English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 November 2013, 19:35   #21
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
Well, Ill explain in short what is the problem running Sine Intro V1.0 (Intro) by Excel

On my pc laptop 2.13mhz, noticed sound crackling at the beginning of the above demo on winuae 2.7.0 b8 and later using D3D mode (in dd mode it doesnt happens) ...
in previous winuae 2.7.0 b7 this doesnt happened in D3D.

Anyone noticed same issue or is specific only to my pc?!

EDIT: Also forgot to mentioned that a sound buffer in winuae was set on 5 in b7 and b8!

Last edited by amilo3438; 21 November 2013 at 20:05.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 21 November 2013, 19:39   #22
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,012
Do you see any difference in CPU% (in windowed border or if "on screen leds" are enabled) between versions? It reacts much faster than task manager.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 21 November 2013, 20:01   #23
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Do you see any difference in CPU% (in windowed border or if "on screen leds" are enabled) between versions? It reacts much faster than task manager.
Testing all 3 files from archive with Jim Power (title screen) and all running around 73% on my PC with same winuae config!

p.s. Are those 3 files test versions of b7 till b8?

Maybe no need to bother with ... Ill change to DD instead D3D and this will solve the mentioned problem.

Last edited by amilo3438; 21 November 2013 at 20:11.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 21 November 2013, 20:10   #24
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,266
There are some points we have to consider:

1. The demo is so simple, that is it isnt working, in this case its sound, there should be something wrong on WinUAE or its Amilo's Windows setup. That is, every computer should be able to that demo without any glitches, its not nothing "amazing". So this is a good thing for amilo.

2. Toni said specificaly for B7 and B8 for us to -not- use them with CE modes because the timing in these versions are broken. So well this may be the problem, I dont know...

3. amilo, if you are running on batteries and are using a power saving mode, disable it, this will do a great help. I sounds like a troll because this tip seems stupid, but this gave me headaches for me when I used it first on my desktop.

4. Toni, I think this time you will -need- to tweak WinUAE for amilo, that is, at least for him and his setup, I say this because without it how amilo could help you with your work on WinUAE, testing all that demos and intros, on his computer? He is the only guy here in the board that helps you on your work, I would say, "directly".

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 21 November 2013 at 20:16.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 21 November 2013, 20:21   #25
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
@1 The demo is working but the problem was in sound crackling for a few seconds! ...Yes, it could be maybe something specific for my PC only!
@2 For b7 and b8 was said, if remember, only for 680x0 models!
@3 No, no running winuae on batteries ... never doing that! ... Also, power saving is on max performance!
@4 Good think is my pc isnt too fast or too slow, so enough good for calibrating/optimizing winuae!

Last edited by amilo3438; 21 November 2013 at 20:29.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 21 November 2013, 21:42   #26
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
Some more testing done in b14:

D3D, no vsync, no buffering / double buffering, sound buffer 5 == no sound crackling!!! ... same in b7!!!

D3D, no vsync, triple buffering, sound buffer 5 == sound crackling!!! ... same in b7!!!

D3D, legacy vsync, double buffering / triple buffering, sound buffer 5 == sound crackling!!! ... in b7 no sound crackling !!!

p.s.
My default config was set on D3D, legacy vsync, triple buffering, sound buffer 5 !!! (no or barely crackling if sound buffer == 6 !!!)

Could be you were right at beginning: Probably something improved in b8, if compared to b7, that now needs more CPU power for running it D3D mode!

Last edited by amilo3438; 21 November 2013 at 22:42.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 21 November 2013, 21:49   #27
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Some more testing done in b14:

D3D, no vsync, no buffering / double buffering == no sound crackling!!!

D3D, no vsync, triple buffering == sound crackling!!!
You sure you don't have forced vsync enabled in your display driver control panel?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 21 November 2013, 21:54   #28
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
You sure you don't have forced vsync enabled in your display driver control panel?
Vertical sync == Application controlled ... in nvidia drivers

p.s.
With pic.1 and sound buffer == 3 == no crackling (on 2 barely, on 1 yes)!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard01.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	86.6 KB
ID:	37932  

Last edited by amilo3438; 21 November 2013 at 22:12.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 22 November 2013, 00:50   #29
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Some more testing done in b14:

D3D, no vsync, no buffering / double buffering, sound buffer 5 == no sound crackling!!! ... same in b7!!!

D3D, no vsync, triple buffering, sound buffer 5 == sound crackling!!! ... same in b7!!!

D3D, legacy vsync, double buffering / triple buffering, sound buffer 5 == sound crackling!!! ... in b7 no sound crackling !!!

p.s.
My default config was set on D3D, legacy vsync, triple buffering, sound buffer 5 !!! (no or barely crackling if sound buffer == 6 !!!)

Could be you were right at beginning: Probably something improved in b8, if compared to b7, that now needs more CPU power for running it D3D mode!
Also, if change in my default configuration sound frequency on 22050 (instead 44100) no sound crackling!

p.s. My WinUAE config was by default set on DirectSound drivers.


EDIT: It doesnt happens on default config if select sound driver as portaudio and portaudio_x86.dll placed in plugins folder !!! (even if sound buffer is set on 1)
I used this plugin: http://www.winuae.net/files/stuff/portaudio.zip ... (but not sure is that the latest version)
Tried this in Jim Power but got very bad latency ... it needs almost 1 second to here a sound of bullet even buffer was set to 1?!

With DSound on buffer 5 the sound does not seems to late and generally seems to be better quality.

Last edited by amilo3438; 22 November 2013 at 02:36.
amilo3438 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problematic Demos. amilo3438 support.WinUAE 779 05 June 2017 16:33
Problematic GVP A530 Turbo Mogsy support.Hardware 22 13 November 2012 20:12
Problematic thread? prowler project.EAB 5 28 October 2011 01:06
Problematic Holiday Lemmings 94 demo disk MethodGit support.Games 19 08 November 2010 04:56
Problematic slaves list keropi project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 44 28 November 2008 13:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13774 seconds with 16 queries