English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 July 2004, 14:55   #21
hal
where am i ?
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: akureyri iceland
Age: 36
Posts: 185
i still have the equipment i used last time....
i can try grabbing a disk formatting and see how goes... :P
and could try that external drive i've never actually used...
hal is offline  
Old 02 October 2004, 13:33   #22
squirminator2k
Dream17 / PortsCenter guy
squirminator2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 32
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_0rga5m
omg ... /me spies NERDS!!
You're on an Amiga forum. What do you expect, DragonBall Z discussions?

I would personally like to see the inclusion of an A1200 Floppy Drive soundset included with WinUAE, and possibly an Extrernal Floppy Drive soundset too. But that's just me...
squirminator2k is offline  
Old 02 October 2004, 14:14   #23
Chipmunk_UK_1
Registered User
Chipmunk_UK_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Royston / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 61
Send a message via ICQ to Chipmunk_UK_1 Send a message via MSN to Chipmunk_UK_1 Send a message via Yahoo to Chipmunk_UK_1
Quote:
Originally Posted by hal
i still have the equipment i used last time....
i can try grabbing a disk formatting and see how goes... :P
and could try that external drive i've never actually used...
Did you ever get those samples done hal? (I wouldn't mind having a fiddle with it )
Chipmunk_UK_1 is offline  
Old 02 October 2004, 16:39   #24
hal
where am i ?
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: akureyri iceland
Age: 36
Posts: 185
i seem to have forgotten about them

no worry... i'll try now...
hal is offline  
Old 02 October 2004, 19:20   #25
hal
where am i ?
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: akureyri iceland
Age: 36
Posts: 185
hmmm... not much change... i guess i need two microphones to get this properly (stereo)... too bad i don't have two mikes
i'm sampling anyway...

i ran d-copy and formatted checked and nibble copied a disk to itself
on my external drive (it's brand name is golden image)
note the nibble copy stops reading at 64 and begins copying
80-83 couldn't be heard except in the checking sequence... the amiga just wouldn't format them...
(btw i don't hear much differencce between copying and formatting and the volume is a bit low... the mike is dying i guess)
if you have questions i'll be on the irc channel

paused recording from miggy itself... think i can make a stereo mike...

Last edited by hal; 03 October 2004 at 21:00.
hal is offline  
Old 03 October 2004, 01:56   #26
hal
where am i ?
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: akureyri iceland
Age: 36
Posts: 185
ok it's done
couldn't leave thread alone :P
in mono... gues it's enough
hal is offline  
Old 03 October 2004, 02:18   #27
Chipmunk_UK_1
Registered User
Chipmunk_UK_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Royston / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 61
Send a message via ICQ to Chipmunk_UK_1 Send a message via MSN to Chipmunk_UK_1 Send a message via Yahoo to Chipmunk_UK_1
Should be enough

I've split the tracks out, and just need to get winuae to use em... I'll let you all know how it turns out...
Chipmunk_UK_1 is offline  
Old 03 October 2004, 13:01   #28
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chipmunk_UK_1
I've split the tracks out, and just need to get winuae to use em... I'll let you all know how it turns out...
Please, don't split them, I don't want 84 different samples... Just one big sample containing 84 sub-samples + index (or maybe it is possible to make every subsample exactly the same size?) is much better idea.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 04 October 2004, 00:17   #29
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
@hal
I hope you've used a better-quality DISK for recording this time
The last one sounded as if it was shortly before the exitus
andreas is offline  
Old 04 October 2004, 01:14   #30
hal
where am i ?
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: akureyri iceland
Age: 36
Posts: 185
the disk was in a better shape this time
unfortunately all my floppy drives are tired and old so... it's not going to sound spanking new either :P

but hopefully better
hal is offline  
Old 05 October 2004, 03:05   #31
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Wink

