English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 September 2009, 15:04   #1
sebmacfly
Registered User
sebmacfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: FRANCE
Age: 41
Posts: 158
dbk 1240 amiga 1200 (Kickstart Remaping)

Hello there!

I'm back from ITALY!!

Anybody know how to do a kickstart Remaping using a DBK 1240 Accelerator card?
And how to patch the IDE using this accelerator card?

Thanks, have a good day all!
sebmacfly is offline  
Old 17 September 2009, 18:35   #2
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 54
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Your 1240 is the Mongoose version (50MHz)? Other versions need a firmware upgrade to work with 3.1 ROM or you'll not be able to have RAM on it.

BTW: what IDE patch? You mean the newer SCSI.device found on Aminet?
rkauer is offline  
Old 18 September 2009, 03:58   #3
Mozzerfan
Registered User
Mozzerfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebmacfly View Post
Hello there!

I'm back from ITALY!!

Anybody know how to do a kickstart Remaping using a DBK 1240 Accelerator card?
And how to patch the IDE using this accelerator card?

Thanks, have a good day all!
For the kickstart remapping, you could try the "CPU Fastrom" command, or MUFastrom from aminet. http://aminet.net/search?query=mufastrom

For the IDE patch (I assume you mean the scsi.device patch), you can use loadmodule from aminet to activate the patched scsi.device http://aminet.net/search?query=loadmodule
Mozzerfan is offline  
Old 18 September 2009, 05:57   #4
Rebel-CD32
Amiga will never die!

Rebel-CD32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 531
Send a message via MSN to Rebel-CD32
I've found the best way to remap the Kickstart with my DKB 1240 is to use the utility that came with the card, ReMapKS. I've put it in The Zone for you, or you can download it here - http://home.exetel.com.au/amiga/ReMapKS.lha

Just drop it in your WBStartup drawer, piece of cake!
Rebel-CD32 is offline  
Old 21 September 2009, 13:20   #5
sebmacfly
Registered User
sebmacfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: FRANCE
Age: 41
Posts: 158
Thanks all... i'll try and lett you know...
sebmacfly is offline  
Old 03 January 2020, 01:18   #6
Nightshft
Registered User

Nightshft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Austria
Age: 45
Posts: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel-CD32 View Post
I've found the best way to remap the Kickstart with my DKB 1240 is to use the utility that came with the card, ReMapKS. I've put it in The Zone for you, or you can download it here - http://home.exetel.com.au/amiga/ReMapKS.lha...
I'm searching for ReMapKS but the link is dead and I can't find it anywhere. Anybody got a clue?
Nightshft is offline  
Old 03 January 2020, 03:58   #7
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightshft View Post
I'm searching for ReMapKS but the link is dead and I can't find it anywhere. Anybody got a clue?
You can get it from the DKB Cobra disk too, here:
http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/cobra
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 03 January 2020, 15:09   #8
Nightshft
Registered User

Nightshft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Austria
Age: 45
Posts: 363
Thank you grelbfarlk. Download works fine.

However I don't gain any speed with remapKS.

When I start Sysinfo 3.24 without remapKS, all the libraries already are at 0x1000.xxxx (which is the start of the mongoose's fastram) and I'm not sure why.

I'm using ClassicWB Lite, does it do maprom somehow automatically?

The card is a DKB 1240 "Mongoose" which is a 030 @ 50Mhz. The 030 is a full version, so including a MMU.

Edit: Sorry I overlooked something: At top of Sysinfo "kickstart" is at $00f8.0000 but all the libs and devices are in Fastram at $1000.0000+. Starting remapKS or not using it doesn't make a difference.
Does this mean the kick is mapped or not? (If not I wonder if remapKS of Cobra and Mongoose are compatible.)

Last edited by Nightshft; 03 January 2020 at 17:57.
Nightshft is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
reVisor 1200/Kickflash 1200 - a flashable kickstart solution!!! spoUP Amiga scene 8 05 August 2014 18:25
Amiga 1200 kickstart 3.1 beanz Amiga scene 2 27 March 2012 18:32
Amiga 1200 DBK '030 40MHz Accelerator 16MB RAM, FPU, MMU £105 SpeedoJoe MarketPlace 3 17 September 2010 17:35
3.1 Kickstart AMIGA 1200 sebmacfly MarketPlace 0 17 February 2009 16:25
Amiga 1200 Kickstart Upgrade - Problem douglasamcintos support.Hardware 9 29 September 2007 21:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11504 seconds with 15 queries