English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 July 2008, 05:03   #1
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,393
Overclocking Picasso IV?

I finally got my Picasso IV and was trying to remember how to overclock it via the tool types. I set the tool types via the PVS Prefs tool and it still shows 80.5MHz. It's been about 10 years since I had one and vaigly recall I had to do a work around to actually get it to overclock. (Hex edit the monitor file?) On my CV64 I had no problems. I am using the Picasso 96 RTG system. Anyone know how?

Board 0: PicassoIV
Chip: Cirrus Logic GD5446
DAC: Cirrus Logic GD5446 (intern)
RegisterBase: 0x40600000
MemoryBase: 0x41000000
MemorySize: 4161536
BitsPerCannon: 6

This board supports:
following rgb formats:
PLANAR
CHUNKY
R5G5B5
R5G5B5PC
R5G6B5
R5G6B5PC
B8G8R8
hardware sprite,
software sprite buffer,
planar and chunky memory exclusive,
hardware vblank interrupt can be caused,
User selectable flags:
overclocking enabled,
memory clock set to 80.5 MHz,
big sprite used,
soft sprite in mode depth 4, 8, 15, 16, 24, 32,
system borderblank used,
board is part of the display chain,
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 25 July 2008, 06:25   #2
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Editing the video modes via P96 settings?
rkauer is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 17:57   #3
Iznougoud
Quite the odd one

Iznougoud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 180
Send a message via MSN to Iznougoud
If you don't have a very particular need for increasing the speed of the Picasso IV (which I find hard to believe, given the applications available for such a system), I would urge you to seriously consider leaving it at stock speed. However intriguing the challenge, wouldn't it be like adding fuel injection to a Ford model T and risking damage in the process?
Iznougoud is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 18:17   #4
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,477
Didn't it give 10 MHz more to the max pixel clock, 85 =>95 and 135 =>145 MHz?
zipper is offline  
Old 05 October 2018, 16:04   #5
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,208
Sorry for necro’ing an old thread, but is that how you overclock the pixel clock - edit the picasso96 settings file in a hex editor?
trixster is offline  
Old 05 October 2018, 20:01   #6
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,477
Tick Overclock in PVS - can't say with which cards it does work. My faint memory with my tries was getting fluctuating pixels so the benefit was small.
zipper is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A3640 overclocking hdtv_maniac support.Hardware 19 16 April 2012 23:15
Overclocking A2630 desantii support.Hardware 10 26 April 2011 01:43
Overclocking MC68040 8bitbubsy support.Hardware 31 16 March 2010 18:08
68060 Overclocking Hewitson support.Hardware 56 03 February 2010 16:15
Overclocking 68882 desantii support.Hardware 16 16 December 2009 22:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12219 seconds with 15 queries