   #9
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,818
Chara' Data sold an interface that worked with any VCR, never used it myself but they sold a few.
Photon is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 21:44   #10
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 41
Posts: 1,702
This system was very popular in Poland. Quite good if you have good tapes and good video recorder. About 1,5 min takes to record one disk (plus pause, sync signal) so on 180 min you have 90 disks.

Anyway it's legacy now. There is not point to used these days.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 21:45   #11
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,941
I used the Video Backup System

Was very good until the tapes were chewed in the vcr!!
BippyM is offline  
Old 28 May 2011, 02:42   #12
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym View Post
...until the tapes were chewed in the vcr!!
I just knew someone would say that eventually.
prowler is offline  
Old 29 May 2011, 16:00   #13
_ThEcRoW
Amiga NetRunner
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 41
Posts: 932
What was the capacity of these tapes in megabytes?. Just curious, as in the time these were available, i wondered how many data i could store in that tapes. Sadly i didn't have one back in the day.
_ThEcRoW is offline  
Old 29 May 2011, 16:06   #14
ceedy
Old-Amiga-Git
ceedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somerset , in the UK
Posts: 175
I always made sure I didn't record at the start of any tape as the first few feet always got wrinkled by the transport mechanism..

@ ThEcRoW

Capacity obivously depended on the number of hours on the video tape ? ..

But approx 1min per mb ( ish).

Chris
ceedy is offline  
Old 29 May 2011, 22:30   #15
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 262
Send a message via MSN to voyager
The original page is still online
"There are special backup modes for Amigas with an 68020 or higher CPU (A1200, A2500, A3000, A4000). The first one gives a speed improvement of a factor 2 compared to V1.5, without data compression. The typical thoughput in this case is 85MB per hour, for a total of 340MB per 4-hour video tape! The 68020-compressed mode adds data compression to this, and is up to 3 times as fast as V1.5 (depending on the compression ratio achieved). With 130MB per hour, 520MB will fit on a 4-hour tape! On an 68000 Amiga, the throughput is about 40MB per hour"
voyager is offline  
Old 29 May 2011, 22:36   #16
Reynolds
Alien Breeder
Reynolds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szigetszentmiklos / Hungary
Age: 42
Posts: 552
We used it during a period of time around 1995-96. Closely before the CDRom writing became common on Amiga too.

"We" means Amigans in Hungary :P

Last edited by TCD; 29 May 2011 at 23:19. Reason: Back to back posts merged. Use the edit function.
Reynolds is offline  
Old 29 May 2011, 23:12   #17
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 63
Posts: 786
My mate had a similar system for the PC a long time ago. It did work but as already mentioned VCR's are great tape chewers so reliability was never something you could expect and then dirty heads or poor quality tapes meant it was more of a Fad thing than anything useful.
Allen1 is offline  
Old 30 May 2011, 19:57   #18
mcbpete
Zone Friend
mcbpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London, England
Age: 37
Posts: 192
Send a message via MSN to mcbpete Send a message via Yahoo to mcbpete
What did it look like if you tried playing back a VHS with backups on it on a TV ?
mcbpete is offline  
Old 30 May 2011, 20:41   #19
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 41
Posts: 1,702
You have to play backups always to search to beginning (sync)

Black and white stripes
haynor666 is offline  
Old 30 June 2011, 20:04   #20
brett71
Registered User

brett71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Posts: 373
My friend and I both had these. He had a proper one, but made a homemade one for me. They worked pretty darn good for a cheap tape backup solution.
brett71 is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Backup Strategy chinnyhill10 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 18 21 July 2012 03:00
HD Backup to VHS shrub3056 Hardware mods 6 31 August 2011 23:56
HDD backup JackTheKnife support.Other 5 08 September 2009 23:31
Backup discs Unregistered support.Apps 9 15 January 2005 21:26
OS Backup problem Eny- support.Apps 6 07 July 2004 22:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09402 seconds with 13 queries