English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 July 2017, 05:47   #1941
buzzybee
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Landsberg / Germany
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
This explain
You need %1100.
Yes, a total bad usage of AGA but this is a simple addition

The game need to be rewritten for AGA (like Tsak suggested).

Bye!
ross
Exactly. Using FMODE %1100 slows down the whole System considerably, therefore no need to change code, but you can´tdo much more than just add another parallax layer to an existing 16 color playfield. Some levels of Rygar could get some additional touches this way, like ditching the whole sprite scrolling idea and instead adding a parallax bitmap in the first level.

Anyway, to me the biggest advantage of AGA is to be found in the 2 MB of chipmem, which gives the coder much more space to play around with blitter objects, big sprites, big copperlists. Don´t think that Rygar needs any of these.
buzzybee is offline  
Old 12 July 2017, 15:29   #1942
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,224
Some EHB PICS



sandruzzo is offline  
Old 13 July 2017, 01:00   #1943
Greyfox
Pixel Blender!

Greyfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 264
Send a message via MSN to Greyfox
Fantastic work
Greyfox is offline  
Old 18 July 2017, 16:44   #1944
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,224


Sooner it'll be available for testing. EHB 64 Color 50 hz?
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 18 July 2017, 18:17   #1945
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,667
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Yummy, it looks so beautiful
dlfrsilver is online now  
Old 19 July 2017, 00:51   #1946
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 842
\o/
saimon69 is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 08:18   #1947
kovacm
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Serbia
Posts: 275
Can we expect some demo or video? I can wait to see all this sprite moving across the screen
kovacm is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 11:13   #1948
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovacm View Post
Can we expect some demo or video? I can wait to see all this sprite moving across the screen
Sooner I'll update a demo
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 17:31   #1949
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,224
Update small demo ehb 64 colors with sounds. Can someone test on real amiga and see if it works? Should take 1mb of chip mem


https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B03...ew?usp=sharing
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 18:20   #1950
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
Can someone test on real amiga and see if it works?
Didn't work in my setup, let me upload 3 videos for you and post again.

[edit] here goes.
My setup:

Amiga 600 with 2MB Chip RAM and ACA620 accelerator, Kickstart 2.0
1GB CF HD on PFS3

First I booted the game as-is from the floppy. Seems like the accelerator created issues with stuttering (too fast? too slow?) and then it crashed. Sorry, I forgot to record the guru it crashed with! I can try again if it's useful:
[ Show youtube player ]

Second, I disabled the ACA620's cache and burst, and it seems that removed the stuttering, but the game crashed, now not with a guru, just a black screen:
[ Show youtube player ]

Third, I tried copying the folder to RAM and execute from Workbench. All I got is a mess:
[ Show youtube player ]

Hope this helps, let me know if you want me to test more.

Last edited by Akira; 19 July 2017 at 18:41.
Akira is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 18:47   #1951
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,143
Same here. Didn't work on my A1200 (with/without turbocard, tried degrader settings). Even in a plain Amiga 500 WinUAE config it doesn't work. Either gurus or garbled graphics, freezed game but the music is playing.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 18:49   #1952
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Same here. Didn't work on my A1200 (with/without turbocard, tried degrader settings). Even in a plain Amiga 500 WinUAE config it doesn't work. Either gurus or garbled graphics, freezed game but the music is playing.
Did you get stuttering with the turbocard on?
Maybe a blitter wait problem or something?
Akira is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 18:51   #1953
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,143
Nope, only garbled graphics with the music playing. Game is freezed right from the start.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 19:11   #1954
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Nope, only garbled graphics with the music playing. Game is freezed right from the start.
So like my third video?
Did you boot from floppy or from WOrkbench?
Akira is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 19:46   #1955
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,224
Maybe some chip issue. Tri it on a WINUAE with a lot of chip mem
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 19:49   #1956
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Didn't work in my setup, let me upload 3 videos for you and post again.

[edit] here goes.
My setup:

Amiga 600 with 2MB Chip RAM and ACA620 accelerator, Kickstart 2.0
1GB CF HD on PFS3

First I booted the game as-is from the floppy. Seems like the accelerator created issues with stuttering (too fast? too slow?) and then it crashed. Sorry, I forgot to record the guru it crashed with! I can try again if it's useful:
[ Show youtube player ]

Second, I disabled the ACA620's cache and burst, and it seems that removed the stuttering, but the game crashed, now not with a guru, just a black screen:
[ Show youtube player ]

Third, I tried copying the folder to RAM and execute from Workbench. All I got is a mess:
[ Show youtube player ]

Hope this helps, let me know if you want me to test more.
For a while test2 was good.
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 19:52   #1957
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,224
I'll try to upload some other version to try to catch the bugs
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 23:19   #1958
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,126
Just got home and tested this.

Booted my "Classic WB 3.1 Lite" .HDF (AGA / 68020 / 2MB Chip and 4MB Fast RAM), inserted the disk afterwards and ran.

The game starts, no garbled graphics / sound, I can move around and jump but as soon as I press fire the game gurus...
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 09:01   #1959
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,224
Can someone do some kind of configuration that bring this fire button bugs on the light so I can find it?
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 09:25   #1960
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Just got home and tested this.

Booted my "Classic WB 3.1 Lite" .HDF (AGA / 68020 / 2MB Chip and 4MB Fast RAM), inserted the disk afterwards and ran.

The game starts, no garbled graphics / sound, I can move around and jump but as soon as I press fire the game gurus...
Beside bugs, it go at 50hz?.
sandruzzo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rygar? Prosonic support.Games 7 09 June 2013 14:18
two more that borrow heavily from Rygar & Black Tiger NfernalNfluence Nostalgia & memories 5 30 September 2012 18:57
SCIENCE 451-RYGAR: same disks mrodfr project.TOSEC (amiga only) 0 26 December 2006 15:38
Wordworth conversion vertigo support.Apps 5 09 December 2003 14:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14735 seconds with 16 queries