English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 September 2007, 12:16   #1
douglasamcintos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kirkcaldy, Scotland
Posts: 15
Question Amiga 1200 Kickstart Upgrade - Problem

Got some Kickstart3.1 chips from eBay. Am trying to install them in the A1200. Can not seem to remove the old chips. I *thought* they were easily removable but they seem to be glued in with superglue

Do I need special tools or is there something obvious I am missing ?

Motherboard Revision 10.4.

Thanks for any help.

Douglas
douglasamcintos is offline  
Old 29 September 2007, 12:50   #2
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,257
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
They are tough wee buggers!

I used a flat head screwdriver and levered them from alternate ends. It is a terrifying experience!

Be aware that the sockets are Bigger than the ROM chips (1 extra pair of holes) Be sure that the new ROMS go back in the exact same sockets as the Old ones.
DDNI is offline  
Old 29 September 2007, 13:42   #3
Peter
Still an Amiga user
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 51
Posts: 2,692
Some are very tight indeed... DDNI is dead right when he says lever them very gently from either end with something very flat - so as you can get under them... eventually they will give and come out... cross fingers.

Take your time - this can be a one way ticket job.
Peter is offline  
Old 29 September 2007, 13:46   #4
douglasamcintos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kirkcaldy, Scotland
Posts: 15
Thanks for the quick reply Any way to tell which goes top and which goes bottom? Or does it not matter ?
douglasamcintos is offline  
Old 29 September 2007, 14:59   #5
DrF
Blessed A1200 Of TeH Rat
DrF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bham, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 496
Theres a small half circle at one end of the chip, that goes to where the white arrow is on the motherboard, BEHOLD my bad art work :



Next to the crystal furthest away from the expanstion slot, hope the pic gives you some idea.
DrF is offline  
Old 29 September 2007, 15:18   #6
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,257
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Make sure you put the correct ROM in the correct socket! They arent interchangable!!!
DDNI is offline  
Old 29 September 2007, 17:20   #7
douglasamcintos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kirkcaldy, Scotland
Posts: 15
Well I got the old ones out. They are now sadly useless as a fair amount of brute force was required.

I need to make sure the chips go in the right sockets. They have numbers J9543 / 391774-01 on one and J9542 / 391773-01 on the other. Any ideas ?

Tried zooming in to your pic but sadly too blurred
douglasamcintos is offline  
Old 29 September 2007, 18:28   #8
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,889
391774-01 goes on the top in U6B
391773-01 goes on the bottom in U6A

Be careful - the Kickstart 3.1 ROMs are shorter than the kickstart 3.1 ROM sockets so they should be offset to the right of the socket.
amigakit.com is online now  
Old 29 September 2007, 19:50   #9
douglasamcintos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kirkcaldy, Scotland
Posts: 15
I found a picture on Amiga Hardware where I could just make out the numbers. Is now working very well thank you very much. Thanks to everyone I was expecting to find a plethora of guides on the upgrade via Google, but there do not seem to be many with much detail beyond pop out the old pop in the new.

Douglas
douglasamcintos is offline  
Old 29 September 2007, 21:08   #10
amigarobbo
Registered User
amigarobbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 181
BTW anyone want any 3.0 Roms, I've got a couple spare, couple of 1200 and 1 set of 4000s
amigarobbo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dbk 1240 amiga 1200 (Kickstart Remaping) sebmacfly support.Hardware 7 03 January 2020 15:09
Amiga 1200 motherboard FPU upgrade? Steve T Hardware mods 15 23 July 2013 00:34
Amiga 1200 kickstart 3.1 beanz Amiga scene 2 27 March 2012 18:32
F/S - 8mb Trapdoor Ram Upgrade - Amiga 1200 fitzsteve MarketPlace 3 05 April 2011 21:58
3.1 Kickstart AMIGA 1200 sebmacfly MarketPlace 0 17 February 2009 16:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08711 seconds with 13 queries