English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 March 2008, 10:34   #1
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 35
Posts: 2,731
Is there a way to run a game with quitkey disabled?

Title says it all really.
MethodGit is offline  
Old 29 March 2008, 10:56   #2
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 11,059
Just out of interest why do you want to do that? You could try setting the NoVBRMove tooltype as that's supposed to disable it though I've never tried it myself.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 29 March 2008, 11:00   #3
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 35
Posts: 2,731
I'm trying to make a PSPUAE savestate thingy where save it just before it's supposed to start, like with the many savestates they have for download.


I've tried some of their savestates and I'm led to believe they've disabled the quitkey on many of them, so there must be a way haha. Wouldn't NoVBRMove affect the gameplay somehow though?
MethodGit is offline  
Old 29 March 2008, 12:19   #4
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,160
Why not just set a tooltype for quitkey to a value that doesn't exist?
Codetapper is offline  
Old 29 March 2008, 14:16   #5
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by MethodGit View Post
I'm trying to make a PSPUAE savestate thingy where save it just before it's supposed to start, like with the many savestates they have for download.


I've tried some of their savestates and I'm led to believe they've disabled the quitkey on many of them, so there must be a way haha. Wouldn't NoVBRMove affect the gameplay somehow though?

i dont know why you dont ask about this on www.pspuae.com - where the people who make them (like myself) could answer you much quicker.

most dont have quitkeys because the configs are set to 68000 . This is why on occasion i've request slave updates that -do- support 68000 quitkeys, as this allows for multiple games on one save-state with a GUI to link them.

NOVBRMOVE is what i would also use if i was wanting to deliberately disable the quitkey... and no, why would that affect gameplay?


I hope you are planning on submitting any save-states you make to the site, and not just keeping them to yourself
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 29 March 2008, 18:46   #6
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 35
Posts: 2,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
NOVBRMOVE is what i would also use if i was wanting to deliberately disable the quitkey... and no, why would that affect gameplay?
Sorry, I just thought moving vector tables would affect something in the game you're playing somehow. I'm not very knowledgeable on how everything works.


Quote:
I hope you are planning on submitting any save-states you make to the site, and not just keeping them to yourself
Well I do wish to contribute Pang to your site if all goes well. I just have to spend time working out the best configuration for the game as I don't wish to give people a package that'll only end up working like crap on their side...
MethodGit is offline  
Old 29 March 2008, 19:02   #7
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,486
yuo will probably find this post of interest:

http://pspuae.condor.serverpro3.com/...0.html#msg5540
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 29 March 2008, 19:25   #8
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 35
Posts: 2,731
Thanks for that. A couple of questions though....

1) Why specifically Kick 3.0? Am I supposed to use this even with KS1.3-era games that consist of data files and are quite runnable without WHDLoad?
2) Are you sure OCS and KS3.0 go together well? What about ECS?
MethodGit is offline  
Old 29 March 2008, 19:36   #9
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,486
1) the kickstart 3.0 option is to make it as easy as possible for all the site users. Since all whdload games work with it, and there are far less "pitfalls" with regards to working kickstart 3.1 roms, (there has been confusion with different people using different kick3.1 roms previously) it was decided this was the best option for all.

if you are using an original kickstart 1.3 game, with its own HD installer (non-whd) - then yes, use kick1.3 - it is mentioned in the guide on the front page that all the states use either of these two roms. (since kick 1.3 is a requirement of running the emulator, all users only need to obtain the kick3.0 rom)...... mostly however, if the game is small enough i use whdload anyway, rather than original installs. I like the extra stabilty / functions / fixes etc that it offers, and the safe knowledge that compared to crack versions for 1.3 HD, it will be well tested and very likely bug-free.

2) kick 3.0 and OCS go together fine.... look at all the games we've already installed!!

use ECS only if you have to to make the game run. OCS is generally used since the PSPUAE auto-zoom option does not work with ECS. I've yet to actually find any game requiring ECS as well.
Hungry Horace is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
global quitkey Thalion project.WHDLoad 23 28 December 2014 02:05
Quitkey setup for dummies? TroelsDK project.WHDLoad 5 03 July 2013 13:38
Changing the Quitkey option Jherek Carnelia project.WHDLoad 2 29 June 2008 23:42
Quitkey in WHDload killergorilla support.Games 2 05 April 2004 19:16
Quitkey in WHDLoad Locash support.Apps 4 26 October 2003 18:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06989 seconds with 13 queries