English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 May 2013, 10:00   #21
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Been reading this closely since you announced it.

Impressive! Good work Nova!
DDNI is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 May 2013, 15:29   #22
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 565
I am following this thread (even if i dont understand everything).
1time is offline  
Old 22 May 2013, 19:33   #23
khph_re
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northampton/UK
Posts: 245
Me too.
khph_re is offline  
Old 22 May 2013, 21:10   #24
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,708
Thanks for all your hard work NovaCoder
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 23 May 2013, 03:16   #25
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
thanks guys
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 24 May 2013, 01:20   #26
Reido
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dublin/Ireland
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by khph_re View Post
Me too.
And me!! Thanks!!
Reido is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 15:43   #27
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
@Novacoder

Is the link above the latest version of the lib please?

Also, slightly off topic, but can anyone help me please? My dev. env. has gone a bit screwy and now wont find the sdl includes. No idea how it "broke", and I cant for the life of me work out how to fix it. Paths it looks in are correct, but it still doesnt find them.
Anyone encountered this before?
fishyfish is offline  
Old 21 June 2013, 14:38   #28
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Ok I've now released it to AmiNet -> http://aminet.net/package/dev/lib/SDL_AGA

Now go create some cool new AGA games with it


Future plans:

I think I might add the SDL Mixer to it one of these days, from my initial look at the source code it looks ok.
When I get the time, I'd also like to try and add RTG support (copy the code over from the existing SDL).
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 21 June 2013, 19:14   #29
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 49
Posts: 918
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Ok I've now released it to AmiNet -> http://aminet.net/package/dev/lib/SDL_AGA

Now go create some cool new AGA games with it


Future plans:

I think I might add the SDL Mixer to it one of these days, from my initial look at the source code it looks ok.
When I get the time, I'd also like to try and add RTG support (copy the code over from the existing SDL).
Maybe you can try to port Star Control 2 game to Amiga AGA?

http://aminet.net/package/game/misc/uqm-src

This is old strategy game and used Protracker music (no MIDI files), then perhaps can works for 68030 CPU without problems.
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 21 June 2013, 22:37   #30
blizz1220
Registered User
blizz1220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Adan View Post
Maybe you can try to port Star Control 2 game to Amiga AGA?

http://aminet.net/package/game/misc/uqm-src

This is old strategy game and used Protracker music (no MIDI files), then perhaps can works for 68030 CPU without problems.
Great game that should have been released on Amiga


I could probably help with sound . I think I have .midis already con-
verted to mods somewhere ...
I ran it on PC-Task with little but some luck And played music in
the Hippoplayer in the background

BTW This is not source to the original , this is source to the Open
Source remake created by SC2 community so it could prove to be
much more demanding hw wise ... It's called Ur-Quan Masters and
it was ported to Mac OS X and Linux but not to 68k Macs ...
I don't think you will find original Star Control 2 sources anywhere ...

EDIT : Just read the whole post of Don Adan seems I went
through all the hell of converting them for nothing

Last edited by blizz1220; 21 June 2013 at 22:50.
blizz1220 is offline  
Old 23 June 2013, 16:51   #31
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 49
Posts: 918
Quote:
Originally Posted by blizz1220 View Post
Great game that should have been released on Amiga


I could probably help with sound . I think I have .midis already con-
verted to mods somewhere ...
I ran it on PC-Task with little but some luck And played music in
the Hippoplayer in the background

BTW This is not source to the original , this is source to the Open
Source remake created by SC2 community so it could prove to be
much more demanding hw wise ... It's called Ur-Quan Masters and
it was ported to Mac OS X and Linux but not to 68k Macs ...
I don't think you will find original Star Control 2 sources anywhere ...

EDIT : Just read the whole post of Don Adan seems I went
through all the hell of converting them for nothing

You are wrong for this game are available original source code (I don't like ports from poor recreated sources) from 3DO version, and this PC/3DO game used Protracker music, nothing must be converted.

This is info from wikipedia:

The Ur-Quan Masters

The Ur-Quan Masters (or UQM) project aims to port Star Control II to modern operating systems including Windows, Linux, Mac OS X, and BSD. The project began in 2002 when the original creators Fred Ford and Paul Reiche III released the source code of the 3DO version as open source under the GPL. Its latest version, 0.7.0, was released on 4 July 2011. The game media is not open source, but is released under a cc-by-nc-sa license. It has also added the option of online multiplayer Melee play, something which was not available in the original game. A variety of modifications to the melee have been released by fans, including versions with superpowered ships and numerous planets. As of version 0.4, the long-missing intro and ending movies were finally added, as was an in-game setup menu. The ability to mod the game is one of the project's goals.
The project was renamed The Ur-Quan Masters because the trademark Star Control was registered by Accolade in 1997, acquired in 1999 by Atari (then known as Infogrames), along with the rest of Accolade's assets.
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 02:38   #32
blizz1220
Registered User
blizz1220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Posts: 48
Yes , it was a long time ago I last checked
Maybe a more constructive approach would be playing it in Dosbox AGA
as Novacoder doesn't reply still
blizz1220 is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 03:01   #33
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by blizz1220 View Post
Yes , it was a long time ago I last checked
Maybe a more constructive approach would be playing it in Dosbox AGA
as Novacoder doesn't reply still
I released it to AmiNet so anyone can use it to port whatever they like with it
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 04:07   #34
blizz1220
Registered User
blizz1220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Posts: 48
blizz1220 is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 14:26   #35
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Had a quick go at another SDL port using this new library, 4 hours of work got me a working port of [ Show youtube player ]

Looks like it runs ok.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 14:57   #36
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,159
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
that's really awesome !!! which AGA config is it running on ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 14:59   #37
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
that's really awesome !!! which AGA config is it running on ?
That's my Blizzy 1260

People can't say the 68k SDL is slow anymore
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 15:03   #38
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,159
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
so i guess that on a regular 030 it should be very fast too

Does it have AHI support ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 15:05   #39
Reido
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dublin/Ireland
Posts: 231
Brilliant!
Reido is offline  
Old 26 June 2013, 00:58   #40
tolkien
AmigaMan

tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 452
Damn it! And I with no time to try this baby. Thanks NovaCoder. I invite you to a beer if you come to Spain!
tolkien is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nova's Blizzard 1260 NovaCoder Hardware pics 32 09 April 2013 09:17
Nova 9: The Return Of Gir Draxon mai HOL data problems 2 21 November 2009 21:18
Nova's 1200 AGA>VGA Porn...Zetr0 violated! NovaCoder Hardware pics 20 01 September 2009 10:45
No Love Greater than the Love of Moto Zetr0 Hardware pics 15 05 October 2007 19:42
[Fixed] Hard Nova Uukrul HOL data problems 1 17 December 2002 11:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22979 seconds with 13 queries