English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 March 2012, 01:41   #81
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Yes it does , as a matter of fact.
I was looking at where it said 'drag and drop' and I read it over and over, wondering what does that mean ???
Just what exactly do I have to drag ?
Jim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 March 2012, 02:10   #82
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Oh , and another thing I noticed...
Where the new title has appeared - it says UNKNOWN in the Group column.
And yet it's plain to see that, as it's uncrunching, - it briefly flashes Warlocks ADF Archive.
And then , when the Demo starts, the top half of the screen has a long, long scroller message that starts off with Thrust Presents... (blah, blah, blah).....
So there's Two names.
Jim is offline  
Old 09 March 2012, 04:34   #83
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Here's another thing that I was curious about...

Last night I was systematically checking through my WorkBench3.1
And when I looked in the L directory , I found a file that was called
CrossDOSFileSystem ... What is that ? - What does it do ?



And then , when I looked in the <DIR> FileSystem_Trans
I found some more about CrossDos.
What is that ? - What is it for ?
.
Jim is offline  
Old 09 March 2012, 05:10   #84
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
In my Quest for Knowlege, (and getting stuff), I usually prowl around the Back2Roots website, looking for ADF goodies.
But they kinda specialize in GAMES mostly.
And they don't have much of a selection of TOOLS...
Does anybody know where I can get a good copier ?
When I had my Amiga , I seem to recall that I had several different ones.
But now, when I try and remember their names , the only two that stick in my memory are X-Copy and D-Copy.
But I do remember I used them all the time. I used them a lot !
Where can I get these ?

Jim is offline  
Old 09 March 2012, 06:12   #85
lilalurl
Global Moderator
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,863
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
Copy and D-Copy.
But I do remember I used them all the time. I used them a lot !
Where can I get these ?
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=54794
-> http://jope.fi/xcopy/releases.html

Probably less interesting for your purpose, but anyway you can also get the source code:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=62391
lilalurl is offline  
Old 09 March 2012, 10:15   #86
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Hi lilalurl ,
Thanks for the link.
I downloaded a couple of them, and added the website into my FAVOURITES.

Later, I can decide whether I like a version that is plain and simple -
or one that's loaded up with extra features.
Jim is offline  
Old 09 March 2012, 10:28   #87
Mclane
Old fart!

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 57
Posts: 559
I wonder where the X-copy people are now, I used to bump into Richard Asplin at the shows, nice guy.

I seem to remember that Magician42 / Klaus and Sodan had something to do with it, my memory seems to remember me chatting to Klaus and Sodan at the Commodore shows, well I did chat to them but I can't remember if it was about X-copy?

Really nice guys, actually remembered me and my mate at the shows, mind you you could hardly forget my mate Cos, 6ft 5 black guy built like a brick wall / body builder, he made an impression (and a really good bloke too).

I really wonder where they are all now..
Mclane is offline  
Old 09 March 2012, 16:42   #88
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
And I found the D-Copy, and the RattleCopy at

http://amigarealm.whdownload.com/ami...ols/tools6.htm
Jim is offline  
Old 09 March 2012, 18:57   #89
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
Yes it does , as a matter of fact.
I was looking at where it said 'drag and drop' and I read it over and over, wondering what does that mean ???
Just what exactly do I have to drag ?
Exactly as it says on the tin, Jim.

Drag the picture of the pink ephalump you posted earlier and drop it onto the box. You can do the same with help/text files and .mp3's.
Arnie is offline  
Old 09 March 2012, 18:58   #90
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
Oh , and another thing I noticed...
Where the new title has appeared - it says UNKNOWN in the Group column.
And yet it's plain to see that, as it's uncrunching, - it briefly flashes Warlocks ADF Archive.
And then , when the Demo starts, the top half of the screen has a long, long scroller message that starts off with Thrust Presents... (blah, blah, blah).....
So there's Two names.
Right click on the entry and choose edit. From there you can change all the info.
Arnie is offline  
Old 09 March 2012, 19:03   #91
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
And I found the D-Copy, and the RattleCopy at

http://amigarealm.whdownload.com/ami...ols/tools6.htm
Try here if nowhere else has what you need or want.

http://planetemu.net/index.php?section=menus&machine=31

Loads of stuff.
Washac is offline  
Old 09 March 2012, 20:55   #92
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Hello Arnie.
I just wanted to let you know that I have fixed that problem.
Boy oh boy... the answer was so bloody obvious, that I can't imagine how I didn't see it before.

And it was the same with the Group Name problem...
Easy, when you know how.
Jim is offline  
Old 09 March 2012, 21:37   #93
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Hello Washac,
Thank you for posting up that link.
A very interesting website, with (as you say) Loads of Stuff.
Half way down the second page, I spied something I wanted - CLImate.

