English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 January 2020, 10:48   #1
rcrook9190
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Bonython/Australia
Posts: 3
Being Screwed around over icon.library and workbench.library.

So I bought an IRIX Classic 520 with a licensed WorkBench 3.1.4 CF card. The product also came with an official set of adf's for 3.1.4.1.


When I fist booted my A500 with it it got as far as complaining about no icon.library and then no workbench.library. I didn't think of this very much as I found both these on my adf's and I copied them over and all was good.


I, being a little OCD decided I needed to get an official licensed copy of 2.1 Just for completeness.



It too complained about no icon.library or workbench.library. I ask the retailer for a copy of the 2.1 adf. They sent DMS files, none of which have the missing libraries.


After further requests to AmigaFoever, The Retailer and IRIX who by the way all blame each other and me for being such a NOOB, I find out both libraries are generally found in the ROM. As it turns out the "Official Amiga Forever" ROM image on the Classic 520 does not actually contain either of these libraries.


My choices are:


Rebuild and flash a new ROM on my Classic. Which will require me to actually solder on a header to the board, find (most likely buy) the appropriate boot flash tools and find a ROM, modify it to include the libraries, and hope its not too big for the onboard flash storage.


Or ask some one who would be kind enough to (as cloanto and IRIX seem reluctant) pass on to me the two 2.1 version of the files I can then load onto my CF card.


Mind you this reluctance is in spite of me owning 3 valid licenses for AmigaForever. One for 3.1.4.1, One For 2.1 and One for the plus version I use in my emulation.



So disappointed.


Can anyone here help me find icon.library and workbench.library for 2.1 so I can run it on my A500?


Thanks in advance.



Randall.
rcrook9190 is offline  
Old 01 January 2020, 11:08   #2
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Tuebingen
Posts: 80
Hi,

the problem lies with your 3.1.4 ROM.

Hyperion decided to leave both libraries out of the ROM because there was no space for them in the 512kB ROM image.

This is true for all 3.1.4 ROMs on all machines and generally creates the problems you mentioned when using older Workbench versions. So, your best bet indeed would be to use the Kickstart that fits the WB version.

Best,
Torsten
torsti76 is offline  
Old 01 January 2020, 12:41   #3
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,469
Why do you want to run OS 2.1? There is nor reason for it if you have a newer version. If you still want to use 2.1 you should know what you are doing and get it working by yourself. First, I would try to load 2.1 and see if it will load the both libraries (OS 3.1.4. version) from libs. If not, try to load it in S-S with LoadModule for example. If that isn't compatible try to load the OS 2.1 library versions. If that still don't work, leave it. If you don't know how this works, leave it.
daxb is offline  
Old 02 January 2020, 00:46   #4
rcrook9190
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Bonython/Australia
Posts: 3
Thanks for your help.. will try the 3.1.4 library files and see how they go.

Randall
rcrook9190 is offline  
Old 06 January 2020, 16:06   #5
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,446
The CF card should have already included the required libraries if it was set up with OS 3.1.4. If it didn't, it wasn't set up correctly.

If you really want to use other Workbench versions or boot from other Workbench floppies or applications (e.g. DeluxePaint), it's still possible provided the 3.1.4 partition is mounted too. The ROM will look on all available volumes for the libraries before asking, so it should be fine.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 06 January 2020, 17:03   #6
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,156
Maybe re/softkick the 2.0 ROM? Not sure if that is possible on your A500.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 07 January 2020, 05:50   #7
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 468
As mentioned, 3.1.4 includes the libraries on disk. I should clarify this a bit though. When you boot off a 2.1 disk, you are NOT running OS 2.1, you are running OS 2.1's utility files on OS 3.1.4.

Almost all of the Amiga's core OS functions (kernel, etc.) are on the ROM, so to boot into AmigaOS 2.1 you *have* to use an AmigaOS 2.x ROM (2.04 for example), then the 2.1 SetPatch program in the startup-sequence will patch any 2.1-specific updates into memory.

If you boot with the 3.1.4 ROM to anything that uses workbench features, you will need the 3.1.4 icon.library and workbench.library on disk. Up until now, all software assumed these libraries will always be available since they always came on ROM. But again, you will be running 3.1.4 even if you boot from a 2.1 disk, because the core OS is in ROM. The OS "boot" happens when you turn the machine on, before it even touches the disk.
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 07 January 2020, 07:04   #8
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 911
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaHope View Post
As mentioned, 3.1.4 includes the libraries on disk. I should clarify this a bit though. When you boot off a 2.1 disk, you are NOT running OS 2.1, you are running OS 2.1's utility files on OS 3.1.4.

Almost all of the Amiga's core OS functions (kernel, etc.) are on the ROM, so to boot into AmigaOS 2.1 you *have* to use an AmigaOS 2.x ROM (2.04 for example), then the 2.1 SetPatch program in the startup-sequence will patch any 2.1-specific updates into memory.

If you boot with the 3.1.4 ROM to anything that uses workbench features, you will need the 3.1.4 icon.library and workbench.library on disk. Up until now, all software assumed these libraries will always be available since they always came on ROM. But again, you will be running 3.1.4 even if you boot from a 2.1 disk, because the core OS is in ROM. The OS "boot" happens when you turn the machine on, before it even touches the disk.
So if you have a program on a self-booting disk that makes use of functions from workbench.library or icon.library, it won’t run anymore on 3.1.4 but run fine on 3.1? Seems like a pretty big incompatibility to me.
rsn8887 is offline  
Old 07 January 2020, 08:19   #9
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsn8887 View Post
So if you have a program on a self-booting disk that makes use of functions from workbench.library or icon.library, it won’t run anymore on 3.1.4 but run fine on 3.1? Seems like a pretty big incompatibility to me.
As long as you have a correctly installed 3.1.4 setup on your hard drive, it will work from any floppy you boot from too. If you don't have a hard disk, it will ask you to insert your Install 3.1.4 disk into any drive when those libraries are needed.

So yes, the software will still run, but if you have a floppy only system, you will have a hoop to jump through. However, 3.1.4 is not a very good fit for a floppy only machine, better stay with 3.1 (or even 1.3) if you don't intend to add a hard disk.
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
icon.library 46.4 test versions PeterK Coders. System 3236 20 February 2020 14:00
icon.library with Scalos CFOU! support.Apps 26 17 December 2019 15:30
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 8 05 August 2018 14:57
JIT and Icon.library Foul support.FS-UAE 5 15 December 2016 15:55
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 02:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13110 seconds with 15 queries