English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

Old 05 July 2010, 06:07   #1
Limbo

WHDLoad newbie questions

Hi Everyone,

I am just returning back to my real Amiga after an absence of a few years.

My only claim to (Amiga) fame is that when I cleared out the majority of my original Amiga games I helped out ‘HOL’ by scanning Box Covers and Amiga Disks that were missing from their database. I think I managed about 40 or so.

I have since dusted off my Amiga 1200 and Amiga 600 and have tried to update them as best I could.

My Amiga 1200 has:
3.1 Roms and 3.1 Workbench (with Magic Workbench 2.0)
2MB Chip Ram + 8MB Fast Ram
3.2 GB Hard Drive

Amiga 600 has:
2.05 (37.350) Rom and 2.1 Workbench (with Magic Workbench 2.0)
A603 1MB Ram Expansion
2MB SRAM PCMCIA Card
1GB CF Hard Drive

I had only played games by floppy up until now so I was a complete newbie to WHDLoad, but after consulting the EAB forums I did manage to successfully install WHDLoad, a great program which I duly registered, so thanks Bert Wepl.
I also downloaded the awesome KGWHDL game packs, so thank you very much ‘killergorilla’.

I just have a couple of newbie questions relating to WHDLoad.

1. I’m having trouble viewing the game icons, all I see is the white dot where the Icon should be. I read in other posts that I need ‘NewIcons’, where can I find this download? I don’t have access to the The Zone so I tried Aminet but there are hundreds of downloads relating to ‘NewIcons’.

2. On my Amiga 600 there is no ‘MultiView’ just ‘More’. Is ‘MultiView’ an Amiga 1200 program or can I install it on my A600 as well. In the forums I read that some Amiga 600 owners have suggested that upgrading to a 3.1 Rom and Workbench is the way to go.

Thanks again to everyone for such a great Amiga meeting and problem solving forum!

Regards,
Limbo.

Last edited by Limbo; 08 July 2010 at 09:26.

Old 05 July 2010, 06:32   #2
Redwood

Hi Limbo,