Jim is offline  
Old 10 March 2012, 17:53   #94
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Spent all day yesterday trying to put up a picture onto DPaint.
Tried lotsa different formats, but nothing would show...
I kept getting a message that said "No , this is not an IFF file"
And of course that was leading me to keep trying to convert stuff to the IFF format... which is at
the very top of the list, when you use SAVE AS, in PaintShopPro.
I was at it all day - trying and trying.
Then this morning , my eyes slid down to the third item on the list, and I saw DPaint/LBM .
My God, I cried , I never noticed that before !
Anyways , I tried it and when I clicked it over in DPaint... Up it came !
So I quickly loaded up another three LBMs , and I had enough to build a simple 4-frame animation.
Jim is offline  
Old 10 March 2012, 18:03   #95
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
And here it is...
The first sign that I may be on the right track.
Of course, I don't know what I'm doing, and this rough and unpolished first steps show it....

4 FRAMES ... I call it 'The Pointy Sisters'



Jim is offline  
Old 10 March 2012, 18:32   #96
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Hmmm , I don't know if this will work, I've never tried it before.

Here's that animation converted over to a GIF format' so that
it will play on a PC in Windoze.

Jim is offline  
Old 12 March 2012, 18:00   #97
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Something has gone wrong with one of my files.
I have a demo called Boys in Blue , and it looks like bits of the animation
are dropping out, and some of the text is truncated.
Well I just figured that this file had gotten corrupted somehow...
All I have to do is download it again.

However, that's not so easy as I thought.
I tried to do a search for it... looking for
Boys in Blue - Share and Enjoy - Scoopex
And I get a lot of 'hits'
But as I click through them, there's a lot that just talk about it.
Others will do a Review on it... and you can make comments.
There's even a YouTube where I can watch it play through , but that's not what I want.

None of these sites seems to have a Download for me to click on . (?)
Where can I find a BoysInBlue.adf
Jim is offline  
Old 12 March 2012, 19:52   #98
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,863
Is this it Jim?

http://amiga.nvg.org/warlock/adf/s/
Arnie is offline  
Old 12 March 2012, 21:59   #99
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Yes , that's it ...... Thanks Arnie.
When this version was depacking , I noticed that the path was flawed.
And what I was looking for was curiously mixed up with a dozen other "GAMES" programs (???)
However, I sorted it out by HighLighting the eroneous title, and used EDIT to call it Boys in Blue.
And of course, I used the Drag & Drop trick to attach the signature icon.
Now everything is perfect .... Thanks again .
Jim is offline  
Old 16 March 2012, 19:36   #100
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Well, I was coming along there pretty good for a while, and I thought I was finally coming to grips with this program. But my latest problem has got me beat.
I managed to get a simple animation going, in the DPaint emulation.
I was fine pleased with myself, with that accomplishment, and gave myself a pat on the back.
But it was only a 4-frame Anim so I wanted to try a more complex one...
So I dragged out one of my old Animations, and this time it's a 60-frame one.
It was a big job... Sitting in my PC as a GIF , I had to work backwards and got a view of all the frames in a horizontal panoramic view.
Then one by one, I had to click on each image and click SAVE FRAME As.... and save them out as LBM files. Then transfer them over to my Emulated HardDrive called Graphics: and lined them up in a Directory named Picture.
I started up an Anim file with Number of frames: 60. Set the Rate at 8. and started to load in the LBM images, starting at number 1, and just advancing to the next frame and puting in number 2 , etc.
Well, all was going fine until I had reached frame number 49....
Then I was stopped with a message that said : You Don't Have Enough Memory To Continue.
Just for a moment, I sat there Stunned.
There was a little button attached that said Proceed? ... So I clicked that.
And everything just went away !
My Animation simply disappeared, and I was back at the beginning again. All my work was gone.
I didn't even get the opportunity to SAVE my progress.
How could I be "Out of Memory"?
I thought I had Tons of room...
What kinda Memory are we talking about here ?
Is it RAM that it's talking about ?
Is this actual Memory that I have in my computer , or is it some kinda 'simulated Ram' that I have on my emulated Amiga ?
I don't know what to do... I don't even know what questions to ask.
Help.

Jim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Struggling with ClassicWB :( Geon106 support.WinUAE 3 28 March 2013 15:04
Cloanto debate guru64 Amiga scene 282 11 January 2012 21:16
Newbie struggling on downloaded games Scampi New to Emulation or Amiga scene 21 23 October 2007 22:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09314 seconds with 14 queries