English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 February 2020, 10:29   #61
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,403
with Win7 32Bit use VMWarer Player 6.04, with Win7 64Bit use VMWarer Player 12.5.4

The first time you run OWB, you have to wait a while because the system has to download and install the fonts.
if you set the values as in my screenshot you will see which network will work
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 22 February 2020, 14:11   #62
Valken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Amiga
Posts: 237
I deleted the IMAGE and recreated the VMware. I fixed it by the following:

Select OTHER, not Windows or Linux. If I chose those two with USB drivers, it would hang on while booting into the AROS ISO image.

I noticed my previous image set the HD to 3 for some reason.

With a new VMWare instance, it was set back to HD0.

Then NAT settings work.

I am hosting on Windows 7 x64 Pro.

Now the next step is share my Windows WinUAE folders to AROS. How do I do this?

Lastly, I want to map the AROS temp or RAM: folder to my PC RAM drive as well.
Valken is online now  
Old 22 February 2020, 17:50   #63
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,403
Yes o forgot to mention it, in fact you have to choose "Select OTHER" otherwise the audio doesn't work either.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 22 February 2020 at 17:58.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 23 February 2020, 11:00   #64
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,403
Replaced the ISO, fixed problem on OWB that had a flicker problem due to Zune setting

Fixed also problem on "DigiClock" application that on VirtualBox required the P: Disk
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 26 February 2020, 14:43   #65
amigang
Registered User
amigang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: wrenbury
Posts: 79
Just asking is this now what afa is called now or are they separate project?
amigang is offline  
Old 26 February 2020, 19:36   #66
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,403
No AfA One was an OS3.9-based Distro of mine that I currently suspended, this one:


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qvG...u8PVc--nL/view
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 February 2020, 14:24   #67
Valken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Amiga
Posts: 237
AmigaSystem - I wanted to ask you a few questions:

Can you port your themes into Icaros? The only reason I ask is that they have an PC Bridge that I would like to see in your builds. Or can you port that into your AROS ONE X86 distribution or as an addon?

Second question:

How do I setup a "share" folder or drive between AROS and my host PC running VMWare? I hate to have to "download" any files over to AROS to test it. I have WinUAE setup already with a PC folder, not hardfile, so I can throw files into the WinUAE HD as well.

Or any other users of AROS please let me know.

I love the fact that I can run PC, AmigaOS, MacOS (DamienD games) and AROS all in one system just switching between them like apps. Now if can just add Atari ST and X86 seamless, that would be amazing.
Valken is online now  
Old 27 February 2020, 14:41   #68
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valken View Post
MacOS (DamienD games)
You Boot Camp your MAC or use Wine for my collection?
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 February 2020, 21:25   #69
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valken View Post
AmigaSystem - I wanted to ask you a few questions:

Can you port your themes into Icaros? The only reason I ask is that they have an PC Bridge that I would like to see in your builds. Or can you port that into your AROS ONE X86 distribution or as an addon?
If you are referring to the Amiga emulation you can find it in Extras:Emulator

JanusUAE + WHD MENU
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1W7s...eD3MwGDNs/view

Quote:
Second question:

How do I setup a "share" folder or drive between AROS and my host PC running VMWare? I hate to have to "download" any files over to AROS to test it. I have WinUAE setup already with a PC folder, not hardfile, so I can throw files into the WinUAE HD as well.
With VMVare the folder sharing with AROS with PC does not work, I use MemoriCard and PenDrive formatted in FAT32, see screnshot


Quote:
I love the fact that I can run PC, AmigaOS, MacOS (DamienD games) and AROS all in one system just switching between them like apps. Now if can just add Atari ST and X86 seamless, that would be amazing.
In Extras:Emulator there are all the Emulators available for AROS x86
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Emulator.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	217.7 KB
ID:	66321  

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 27 February 2020 at 21:34.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 28 February 2020, 13:48   #70
Valken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Amiga
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
You Boot Camp your MAC or use Wine for my collection?
Sorry DamienD, I meant I can play Mac Games with your collection!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
If you are referring to the Amiga emulation you can find it in Extras:Emulator

JanusUAE + WHD MENU
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1W7s...eD3MwGDNs/view
Thank you but I actually meant the PC Hostbridge:

https://vmwaros.blogspot.com/p/hostbridge.html

Can this be enabled on your build or is this an Icaros exclusive feature?

Quote:
With VMVare the folder sharing with AROS with PC does not work, I use MemoriCard and PenDrive formatted in FAT32, see screnshot
So I would need to "move" my current "shared" PC and WinUAE "games" folders to a USB device, then mount that into VMWare to show up?

I wonder can I just symlink all the folders + files onto a blank USB SDCARD with FAT32 filesystem, then "mount" it in VMWare?

That would be a lot of drives as FAT32 has a 32GB limit.

Quote:
In Extras:Emulator there are all the Emulators available for AROS x86
Thank you for the direction! Cheers!

I love your AROS One X86. It is incredibly snappy even under VMWare. It feels so fast, even faster than Windows 7 Pro with the Windows Classic theme.
Valken is online now  
Old 28 February 2020, 13:51   #71
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valken View Post
Sorry DamienD, I meant I can play Mac Games with your collection!
Ah, gotcha
DamienD is offline  
Old 01 March 2020, 01:15   #72
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valken View Post
Thank you but I actually meant the PC Hostbridge:
Can this be enabled on your build or is this an Icaros exclusive feature?
I don't like host systems

Quote:
So I would need to "move" my current "shared" PC and WinUAE "games" folders to a USB device, then mount that into VMWare to show up?
Mounted can be automatic or manual (see video)

Quote:
I wonder can I just symlink all the folders + files onto a blank USB SDCARD with FAT32 filesystem, then "mount" it in VMWare?

That would be a lot of drives as FAT32 has a 32GB limit.
Even if NTFS is not active it can be added (see video)

Quote:
Thank you for the direction! Cheers!

I love your AROS One X86. It is incredibly snappy even under VMWare. It feels so fast, even faster than Windows 7 Pro with the Windows Classic theme.
Thank you for trying it


If when you enlarge the windows with icons known graphic artifacts, I attach a Fix for Zune, you must delete the old Zune folder in the path SYS:Prefs/Env-Archive/Zune and replace it with the one attached:

Zune Setting: Download

Tutorial Video: Mount Pendrive FAT32 e NTFS

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 01 March 2020 at 01:22.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Amiga x86 lelezetec Amiga scene 9 Yesterday 17:09
Amiga x86 Cerberus73 project.EAB 28 08 March 2020 14:11
AROS: Stable AROS ABI_V0-20161228 AMIGASYSTEM News 19 06 January 2017 00:06
x86 VS 64-bit? jb2815 support.WinUAE 1 11 July 2016 14:12
New Video of my Aros 68k distribution "Aros Vision" OlafSch Amiga scene 26 16 February 2016 11:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08561 seconds with 15 queries