English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 January 2014, 19:32   #1
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,068
4way buffered EIDE strange problem

Guys, I have this weird weird problem:

I've installed a 4way buffered eide on my A1200 and put a 2.5 hd and a dvd-rw on each channel. Now, they work, that's fine, but the hd led is always , always on. I've tried to disconnect one of the two devices and change the hd leds with another set, but that didn't help at all. Anyone else faced a similar problem? Any other idea about it?

Thx!
vulture is offline  
Old 08 January 2014, 20:14   #2
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,064
I had the same problem on my A1200 with 20GB ATA drive and normal buffered interface. The LED flickers a little -- kind of like it's turning off during activity.
adolescent is offline  
Old 08 January 2014, 20:23   #3
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,068
Yeah, pretty much the same here. Found any solution or helpgul advice on this at all?
vulture is offline  
Old 08 January 2014, 20:29   #4
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 41
Posts: 1,577
I think it just depends on the HD. I had that problem in the past with an 2.5HD and when I switched to an 3.5" the problem stopped :S
You tried any other HD just for the fun of it?
mfilos is offline  
Old 08 January 2014, 20:30   #5
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,068
I've tried just with the dvd-rw on and the same happens. Just tried the same with another hd and no change.... :/
vulture is offline  
Old 08 January 2014, 22:04   #6
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 41
Posts: 1,577
You can always try and get the actual HD LED signal from the Pin39 of the IDE controller.
You just need Pin39, +5V and an 150Ohm resistor.

If you're interested in the mod I can provide a more detailed info. That would be the most accurate way of displaying your HD led without issues.

Unless you find out a better solution
mfilos is offline  
Old 08 January 2014, 23:12   #7
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,068
Thanks for the offer Marios , I'll definetely consider this if nothing else works in the end!
vulture is offline  
Old 09 January 2014, 01:56   #8
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,733
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Some mobo's give this wierd issue.
FOL is offline  
Old 09 January 2014, 12:33   #9
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,068
I'll have to dig up another mobbo and see what happens then, thx FOL!
vulture is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange problem ami_junkie support.Hardware 0 30 April 2010 14:06
Amigakit 4-device buffered interface problem DC33 support.Hardware 5 21 November 2009 11:12
4way IDE interface hard drive problem (grrr!!!) CU_AMiGA support.Hardware 4 31 August 2009 09:58
Needing help with installing os3.9 wiht 2 harddrives, cdrom and buffered 4way ide Smiley support.Hardware 2 03 June 2006 18:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07432 seconds with 15 queries