I bet!
Now I know who the true "Retroman" is!
(obviously not the one with that nick, at least not *that* typical )
andreas is offline  
Old 06 October 2004, 21:43   #32
Chipmunk_UK_1
Registered User
Chipmunk_UK_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Royston / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 61
Send a message via ICQ to Chipmunk_UK_1 Send a message via MSN to Chipmunk_UK_1 Send a message via Yahoo to Chipmunk_UK_1
Big grin New floppy click "sneak" preview

Ok, here is a quick sneak preview of the new floppy click samples (thanks to hal for working overtime to get them to me ) in action (it's loading hybris) they are divx encoded avi's (the high quality is using un-compressed pcm, as that's all that shows up in winuae audio options for some reason...)

clicky (ultra low quality - 350kb) - just low q video, audio is good
clicky (low quality - 1.5mb)
clicky (high quality - 5.9mb)

Are these new samples better than the old ones?

Last edited by Chipmunk_UK_1; 06 October 2004 at 22:59.
Chipmunk_UK_1 is offline  
Old 07 November 2005, 05:24   #33
TTSAddict
Influence Device

TTSAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 75
Thumbs up

A month too late, but - sounds great!
TTSAddict is offline  
Old 07 November 2005, 07:32   #34
squirminator2k
Dream17 / PortsCenter guy
squirminator2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 32
Posts: 225
Two months too late. Apparently.
squirminator2k is offline  
Old 07 November 2005, 09:47   #35
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 443
one YEAR late
amiga is offline  
Old 07 November 2005, 11:09   #36
squirminator2k
Dream17 / PortsCenter guy
squirminator2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 32
Posts: 225
I was going for that.
squirminator2k is offline  
Old 07 November 2005, 11:18   #37
TheBoss
Registered User
TheBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 837
Send a message via ICQ to TheBoss
I remember downloading this but seems I forgot to comment!
Well I think they sounded great, hope you get a final version out soon
TheBoss is offline  
Old 07 November 2005, 14:36   #38
hal
where am i ?
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: akureyri iceland
Age: 36
Posts: 185
hasn't this already been intergrated into winuae ?

think you just need to download the samples seperately
hal is offline  
Old 07 November 2005, 16:32   #39
TTSAddict
Influence Device

TTSAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 75
Oh damn, thats what happens when you reply to search results without actually looking at the YEAR!
Yup if then it must be in the seperate sample download, cuz loading Hybris still sounds like the description above with the "built in" set.

*quickly moves out of the room, leaving small puffs behind*
TTSAddict is offline  
Old 07 November 2005, 21:44   #40
Chipmunk_UK_1
Registered User
Chipmunk_UK_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Royston / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 61
Send a message via ICQ to Chipmunk_UK_1 Send a message via MSN to Chipmunk_UK_1 Send a message via Yahoo to Chipmunk_UK_1
It seems that the "internal" clicks has just the one sample (hence it sounds like the description). The reason for this is that the sample data for the "cool" sounding clicks is around 3.5mb And it's too big to include in the EXE.

Here
is the zip file you need to get those cool sounding samples used in the avi file...

Here are the files that Toni has available on the winuae website (includes an additional set of samples (ST) that sound a little less harsh)

un-compress to your winuae folder, it should create a UAE_Data folder with some wav files in it.

Now when you start up winuae, you will see an additional item in the drive sound dropdown. Select that item, stick in a disk image, and hit the start button

Enjoy
Chipmunk_UK_1 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floppy drive sound vs sound emulation mark_k support.WinUAE 4 14 November 2016 12:36
New Floppy Drive Sound for WinUAE trackah123 support.WinUAE 36 05 May 2015 18:57
An intriguing question to ask about floppy sound emulation MethodGit request.UAE Wishlist 2 25 March 2007 01:18
more built in floppy sound emulation boing_1000 request.UAE Wishlist 2 27 July 2006 17:40
WinUAE floppy drive sound emulation boing_1000 request.UAE Wishlist 3 20 January 2006 22:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09579 seconds with 13 queries