English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 March 2012, 00:55   #61
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
So the next thing I wanted to try was to copy a IFF image from my Graphics folder (on the Windows side) over to the Pictures Directory of the Art1 disk.
At first I couldn't see it ... but then I clicked on Show, and then on All Files...
And then I saw it.
I dragged , and dropped it onto the Pictures icon.
But it wouldn't go in there ... a message appeared that said thet
Art! is Write-Protected ... I'm not having any luck today.

The Gods are angry.
Jim is offline  
Old 06 March 2012, 17:54   #62
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Well , after a whole night of fiddling around, I finally got a bit of success.
I have managed to copy one of my JPG pictures (from the Graphics folder of my Windows part of my computer) over to DPaint (on the Amiga HardDrive)
I first had to convert it into an IFF-file. (3trams.iff)
Then fired up the Amiga Forever and opened my new Graphics icon.
I had to change it from SHOW Icons to SHOW All files. ( to be able to see the file I was looking for)
Then I dragged and dropped that file onto the Workbench3.1 (HardDrive)
I had to fiddle around with the size, because the picture seemed stretched too much in the height. so I had to make it a bit wider, so that it 'looked right'
And here's the result.



For anyone who is interested .... This is Union Street in Aberdeen in the 1950s. - This is where I was born.
Showing an old balcony-type tram (a BoneShaker) one of the New trams ( a StreamLiner) and one of the 'Regular' trams.
Jim is offline  
Old 06 March 2012, 19:23   #63
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Copying from the Amiga side to Windoze is proving to be a bit harder.
That is to say - I can transfer the files across , no bother...
But I'm having a problem finding a program that will display the results.
The animation files (for example) come across with an anim extension.
And I dont have a program that can Run anim-files.
The closest I have come is this program called Pro Motion 6.5
But it's an Evaluation copy and it only lets you play with it for 30 days , and you can't SAVE anything.
I was just running the 'CRY' animation from the Art2 disk here , and I did a screen capture for you.

Jim is offline  
Old 06 March 2012, 20:48   #64
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
I was just sitting here, trying to remember when I got rid of my Amiga.
It might have been around 1995, I think. And also I can't remember if I
sold it to somebody , or if I just threw it out... I can't remember.
However , the last thing I did with my Amiga was - I copied all my animations across to my new PC.
I can't remember what I used to do it, back then... my memory fails me.
It might have been a small utility called CrossDos. (?)
I think I might still have that floppy lying around the house somewheres...
The next thing I did was load that into IrfanView and turned those animations into GIF-files.
PaintShopPro has a companion program called JASC Animation Shop, and I also loaded them into that program ... and SAVED them out again as AVIs.
So have a whole bunch of original Animations that nobody else has ever seen, and I wanted to be able to get them all copied back over to DPaint.
That is going to be a huge task, and I'm not even sure if it's even Possible...
But I'm going to keep on trying.
Jim is offline  
Old 06 March 2012, 20:52   #65
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,457
http://www.randelshofer.ch/multishow/index.html ia a Java-based player that plays also anim animations (just tried).
zipper is offline  
Old 06 March 2012, 23:02   #66
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Hello Zipper,
That program you found seemed to be just what I was looking for,
so I visited the site and started to download it.
But just before the finish - I got an Association Warning.
What's that ? I never saw that before.
I tried to go around it - but I couldn't... so I clicked on the X , and it disappeared.
However, a couple of minutes later I was passing through my DeskTop and I noticed a new icon named MultiView.
Apparently it had installed itself anyway. So I clicked on it -
And up came another Warning that said the sender couldn't be verified (?)
and said I should only download from somebody I can trust.
What's all that about ?
I went into my Control Panel and Un-installed it.
What do you think ? - Is it okay or not ?
Jim is offline  
Old 07 March 2012, 09:40   #67
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,457
As long as your antivirus protection is up to date it probably is OK - mine did not give any alerts except that Windows complains everything which isn't verified (and paid to ) by Microsoft...
The author is well-known amd has a long history in bringing Amiga animations into other platforms.

Last edited by zipper; 07 March 2012 at 09:50.
zipper is offline  
Old 07 March 2012, 09:53   #68
Mclane
Old fart!

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 57
Posts: 563
Are you running window 7 Jim?

If yes it could the UAC account control having a fit?

But normally that just asks you a question..

