English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 August 2018, 00:44   #121
nonarkitten
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Calgary/Canada
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
Faster, I believe so. Mike has dropped the FPGA based CPU core idea for Replay 2. It is a hybrid now - using a readily available (upgradeable), high speed, multi-core CPU module to handle CPU core emulations, and a larger FPGA to do just the chipset emulations. <snip>
Jim, the Raspberry Pi CM3 is not high-speed nor even slightly comparable to even a mid-range Core i5 or i7. It is, at best, able to produce a SysInfo score a little better than the Vampire (integer only, it fails rather horribly in FPU). But this does not account for JIT-lag. JIT-lag makes the whole UAE experience feel quite sluggish, despite what the benchmarks might indicate. And without JIT, it runs at least an order of magnitude slower, making it virtually useless unless all you want is a new A1200.
nonarkitten is offline  
Old 11 August 2018, 07:16   #122
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by nonarkitten View Post
Jim, the Raspberry Pi CM3 is not high-speed nor even slightly comparable to even a mid-range Core i5 or i7
Yeah, I am glad that idea was scrapped early on.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 00:01   #123
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 369
Today I flashed this new core and updated SAGA drivers. The procedure went OK but afterwards the system has become very unstable. Basically it would boot normally, work a few minutes then start hanging, mostly during long disk access. This is always ending with a guru, a reboot, a shorter working time then again guru reboot etc. until it freezes completely without booting at all. Switching it off and waiting for some 10 minutes before re-powering will lead again to the begin of the loop.

I never paid too much attention at heat before but I'm pretty sure it's hotter than usual.

It's a Vampire v2 in a A600. Not using HDMI al all.

Any suggesion?
KONEY is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 01:02   #124
sean_skroht
Gimmemore Commodore

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONEY View Post
Today I flashed this new core and updated SAGA drivers. The procedure went OK but afterwards the system has become very unstable. Basically it would boot normally, work a few minutes then start hanging, mostly during long disk access. This is always ending with a guru, a reboot, a shorter working time then again guru reboot etc. until it freezes completely without booting at all. Switching it off and waiting for some 10 minutes before re-powering will lead again to the begin of the loop.

I never paid too much attention at heat before but I'm pretty sure it's hotter than usual.

It's a Vampire v2 in a A600. Not using HDMI al all.

Any suggesion?

You could try adding a self adhesive passive heat sink on top of the FPGA.

You may also need to do the recommended capacitor mod to fix your issue. The video on it can be found here:

[ Show youtube player ]

Add two electrolytic 22uF 10v capacitors (observe the polarity), one at C3 and one at C6.
sean_skroht is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 01:16   #125
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 369
ok, thanks! I didn't know there was such a mod.

However, is it possible that the problem started with the new core?
KONEY is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 05:16   #126
sean_skroht
Gimmemore Commodore

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONEY View Post
ok, thanks! I didn't know there was such a mod.

However, is it possible that the problem started with the new core?

From Gold 2.7 onwards I believe the FPGA is pushed a bit harder and some weaker FPGA's may require the capacitor mod in order to cope. The problem was that the capacitors used at C3 and C6 weren't high enough values and so the fix has become pretty much mandatory for some. This was fixed in Majsta's Vampire 600 V2.1.

With each successive core release things get a bit faster so it becomes more and more apparent that the capacitor fix is necessary.
sean_skroht is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 06:22   #127
Kitch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Christchurch / New Zealand
Posts: 45
Do the "Black edition" Vampires require the capacitor mod as well?
Kitch is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 08:43   #128
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
"Black Editions" should require it less than normal ones. However, the fix is recommended for all kipper2k and early majsta cards.
grond is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 10:42   #129
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean_skroht View Post
From Gold 2.7 onwards I believe the FPGA is pushed a bit harder and some weaker FPGA's may require the capacitor mod in order to cope.
Thanks. Digging thru youtube comments I found this link http://forum.apollo-accelerators.com...php?f=9&t=1867 which pretty much summarizes it.

I wish there were more warnings about installing newer cores in early boards because at this point it will take time for me to have the mod done and in the meantime I cannot roll-back to a previous version since flashing takes some two minutes and I cannot trust the system to be stable long enough to finish without crashing and bricking the Vampire... so no Vampire for me for a long time
KONEY is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 11:25   #130
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
You need a 5€ USB blaster to flash an older core. This works even when the Vampire is bricked.
grond is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 14:10   #131
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 369
Ok, I think any Vampire owner should grab one of these sooner or later. Thanks
KONEY is offline  
Old 23 August 2018, 19:19   #132
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 369
I managed to get the caps mod done superfast and it works! There is surely a massive improvement but I still cannot say the system is stable and reliable. There are still graphic glitches when clicking WB icons and sometimes everything just freezes.

So if there are not anymore suggestion I think I'll have to roll-back to core 2.8
KONEY is offline  
Old 23 August 2018, 22:46   #133
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,458
Try some other core, there are x10, x11, x12... which works best with what system is anyone's guess, sometimes you just have to try.
kolla is offline  
Old 24 August 2018, 13:27   #134
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 369
Thanks, can you link me to these other cores? here I can find only cores up to 10: http://wiki.apollo-accelerators.com/...t#latest_cores
KONEY is offline  
Old 24 August 2018, 13:53   #135
sean_skroht
Gimmemore Commodore

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONEY View Post
Thanks, can you link me to these other cores? here I can find only cores up to 10: http://wiki.apollo-accelerators.com/...t#latest_cores
Hi Koney,
What Kolla means is that each core version comes in various speeds, ie: x10 speed, x11 and x12. It would be best to try x10 if you’re having system instability. x11 is considered the default speed with x12 being only for those FPGA’s strong enough to be pushed faster.
sean_skroht is offline  
Old 24 August 2018, 18:52   #136
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,736
On that link, Gold 2.10 is only available in x11 (exe/jic) and x12 (jic only) though. For some reason they did not make a x10 version of this core so you could try gold 2.9 x10 core. The changes from 2.9 to 2.10 are minor for most users anyway (unless you have a BW picture with 2.9).
demolition is offline  
Old 25 August 2018, 02:57   #137
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 369
sorry, I admin my ignorance... I didn't know this thing of speeds. Well it is not very clear, but still my fault Thanks
KONEY is offline  
Old 26 August 2018, 07:44   #138
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by grond View Post
I doubt very much that any HDMI patents are in force in Bosnia-Herzegovina, majsta's country of residence.
I would have checked.

https://www.epo.org/about-us/foundat...on-states.html
kolla is offline  
Old 26 August 2018, 11:35   #139
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 966
Oh, wow, it took you whole 16 days to dig up something against the Apollo team.
You must be getting old!

And what if the Vampires are registered in Serbia (a couple of hours drive)?

Termination of the Agreement
30.9.2010

Would that make you sad?
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 26 August 2018, 12:14   #140
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
And what if the Vampires are registered in Serbia (a couple of hours drive)?
Perhaps he could sell them in Serbia then but what matters is where they are sold to.
demolition is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vampire Gold Core v2.9 released Sinphaltimus News 39 11 June 2018 11:03
GOLD core released for Vampire 600 V2 guibrush News 23 16 September 2016 04:34
SILVER9 core released for Vampire 600 V2 TuKo News 1 04 August 2016 13:13
SILVER8 core released for Vampire 600 V2 TuKo News 3 02 August 2016 04:13
SILVER3 core released for Vampire 600 V2 TuKo News 4 03 April 2016 14:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13440 seconds with 16 queries