English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 June 2002, 17:25   #1
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Battlechess Contest






Have you got what it takes to beat the man who beat the man who beat the man who beat the Amiga at BattleChess?

Then role up and let's have a nostalgic and friendly game! We can do this one of two ways:

1) Either 2 people slug it out against one another with others offering friendly advice OR

2) We all go up against the Amiga on hardest level! Although I've heard for experienced chess players this might not be a challenge.

I'll update the above screen grab of the board on my webspace as moves are made, so just press refresh in your browser to see how the game is panning out and join in the fun!

I'm totally useless at chess because I never play! But I'm sure there must be some veterans out there among you!

Well as you see the board is set up and ready for action.

Any takers? Are we going human vs human or EAB vs Amiga 500

Last edited by Bloodwych; 05 July 2002 at 22:24.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 09 June 2002, 18:09   #2
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,308
Re: Battlechess Contest

Quote:
Originally posted by Bloodwych
Have you got what it takes to beat the man who beat the man who beat the man who beat the Amiga at BattleChess?

Then role up and let's have a nostalgic and friendly game! We can do this one of two ways:

1) Either 2 people slug it out against one another with others offering friendly advice OR

2) We all go up against the Amiga on hardest level! Although I've heard for experienced chess players this might not be a challenge.

I'll update the above screen grab of the board on my webspace as moves are made, so just press refresh in your browser to see how the game is panning out and join in the fun!

I'm totally useless at chess because I never play! But I'm sure there must be some veterans out there among you!

Well as you see the board is set up and ready for action.

Any takers? Are we going human vs human or EAB vs Amiga 500
Chess is to blame for me being an Amiga user! In 8th grade I wanted to win the chess tournament so I studied all my opponents and noticed that there were two types of players. The bookworm chess player that read about chess all the time but did not get to play much. And the “Player”; a person that played his friends all the time but did not read up on any strategies. I knew that to win the tournament I would need to be both book smart and I would have to play lots of games to practice. One problem though, I had no one to play! I asked my father to buy me an Atari 2600 so I could play chess on it. It cost him about $150 I think total. I won the Chess tournament but soon outgrew the 2600. I learned about the Commodore 64 and liked the fact that you could do more than just play games. It also hooked up to the television so I tried some simple CG on it and of course the famous Doogle program (Also from Dan Silva of Dpaint fame). I liked the C-64 and games were fun but it never let me do my true dream, video editing with the computer. So I kept up with what the creators of the Atari 2600 were doing by reading Run magazine and other mags. The Amiga was reported a few times before its birth in these magazines. Once the Amiga finally came out I bought Amiga World issue #1 and knew that was my dream computer.

Last edited by Pyromania; 10 June 2002 at 08:43.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 09 June 2002, 18:13   #3
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally posted by Kodoichi
Where are the coordinates? =|
I was going to deal with that after we've decided on a mode of play. I won't be putting coordinates on the screen grab, but we'll be using this notation:

EDIT - I've added coordinates to the opening post
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 09 June 2002, 18:20   #4
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Nice story Pyromania
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 09 June 2002, 21:41   #5
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Ok we'll go for EAB vs Amiga.

EAB play as red, Amiga blue.

Who's going to be brave enough to go first for EAB?
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 09 June 2002, 22:42   #6
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 3,704
g1 -> f3
RetroMan is offline  
Old 10 June 2002, 06:24   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Just show me the Queen's legs, ya loonie
Akira is offline  
Old 10 June 2002, 12:07   #8
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
Just show me the Queen's legs, ya loonie
Unfortunately, that's not a legal move Akira

Next......
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 10 June 2002, 14:42   #9
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 41
Posts: 2,957
you should also take a screenshot of a top-view of the chessboard. (like for the coordinates table)
RCK is offline  
Old 10 June 2002, 14:58   #10
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally posted by RCK
you should also take a screenshot of a top-view of the chessboard. (like for the coordinates table)
Ok Rck, I'll add that when I get some free time
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 10 June 2002, 20:10   #11
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,404
f1 to c4
Belgarath is offline  
Old 10 June 2002, 21:35   #12
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
The last legal move posted has been done.

F1->C4.

Amiga shouts "Next.............."

Last edited by Bloodwych; 11 June 2002 at 00:12.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 11 June 2002, 06:38   #13
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I don't care about its illegality, just show me!

My move is: shift-F1

(ok, me knows pish about chess )
Akira is offline  
Old 11 June 2002, 16:46   #14
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,404
well its gotta be d2 to d3

id like to make it clear though that i have no plans on taking on the amiga by myself!
Belgarath is offline  
Old 11 June 2002, 17:20   #15
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally posted by Belgarath
well its gotta be d2 to d3

id like to make it clear though that i have no plans on taking on the amiga by myself!
Yeah, I thought that more people would get involved. It's only a bit of fun and it takes seconds to post a couple of coordinates.

Come on people! Let's aim for one move a day at least from a few different EAB members!

What's wrong? Scared of the Amiga "whipping your candy asses?" as the Americans would say!
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 11 June 2002, 23:51   #16
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 41
Posts: 2,957
the problem is that I don't have my top-view of the board yet !
even if the 3D view is cool for animation, it's a pain for real chess reflection
RCK is offline  
Old 12 June 2002, 00:34   #17
Traquer
 
Posts: n/a
e4 --> d5 of course
 
Old 12 June 2002, 00:36   #18
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Ok top view added. I hope you realise Rck that you've doubled my workload on this thread
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 12 June 2002, 00:36   #19
Traquer
 
Posts: n/a
erm, any chance of co-ordinates on that board too?
great idea btw
 
Old 12 June 2002, 00:43   #20
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally posted by zakfab
erm, any chance of co-ordinates on that board too?
great idea btw
Thanks

I'm not adding coordinates to the WinUAE screengrab! That's quadrupling my work, you're worse than Rck!

There is a board with coordinates that sits right next to the top view of the battlechess board. It's easy to use as long as you're in 1024x768 or higher! If you're using lower res I MAY reduce the size of the grabs.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 12 June 2002 at 11:46.
Bloodwych is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone Have Current Issue Of Retro Gamer?/8bit BASIC contest fishyfish Retrogaming General Discussion 4 29 September 2012 04:14
BattleChess CD32 Kitty support.Games 8 10 October 2009 10:40
EAB Christmas Song-writing Contest mr_a500 project.EAB 64 24 May 2009 03:44
AmigaSYS Wallpaper Contest Calo Nord News 10 22 April 2005 10:33
Landover's Amiga Arcade Conversion Contest Frog News 1 29 January 2005 00:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09789 seconds with 14 queries