English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 August 2016, 12:44   #41
szo
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
<b>Works ! --- But No Sound ?
I _think_ I found your no sound problem: I am guessing you are running with 8 KHz? Anyways, we'lll upload new builds soon.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 August 2016, 19:04   #42
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 832
11 KHz
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 21 August 2016, 23:40   #43
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,729
[ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is offline  
Old 22 August 2016, 00:22   #44
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 892
Quote:
Originally Posted by szo View Post
Thanks for the logs, very much appreciated. I needed them because they sometimes reveal some gothchas happening behind the scene, (I thought that you ran on original hw, but you are on uae.) Quarktex gives 38 fps but wazp3d gives 1.5?? Ugh..
likely wazp runs here completely in software mode as opposed to quarktex which takes advantage of host hardware acceleration. the wazp archive contains a library version along with some .dll which allows winuae to take advantage of the host 3d accel as well, it just needs to be renamed and installed in place of the other warp3d.library.
wawa is offline  
Old 22 August 2016, 02:27   #45
szo
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
11 KHz
Huh, unexpected. Your issue would appear if allocating the audio buffer fails. In any case, we uploaded a new build of the demos so you folks can test. They include tweaks to AHI code. https://sourceforge.net/projects/uhe...Demo-Aug.1997/
 
Old 22 August 2016, 15:36   #46
thellier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 155
Hello

Now tested the demo version on WinUAE/Wazp3D/StormMesa2010:
I obtain a dir called hexen2demo with 3 progs:

hexen2: works in a small window seems soft rendered

glhexen2-mesa: use stormmesa2010 but dont seem to call Warp3D (=Wazp3D) very weird !??!!! (act like stormmesa was started with a kinda pure software mode...
Note: quarktex include an agl.library that perhaps override this )

glhexen2: use Wazp3D but start as full screen 16 bits so Wazp3D cant render in hardware as it support only 32 bits rgba
glhexen2 -w fix that and allow hardware rendering in a window on my 32 bits workbench but not very fast (16fps)

Edit: No i was wrong : it is software Wazp3D that obtain around 16 fps and hardware Wazp3D that obtain around 1-2 fps : very weird :-(

Last edited by thellier; 22 August 2016 at 15:56.
thellier is offline  
Old 22 August 2016, 22:52   #47
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 832
Still no sound (Emulated).

I only get "Program failed (error #80000004)."
On my real 1200 (040/25 +32 meg ram)

Last edited by Nobby_UK; 24 August 2016 at 23:49.
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 30 August 2016, 00:05   #48
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 757
Got it running on the A4000 with Voodoo 3. Found that if you have Paula 8bit DMA mode selected in AHI, it will try some crazy rate like 397239123 Hz. Selecting Paula 8-bit Fast @22050 and setting sndspeed 22050 let it start and played not great, timerefresh showed ~4FPS. Launch options is used were GL version -nocdaudio -nomidi -nojoy -sndspeed 22050 -bpp 16.

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 30 August 2016 at 00:31.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 30 August 2016, 21:15   #49
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post


I only get "Program failed (error #80000004)."
On my real 1200 (040/25 +32 meg ram)
I have 18mb of 64mb free ram when running Hexen II. So 32mb is not enough. I also got some 4fps with 68060 66mhz, so wonder how fun that would be with 68040.

If it woud be possible tinker fps somewhere to 8-10 that would be almost playable wit amiga terms.
utri007 is offline  
Old 30 August 2016, 22:15   #50
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 757
Utri what GFX card are you using that you are getting 4fps?
I see in your previous post you are using Merlin, is that in 8bit or 16bit mode?
If it is 16 bit then I would find it weird that Warp3d on Voodoo is not any faster.

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 31 August 2016 at 02:15.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 30 August 2016, 22:48   #51
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
I have 18mb of 64mb free ram when running Hexen II. So 32mb is not enough. I also got some 4fps with 68060 66mhz, so wonder how fun that would be with 68040.

If it woud be possible tinker fps somewhere to 8-10 that would be almost playable wit amiga terms.
32 meg not enough ? Even for the demo ?
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 31 August 2016, 03:11   #52
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 757
Nobby, try -heapsize 24000 -forcemem in your launch options.

Mesa version seems to run the worst, console text is black and the spinner thing on the new game select appears to be spinning at about 1 frame per second. When I exit game however it does say 15,XXX quads drawn using 3d hardware.

GL and software versions seem to run at about the same speed whether I select 8 bit mode in software or 16 bit mode.

Also GL version locks amiga when entering options menu.

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 31 August 2016 at 04:03. Reason: Corrections
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 31 August 2016, 04:15   #53
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 757
Also seems to be about the same speed whether at 320x200 or 800x480 resolution, about 4 FPS in timerefresh.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 31 August 2016, 15:45   #54
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 214
Send a message via MSN to BSzili
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
32 meg not enough ? Even for the demo ?
Why would the requirements be different for the demo? It's still the same game with less levels.
BSzili is offline  
Old 31 August 2016, 16:51   #55
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 832
Why is it so much more needy than Quake ?
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 31 August 2016, 16:59   #56
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 214
Send a message via MSN to BSzili
Quake is a simple FPS, Hexen II has RPG elements, an inventory, objectives you have to complete, etc.
BSzili is offline  
Old 07 November 2016, 22:42   #57
mjnurney
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 262
hi guys :-)

just found this ... nope instant reboot on the Vampire 2 sadly.

i take it it needs an fpu?
mjnurney is offline  
Old 08 November 2016, 11:02   #58
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 214
Send a message via MSN to BSzili
Yes, Quake engine games need an FPU.
BSzili is offline  
Old 04 July 2017, 11:29   #59
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 214
Send a message via MSN to BSzili
Okay, I wasn't quite happy with how this one turned out, so I made a few updates. The performance should now be better in AGA chipset modes, please give it a try if it's any better on real hardware:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bzb...ew?usp=sharing
BSzili is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hexen GL 68k released meckert News 24 13 January 2015 22:45
Hexen GL arti project.Amiga Game Factory 0 10 January 2015 01:04
Hexen & Heretic Vids LuMan Amiga scene 0 05 February 2011 23:17
Crystal Hammer mai request.Old Rare Games 4 16 October 2010 22:16
Jan Hammer Solid Snake request.Demos 19 10 May 2007 22:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21626 seconds with 13 queries