English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 July 2006, 06:27   #1
Dexther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: italy
Age: 42
Posts: 146
Put a scart in your CD32

Amiga cd32 is a greath consoll (or computer)
but!! are a big problem !!!
no are a scart !!! use this metot to fit a scart into your cd 32
look in your cd32 a tp9 fingher board (are reac on the top of quarz end a clock) use this sequence for a good resoult.

1 gnd to pin 21(gnd)
2 csync to pin 16 (fast blanking) 47 ohm resistence need
3 red to pin 15 (red pin cromance) 47 ohm resistence need
4 green to pin 11 (green input) 47 ohm resistence need
5 blu to pin 07 (blu input)
7 vsync to pin 20 (composite video) for a sound take a point to audio port on this photo

on scart use pin 02 for r channel,end pin 06 to l channel. Use a pannel scart to insert a cd32 (in the same position on my photo)
fix a scart use a hot glue gun
for a fit a scart use this metod:
cut on the low site of pannel (use a sordering or whot do you wont)
use a scart to print a line of scart to line cut dremel are necesari to ridifinite signal of cut now the scart is work !!! (in 60 or 50 hz)

Last edited by Dexther; 24 July 2006 at 02:28.
Dexther is offline  
Old 23 July 2006, 09:07   #2
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,064
RGB is much better than S-Video.

Thanks for the information. I guess the connections are the same as on the French CD32?
adolescent is offline  
Old 23 July 2006, 10:12   #3
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 46
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Admins please move this thread to Sub-Forums: prb.Hardware pics.

This is really nice hack, indeed!
Chain is offline  
Old 23 July 2006, 13:14   #4
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,941
moved
BippyM is offline  
Old 23 July 2006, 15:08   #5
Dexther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: italy
Age: 42
Posts: 146
this are a hack of moterbord revision 3
frech are already a rgb port (not a scart)
all revision are a tp9
Scart are a my hack for use cd32 wareve you wont
Dexther is offline  
Old 23 July 2006, 15:56   #6
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 39
Posts: 584
This schematics seem a bit odd. On an rgb-scart, it should be fed composite sync to pin 20, not to pin 14, which actually is ground. Vertical sync should not be supplied at all.
patrik is offline  
Old 23 July 2006, 18:38   #7
Dexther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: italy
Age: 42
Posts: 146
excuse me are a pin 16
if you use a pin 20 in your tv still hall wait !!
Dexther is offline  
Old 23 July 2006, 23:00   #8
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 39
Posts: 584
It must just be coincidence that it works. The fast blanking pins original purpose is to interleave/mix a rgb signal with the normal TV-image, like transparent text-tv.

Pin 20 on the scart is the pin for composite sync. To pin 16 and pin 8 you should though apply a voltage to tell the TV to interpret the input as RGB and not composite.

Check this schema of a normal Amiga RGB scart cable. Here you can find the specification for the voltage levels.

Last edited by patrik; 23 July 2006 at 23:06.
patrik is offline  
Old 23 July 2006, 23:02   #9
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
this is great info.
this subforum rox!
keropi is offline  
Old 24 July 2006, 01:59   #10
Dexther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: italy
Age: 42
Posts: 146
this are a tp9 pin on CD32
NOT AMIGA CABLE
are a differents

i'm tested on lg flatron(crt),a grundig,end a philips tv
stil perfect resulution
Dexther is offline  
Old 24 July 2006, 02:10   #11
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 39
Posts: 584
I understand that you have sourced the signals from the TP9 test-point of the motherboard of the CD32, still it is the composite sync and not vertical sync that should be supplied to pin 20 on the scart.

I am not saying this to be rude or anything, it is just that disregarding what signal you connect to the scart on a TV, it want the composite sync-signal on pin 20.

If connect composite video signal to the TV, the composite sync will be mixed with the image signal itself ans uses pin 20.

If you connect a S-video signal to the TV, the composite sync will be mixed with the luminance signal and uses pin 20.

If you connect a RGB signal to the TV, the composite sync is not mixed with anything and uses pin 20.

As you say it works, but it should not.
patrik is offline  
Old 24 July 2006, 02:14   #12
Dexther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: italy
Age: 42
Posts: 146
ok
i'm realize a video on demostration on my work
belive or not IS WORK
Dexther is offline  
Old 24 July 2006, 02:29   #13
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 39
Posts: 584
I believe you.

The only reason why I am saying anything is that as the sync is not connected according to the scart specs it will most likely not work in all occasions.

The reason why I posted the schematics for the regular Amiga RGB-scart was to show what voltages pin 8 and pin 16 should be fed to make all TVs understand that it is a RGB source and not a composite video source connected on the scart connector. Also this to guarantee that it work with all TV sets.

Last edited by patrik; 24 July 2006 at 09:47.
patrik is offline  
Old 24 July 2006, 14:40   #14
Dexther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: italy
Age: 42
Posts: 146
i now
the voltage of csynch are to are big
i'm inverte a polariti for vsync (this are a voltage for a scart to activity)
end csync are in 20 pin for resolve a problem to white screen

[ Show youtube player ]
Dexther is offline  
Old 16 December 2006, 15:58   #15
chaoticjelly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK - Lancs
Age: 34
Posts: 80
It works perfectly! Thanks.
chaoticjelly is offline  
Old 22 February 2007, 21:06   #16
cd32asetukset
 
Posts: n/a
I was make this schematics about connect a cd32 to a scart and i have some problems, i reach imagen without sync, using the patrick´s changes in scheme too but i still without good syncs.

I need some help about it, anyone have another scheme or ideas? thanks in advance.
 
Old 23 February 2007, 12:07   #17
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,247
http://www.technick.net/public/code/...cd32_expansion

All signals are available on the edge connector.
alexh is offline  
Old 24 February 2007, 00:04   #18
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 39
Posts: 584
@cd32asetukset:



Ok, this is what the scart pins should be connected to on the image:
2 - (Audio right channel)
4 - (Audio Ground)
5 - Video Ground
6 - (Audio left channel)
7 - Blue
8 - +12V via 1kOhm resistor (makes the TV activate the used scart-input)
9 - Video Ground
11 - Green
13 - Video Ground
15 - Red
16 - +12V via 150Ohm resistor (makes the TV use the RGB signals)
17 - Video Ground
18 - Video Ground
20 - Composite Sync

The audio pins are in paranthesis as you have to supply that by own means either from the audio connectors or the expansion-connector.

Last edited by patrik; 24 February 2007 at 00:35.
patrik is offline  
Old 26 February 2007, 20:41   #19
cd32asetukset
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the answers, im still using connectors from test point 9 in cd32, now i have a good image colors but still without syncs.

Anyone of yours have a cd32 with this hack?

I found this page about tp9 pins of cd32 http://www.hardwarebook.info/CD32_TP9 this one talk about xor-gate for syncs.

Thanks to all for the help.
 
Old 26 February 2007, 21:32   #20
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,598
The xor gate is not needed when connecting it to a TV.

Which SCART pin did you connect to composite sync on the CD32 motherboard?
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whizz CD32 - Let's put this to rest once and for all! Cauterize Amiga scene 96 09 February 2018 23:19
A600 or CD32 For Trap Door Card To Put In A1200 for more ram spannernick Swapshop 6 21 May 2012 17:10
Is there a way to put amiga games onto the cd32? raditz669 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 20 12 June 2009 09:46
Able to buy a CD32..able to put in a tower? RabidRabbit Amiga scene 9 31 March 2009 01:11
help me to build a scart for cd32 Dexther support.Hardware 2 14 July 2006 15:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10934 seconds with 15 queries