English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 May 2019, 09:11   #1
BastyCDGS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Freiburg / Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 117
Send a message via ICQ to BastyCDGS
FS-UAE Launcher doesn't recognize ADZ/ROZ compressed files properly

Hi @ all!

I have found a bug in FS-UAE Launcher (stable 2.8.4 (actually 2.8.3), Ubuntu 18.04 repository version).

When scanning for media in FS-Launcher (ROMs and ADF disk images for OpenRetro database), they are not recognized when they are compressed, e.g. with:
Code:
gzip -n -9 Kick13.rom && mv Kick13.rom.gz Kick13.roz
gzip -n -9 DynamiteDux.adf && mv DynamiteDux.adz.gz DynamiteDux.adz
I guess the checksum is calculated before decompression (is decompression done at all?).

Please note that I use gzip -n (which omits original filename and time stamps from stream). So maybe this is the cultpit?

I have just verified that the same files are recognized properly when uncompressed.

Last edited by BastyCDGS; 17 May 2019 at 09:14. Reason: Fixed typo
BastyCDGS is offline  
Old 17 May 2019, 18:38   #2
thevoice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: germany
Posts: 112
i am mostly sure frode uses the checksum of the .adf file not the archive.
but i think the launcher scans only within .zip and .lha (for whdload),
thevoice is offline  
Old 17 May 2019, 19:40   #3
BastyCDGS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Freiburg / Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 117
Send a message via ICQ to BastyCDGS
Greetz!

Quote:
Originally Posted by thevoice View Post
i am mostly sure frode uses the checksum of the .adf file not the archive.
but i think the launcher scans only within .zip and .lha (for whdload),
Just checked the FS-UAE Launcher python source. Only .zip, .7z and .lha are supported.
BastyCDGS is offline  
Old 17 May 2019, 19:48   #4
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,534
Not a bug, but I can certainly add support for .gz "archives" with miscellaneous extensions (.adf.gz, .adz, rom.gz, .roz, etc). I've added an issue here https://github.com/FrodeSolheim/fs-u...cher/issues/65.

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 17 May 2019 at 20:31.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 17 May 2019, 21:55   #5
BastyCDGS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Freiburg / Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 117
Send a message via ICQ to BastyCDGS
Good evening, Frode!

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
Not a bug, but I can certainly add support for .gz "archives" with miscellaneous extensions (.adf.gz, .adz, rom.gz, .roz, etc). I've added an issue here https://github.com/FrodeSolheim/fs-u...cher/issues/65.
I already did a starting patch! Was not that easy, because it was my very first attempt at Python. Feel free to apply to latest git from fs-uae-launcher and test!

But it's quick and dirty! Needs some rework and finetuning, esp. filename replacement!
Attached Files
File Type: zip fs-uae-launcher_gzip_support.patch.zip (1.2 KB, 15 views)

Last edited by BastyCDGS; 17 May 2019 at 22:01.
BastyCDGS is offline  
Old 17 May 2019, 22:05   #6
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,534
@BastyCDGS Not that bad implementation Not entirely correct, file extension replacement among other things, and also how it integrates with the file scanner. It is probably quicker for me to write an implementation from scratch, but bonus points for a nice attempt there
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 18 May 2019, 00:55   #7
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,534
Pushed
Index uncompressed content of .gz/.adz/.roz
files to github
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 18 May 2019, 09:26   #8
BastyCDGS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Freiburg / Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 117
Send a message via ICQ to BastyCDGS
Good morning, Frode!

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
Pushed
Index uncompressed content of .gz/.adz/.roz
files to github
Thank you very much! But there was a small error in your patch, which I corrected with a patch in the attachment: The .adf and .rom extensions were added to .adz and .roz respectively. I fixed it so that it replaces them instead, e.g. foobar.roz becomes now foobar.rom instead of foobar.roz.rom.
Attached Files
File Type: zip fs-uae-launcher_gzip_support.patch.zip (465 Bytes, 16 views)
BastyCDGS is offline  
Old 18 May 2019, 11:25   #9
BastyCDGS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Freiburg / Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 117
Send a message via ICQ to BastyCDGS
Just a question @ Frode:

I just saw that the file arcade/gamecenterutil.py from the fs-uae-launcher code also contains 7z/zip decompression code. Does the gzip support have to be added there, too?
BastyCDGS is offline  
Old 18 May 2019, 11:36   #10
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,534
Thanks, fixed in the git repo

No, gamecenterutil.py hasn't been used for ages, I deleted it from the repo just now to clean up a little.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 18 May 2019, 12:14   #11
BastyCDGS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Freiburg / Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 117
Send a message via ICQ to BastyCDGS
Thank you very much, as well!

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
Thanks, fixed in the git repo

No, gamecenterutil.py hasn't been used for ages, I deleted it from the repo just now to clean up a little.
Ok, good to know.

BTW: I just backported the patch for me to latest stable (2.8.3) and works there like a charm (both arcade and launcher).
If anyone interested, I can create a .diff file to be applied to /usr/share/fs-uae-launcher and /usr/share/fs-uae-arcade.
However, I had to add the new extensions (.gz, .adz and .roz) to the launcher/file_scanner.py as well, in order to make it work.

I'm very happy now!

Just a last question: Will the patches be in FS-UAE Launcher 3.0 (or whatever the next official version will be)?

Last edited by BastyCDGS; 18 May 2019 at 12:15. Reason: Added small question about integration
BastyCDGS is offline  
Old 18 May 2019, 13:06   #12
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by BastyCDGS View Post
Just a last question: Will the patches be in FS-UAE Launcher 3.0 (or whatever the next official version will be)?

Yes I'll probably release 3.0 quite soon, and it will include this feature (possibly a small dev release or to before that). (And then the winuae4210 branch will probably be merged into master and a new dev series will begin).
FrodeSolheim is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE 2.8 Portable Launcher/arcade doesn't Launch on OS X Sierra... Panthros support.FS-UAE 8 09 January 2017 04:57
A600 doesn't recognize CF-cards A500Fan support.Hardware 15 27 March 2015 01:06
FS-UAE Launcher crashes while scanning for files Dic_Ray support.FS-UAE 16 03 February 2014 23:59
[bug] FS-UAE-Launcher fails with files that include special characters luttztfz support.FS-UAE 1 08 December 2013 21:45
iGame doesn't recognize two games... Xenon support.Apps 3 30 September 2009 18:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07805 seconds with 16 queries