English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 November 2013, 07:34   #1
huepper
Registered User

huepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GDR
Age: 44
Posts: 247
Sound problems and memory size

How much memory is needed to emulate the sound without interference?
In my notebook only 384 MB are installed.
It uses a Celeron 2.0 GHz running Windows XP SP3.
The sound stutters partly during the window mode, in full screen, it's extreme.

Will it be better if I add more memory?

Last edited by huepper; 21 November 2013 at 07:40.
huepper is offline  
Old 21 November 2013, 08:29   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,793
This topic has nothing to do with 2.7 betas, moved.

Memory makes no difference. (Of course there are exceptions, like using high end Amiga configs with lots of memory).

Celeron (What Celeron? There are huge differences in Celeron models), but I'd say your system is too slow for accurate emulation modes or has low bandwidth display card or bad drivers.

Check CPU% OSD/windowed bottom border "leds", it probably goes over 100% when sound goes bad.

Switch to DirectDraw if it is currently in D3D mode, DirectDraw is usually much faster on old systems.

(and always include both logs, less need to guess what to suggest, it includes systems specs and lots of other important information)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 21 November 2013, 09:01   #3
huepper
Registered User

huepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GDR
Age: 44
Posts: 247
Thanks Toni for the move.
The Celeron is a 2.0 GHz Model with only 256kb Cache, the GFX is an Intel Extreme Graphics II with max. 64MB Ram and only DX8.1-Hardware.
DX9.0c latest is installed.

Here are the logs and my config.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (12.5 KB, 53 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (30.4 KB, 51 views)
File Type: uae A4000 040.uae (16.7 KB, 36 views)
huepper is offline  
Old 21 November 2013, 10:24   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,793
Do you mean glitches happen in PicassoIV emulation mode or also in chipset modes?

PicassoIV board emulation can be slow because it has multiple banks which are very non-JIT friendly. Try some other board. (Do you need hardware level board emulation? It can never be as fast as uaegfx RTG)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 21 November 2013, 13:56   #5
huepper
Registered User

huepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GDR
Age: 44
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Do you mean glitches happen in PicassoIV emulation mode or also in chipset modes?
Also in chipset modes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
PicassoIV board emulation can be slow because it has multiple banks which are very non-JIT friendly. Try some other board. (Do you need hardware level board emulation? It can never be as fast as uaegfx RTG)
Need is not the right word, i just try CyberGFX v4.2 in the emulation.
If I can use CyberGFX with UAEGFX, I test it.
huepper is offline  
Old 21 November 2013, 15:58   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,793
Is this a laptop? Unfortunately Intel graphics older than 6 years or so is total rubbish.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 21 November 2013, 18:21   #7
huepper
Registered User

huepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GDR
Age: 44
Posts: 247
I know, the intel gfx is total rubbish, but this is what i have.
I will upgrade the Notebook with 1GB ram and a Pentium M 2,2 GHz (512kb cache), hope this makes it better.

If not, what is the best version of winuae for this old hardware ?
(Toshiba Satellite 1130 Z23)
huepper is offline  
Old 21 November 2013, 19:07   #8
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by huepper View Post
I know, the intel gfx is total rubbish, but this is what i have.
I will upgrade the Notebook with 1GB ram and a Pentium M 2,2 GHz (512kb cache), hope this makes it better.

If not, what is the best version of winuae for this old hardware ?
(Toshiba Satellite 1130 Z23)
such upgrade is not yet enough for a descent emulation in winuae
Sandro is offline  
Old 21 November 2013, 19:42   #9
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by huepper View Post
If not, what is the best version of winuae for this old hardware ?
(Toshiba Satellite 1130 Z23)
Well, the best is always newer version, but in your case maybe check 2.0.1, this one was last working good on my old (now broken) desktop Celeron 1.3 mhz on Win2K ... (or even 0.8.27 for Win98) ... but also note that those are less accurate than todays newer versions.

Last edited by amilo3438; 21 November 2013 at 19:50.
amilo3438 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound Problems... Steve support.WinUAE 3 18 July 2009 16:58
Help! - A1200 with Memory Expansion Problems xaind support.Hardware 7 21 December 2007 12:49
E-UAE (MorphOS) - problems with memory Solo Kazuki support.OtherUAE 3 12 April 2007 02:49
sound problems abelthorne support.WinUAE 5 05 January 2004 23:20
sound problems, please help pulley support.Hardware 4 19 October 2002 11:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07444 seconds with 14 queries