English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 February 2018, 14:07   #1
Amigo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 9
Do I need a work bench disk?

Noobist of noobs questions. I had an Amiga 500 when I was a kid. I found my step brothers up in the loft, it has loads of games with it, couple of mice and a joystick. I can't remember if I need to have work bench to load games, another forum (car) Is saying that the games should load but my fuzzy memory is telling me that work bench had to be installed first, when I turn it on the hand icon with work bench 1.3 disc appears on the screen.

Thanks in advance.
Amigo is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 14:16   #2
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 40
Posts: 4,971
No, you do not need Workbench disk for playing floppy games.
Predseda is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 14:26   #3
Amigo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 9
How do I load them then please?
Amigo is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 14:29   #4
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 40
Posts: 4,971
Push a floppy disk into the internal drive and turn your Amiga on.
Predseda is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 14:32   #5
Amigo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 9
Doesn't do anything apart from coming back to this image


https://goo.gl/images/v5fU41
Amigo is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 14:34   #6
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,173
Have you tried other games? If none of them work, then either all of the floppies are faulty or the drive itself needs servicing. Almost all floppy based games will self boot under normal circumstances.
ajk is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 14:36   #7
Amigo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajk View Post
Have you tried other games? If none of them work, then either all of the floppies are faulty or the drive itself needs servicing. Almost all floppy based games will self boot under normal circumstances.
I went through the whole stack as I thought needed work bench and was hoping it was in there mis labelled. The drive doesn't sound in the best of health, what's involved in servicing the drive please?
Amigo is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 14:42   #8
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,173
There are a few things that may be at fault:

1) dust and dirt on the read/write heads
2) old dry grease (and dust and dirt) on the motor and rails
3) malfunctioning disk insertion switch
4) dead capacitor(s) on the drive circuit board

Perhaps have a look at some videos on YouTube to get an idea of the process:

[ Show youtube player ]
[ Show youtube player ]
[ Show youtube player ]

And of course there are also threads about this very subject here on this forum and others, it's a common enough problem with Amigas at this day and age
ajk is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 14:47   #9
Amigo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 9
Thanks very much for the point in the right direction. I'll report back.
Amigo is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 14:48   #10
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
you may try some floppy disk cleaning kit.
out of stock there, it seems, but ebay/amazon do offer those too.
emufan is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 14:53   #11
Amigo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 9
I've just got it out of the loft to look at it, there is a "warranty is void if broken" sticker over some of the screws. Should I void the warranty?
Amigo is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 15:08   #12
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 40
Posts: 4,971
Predseda is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 16:30   #13
Amigo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 9
So, despite the warnings I now have no warranty, took the floppy out, gave the heads a clean and...................it now loads games. Neither of the mice seem to work and there isn't any sound. Any ideas? Think it may be ready for computer heaven.
Amigo is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 16:47   #14
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
remove the metal shield and take a photo.
so the experts can inspect the motherboard,
maybe some bad capacitors.
is there a card in the expansion slot? if it's one with a metal shield too,
remove the one, maybe a bad battery inside.
emufan is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 23:31   #15
Amigo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 9
Slight development, sound is working the mice less so, they seem so basic I can't see them being broken, any suggestions?
Amigo is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 23:50   #16
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Does the joystick work? Does the mouse not work in both controller ports?
Some components attached to the controller ports could be broken. It's not that hard of a fix on an A500, I've done it.

But we need more info, "does not work" is not a good report. Also you have been asked for motherboard pictures, and you have given none.
Akira is offline  
Old 22 February 2018, 00:01   #17
Amigo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 9
Do apologise on the picture front, need to be at home with my star bits to get the shielding off. I loaded lemmings, the cursor can be seen in the top left corner, moving either mouse in either port doesn't move the cursor, the cursor moved very slightly with the joystick plugged in.
Amigo is offline  
Old 22 February 2018, 01:15   #18
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Can you try a game that uses joystick for inut? Preferably a two playr game so you can try both ports?

It could be that the mouse reading circuitry is not working, but it could also be the slim possibility that both mice are fucked. Do you have any other mouse that are known working, or any other AMigas you can test on? I would guess the answer is "no", but I had to mention it.
Akira is offline  
Old 23 February 2018, 10:49   #19
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,419
If the cursor moves slightly with the joystick (wiggling it in a circle should move it very slowly diagonally), then it could be a problem with the +5V supply. Mice need it for their sensors, whereas joysticks don't. There are a couple of small parts on the motherboard that could have been damaged by shorting pins together for example. Also, I know the mice are indeed pretty simple, but it's not beyond the realms of possibility that the cables on both of them have become damaged after many years of being flexed...

But my first thought is the +5V on the port. If you have a multimeter, check the voltage between pins 7 and 8 (middle two on the bottom row), being careful not to short them to anything else. There should be +5V on pin 7. If you don't, a multimeter is a handy thing to have when you're dealing with old computers, so might be a worthwhile investment. Finally, don't give up on it, it's definitely fixable, and probably a simple enough fix so well worth pursuing.
Daedalus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Labels for Amiga work bench Discs ceedy support.Other 6 16 March 2011 15:01
Amiga 2000 Display & Work bench problems! CalvinH support.Hardware 7 09 May 2009 05:39
No work bench? bryce_boi support.Other 29 30 August 2007 18:58
cant seem to get disk swapping to work macphisto support.WinFellow 6 13 July 2004 19:24
Swap 3 domain names for a copy of 1.3 work bench. etheridge MarketPlace 0 10 May 2002 19:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09992 seconds with 15 queries