English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 September 2018, 21:56   #1
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,027
Are these A500 PSU voltages ok?

After a few failed CIA chips someone suggested checking the PSU. Are these voltages measured on the cable plug within tolerable levels do you know?

+12V line = +14.1V
-12V line = -13.2V
+5V line = +6.28V
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 22:04   #2
Franchute13
Registered User
Franchute13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Argentina
Posts: 247
Hello Starglider 2!
You must test the power supply with load, without load, the values do not work.
Test connecting an old hdd to 12v and 5v to see.
What you can not prove is the state of the capacitors, if they are in bad condition you will not see it in the voltage. Change the capacitors for doubts.
Bye
Franchute13 is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 22:34   #3
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,027
Thanks. With the machine on, at the serial port test pins 9 & 10 I get -14.5 & -15.4V.

On chips the 5V pin measures about 6.1V.

Is any of that normal?

I don't have an old HDD to test.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 23:09   #4
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,589
You don't need a heavy load like a harddisk to test the voltages. The +/- 12V can be 13V or so without issue, but the 5V must be within +/- 0.25V for the logic.

To me it looks like you have the same voltages with the machine connected and disconnected. Either the cable is faulty or the power connector is broken inside. I wouldn't say the PSU is broken yet, because it seems like you haven't put a load on the PSU yet.
Photon is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 23:15   #5
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
You don't need a heavy load like a harddisk to test the voltages. The +/- 12V can be 13V or so without issue, but the 5V must be within +/- 0.25V for the logic.

To me it looks like you have the same voltages with the machine connected and disconnected. Either the cable is faulty or the power connector is broken inside. I wouldn't say the PSU is broken yet, because it seems like you haven't put a load on the PSU yet.
To clarify, the machine is essentially working fine after replacing the CIAs. These voltages at the serial are with the machine on and showing workbench. Thoughts?

What would you do to load the PSU apart from having the machine on and at workbench?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 23:17   #6
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,589
Nothing. I would rub my eyes, then replace the voltmeter post haste. But I wouldn't measure voltage on the serial port, I would measure it on the PSU plinth.
Photon is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 23:56   #7
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,027
Faulty volty huh? Ok, I think you're right. It's been acting strange actually. I've ordered a replacement. Thanks.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 23:58   #8
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,406
Yeah, I'd get a second opinion on those voltages with another meter. It's possible for logic to still work around 6V, but I would expect the chips to get hot and cause lots of crashes, and eventually damage chips at that voltage.
Daedalus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old A500 PSU warning and question about exact voltages Mathesar support.Hardware 2 26 May 2018 20:36
A1200 PSU suitable for A500 and A500 Plus Bushstar support.Hardware 6 25 May 2018 14:31
ATX PSU gradually lowering voltages to my amiga when turned off!!! R-Typer support.Hardware 6 29 November 2014 19:19
A1200 PSU no-load voltages? bluescrn support.Hardware 13 19 October 2013 18:48
A4000D PSU voltages acceptable range UberFreak support.Hardware 3 17 December 2009 12:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09698 seconds with 13 queries