It also could be your Anti Virus having a hissy fit too, when you have the defense+ type things enabled on 99% of virus checkers it sits watching every little thing you do like registry writes and adjustments to files. Its a dead hand thing to have on but it can get a little over excited at times

As Zipper says, as long as your AV software is spot up to date you should be 100% fine.
Mclane is offline  
Old 07 March 2012, 10:05   #69
Mclane
Old fart!

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 57
Posts: 563
Hi Jim, I can confirm its not a virus, it wants to take control of all the popular filetypes for images such as gif so clicking on them associates those files with this program.

That's quite naughty to be honest, not in a bad way but it just means if you normally loaded stuff into say Paint by double clicking on the png or whatever you will now have to run Paint and load it in from there.

The other way around it is to install this file, let it do all the associating with .aiff etc etc and then say you want to go back to it running paint when you double click on that png file just right click on the png and look for Open With and it will either show you a selection of programs or ask you to find the program to open that file.

There will be a little tick box then saying use this from now on for this file type, tick it and you are now back to using the favourite program to open that file.
Mclane is offline  
Old 07 March 2012, 14:49   #70
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Okay Zipper,
I have gone ahead and installed the MultiShow Program.
I have just been playing around with it... exploring it's features and seeing what it can do.
But the main thing is , It can play anim-files - and that's what I wanted.
So thanks again - very much appreciated .
Jim is offline  
Old 07 March 2012, 15:19   #71
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
And hello to you too, Mclane. Always nice to talk to you.
I have noticed a couple of things about MultiShow.

I can load up the MultiShow program . and then navigate my way to Cry.anim , or JugglingLee.anim , or whatever...
Then when I click it, it plays the animation.
That's fine. That's what I expected.

But if I simply open up my Graphics Directory , and I see the Cry.anim listed in there....... If I 'click on it' - I get a message that says
i The image does not contain any image definition.
And doesn't do anything.
Jim is offline  
Old 07 March 2012, 16:16   #72
Mclane
Old fart!

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 57
Posts: 563
Pass I'm afraid, graphics was never my thing Jim..
Mclane is offline  
Old 07 March 2012, 22:36   #73
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
If I was going to do a review on MultiShow, I could say that I was looking for a player that would run anim-files... and it does do that.
So I am going to keep it.

But other than that , It doesn't have any other features... so it's not very useful.
For example - it doesnt have a SAVE , and it doesn't have a SAVE AS .
I wouls say that it is seriously crippled without that feature.
I would like to be able to load in an AVI , or a GIF , or any kind of animation file - and then turn around and SAVE it back out again as an ANIM file .

And since MultiShow can't do that for me well, I guess I'm still looking.
Jim is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 08:20   #74
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Just going by my memory , I used to have this application.
Can this be gotten in a ADF format ?

Or a similar program that does the same sort of thing ?

Jim is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 12:04   #75
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Hi Jim,

have a look on the EAB file server in the folder 'Commodore_Amiga/TOSEC/Applications/[ADF]/S' for 'SID v2.01 (1992)(Martin, T.)(SW-R)[WB].7z'
TCD is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 14:41   #76
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Hello CyberDruid,
Thank you kindly for your reply.

I managed to get onto the Eab file server okay, but I am lost at the next step...

I mean, I can't find the Commodore_Amiga folder ... I must be doing something wrong (?)
Jim is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 15:04   #77
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
If you use the 'Web Browser friendly link' you should see something like this (minus the German for obvious reasons ) :



Just click on the 'Commodore_Amiga/' link then.
TCD is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 18:39   #78
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
Nope , that doesn't work either .
Jim is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 19:49   #79
Jim
Registered User
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 225
I just uploaded a Demo called Ottifant up into Amiga Forever.
It went in easy enough and it shows up in the list under the DemoScene tab.
But I was disapointed to see that the little picture doesn't appear on the left side.
All the other demos have a little square picture that illustrates what the demo looks like... but my one comes up empty.
Have I missed out an important step ?

The picture should look like this.
Jim is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 21:20   #80
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,864
Does it say 'Preview not available (drag and drop to add preview, help or audio)' in the box where the picture should be?
Arnie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Struggling with ClassicWB :( Geon106 support.WinUAE 3 28 March 2013 15:04
Cloanto debate guru64 Amiga scene 282 11 January 2012 21:16
Newbie struggling on downloaded games Scampi New to Emulation or Amiga scene 21 23 October 2007 22:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09833 seconds with 14 queries