English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 March 2016, 15:30   #1
hicks
 
Posts: n/a
Question F11/F12 With Steam Controller

I've setup fs-uae to run from Steam with suitable Steam Controller binds to navigate the launcher and games, there's just one issue I've run into.

Pressing F11 or F12 will bring up the fs-uae menu to change disks etc whilst in-game, however, when F11 or F12 is bound on the Steam Controller, the menu does not appear, instead the game "zoom" changes. Pressing F11 or F12 directly on the keyboard does however bring up the menu.

All other key presses the Steam Controller has bound, for example F12+q for quitting the emulator work fine.

I'm running fs-uae version 2.6.2 on Debian Jessie.

Is there something fs-uae does specifically for handling bringing up the menu that causes the F11 or F12 the Steam Controller sends to be missed?

Thanks.
 
Old 09 March 2016, 21:02   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
F11 should not bring up the FS-UAE menu, it should only change the zoom. Sounds weird that pressing F11 on your keyboard should open the menu with FS-UAE 2.6.2...

Only the F12 key opens the menu. Note that the menu is opened when the F12 key is *released*, and only if no other key presses have occurred since the F12 key was pressed.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 09 March 2016, 22:10   #3
hicks
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
F11 should not bring up the FS-UAE menu
Just tested and F11 does just change the zoom only. I must have confused myself after reading through various forum posts and seeing one talking about both F11 and F12 doing so. Late night I guess Either way, F12 pressed on the keyboard brings up the menu, but F12 bound to a Steam Controller does not.

Quote:
Note that the menu is opened when the F12 key is *released*, and only if no other key presses have occurred since the F12 key was pressed.
I'm assuming the controller is passing only the F12 key, but can't be certain. It does however work fine for all the other single and multi-key binds such as F12+q.

Any suggestions for how I could check that F12 is reaching fs-uae or why it may be cycling the zoom instead of bringing up the menu?

Last edited by hicks; 09 March 2016 at 22:16.
 
Old 09 March 2016, 22:23   #4
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Do you know how to set environment variables? If you set FS_DEBUG_INPUT = 1, you'll get keypress/releases logged to the FS-UAE log file. Alternatively, with the latest dev versions, there is an option in FS-UAE Launcher settings to enable this as well.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 10 March 2016, 01:23   #5
hicks
 
Posts: n/a
Here's a snippet of the uae.log after sending G.

Code:
SDL key sym 103 mod 0 scancode 10 state 0 repeat 0
- key code set to 103 (was 103) based on scancode 10
--> key_code 103 key_mod 0 state 0: "G"
  = press (index 103) => input event 164
amiga_send_input_event 164 0
Next I used the Steam Controller to send F12 a couple of times

Code:
SDL key sym 1073741892 mod 0 scancode 68 state 1 repeat 0
- key code set to 292 (was 1073741892) based on scancode 68
SDL key sym 1073741892 mod 0 scancode 68 state 0 repeat 0
- key code set to 292 (was 1073741892) based on scancode 68
Zoom: Full Frame
SDL key sym 1073741892 mod 0 scancode 68 state 1 repeat 0
- key code set to 292 (was 1073741892) based on scancode 68
SDL key sym 1073741892 mod 0 scancode 68 state 0 repeat 0
- key code set to 292 (was 1073741892) based on scancode 68
Zoom: 724x566
Then tried F12 on the keyboard itself

Code:
SDL key sym 1073741893 mod 0 scancode 69 state 1 repeat 0
- key code set to 293 (was 1073741893) based on scancode 69
SDL key sym 1073741893 mod 0 scancode 69 state 0 repeat 0
- key code set to 293 (was 1073741893) based on scancode 69
fs_emu_menu_toggle
update_main_menu
floppy in 0: /tmp/fs-uae-63e1p9xw/Disk 1.adf
update_main_menu
floppy in 0: /tmp/fs-uae-63e1p9xw/Disk 1.adf
and finally tried sending F12+q from the Steam Controller

Code:
SDL key sym 1073741892 mod 0 scancode 68 state 1 repeat 0
- key code set to 292 (was 1073741892) based on scancode 68
SDL key sym 113 mod 0 scancode 20 state 1 repeat 0
- key code set to 113 (was 113) based on scancode 20
fs_ml_quit called
libfsemu on_quit: no quit function
calling amiga_quit
uae_quit
From the F12 and F12+q entries it appears to be receiving 1073741892 for the key sym which sdl lists as F11. The actual keyboard press log entry shows 1073741893 which is F12.

Perhaps this is a bug with the Steam Controller for this one key. I'll take a look into that, thanks for the help.
 
Old 11 March 2016, 22:00   #6
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Yes, it does infact look like FS-UAE gets an F11 keypress and not F12. FS-UAE uses the scancode though, but this too is wrong (68 from the controller, should be 69).

BTW: F12+q simply appears to work because FS-UAE also accepts F11+q as an alternative combination! It is actually F11+q you are sending to FS-UAE...
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 11 March 2016, 22:04   #7
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Btw, with the latest dev versions you can also add the following to advanced settings:
Code:
keyboard_key_f11 = action_menu
FrodeSolheim is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I remap key F11 to END+PrintScreen? MrSnrub support.WinUAE 3 20 September 2015 18:29
Remap F10 and F11 keys desdrl support.WinUAE 1 20 November 2011 16:16
F12 to F13 cosmicfrog support.WinUAE 11 29 March 2009 16:19
I now cant graf WinUAE screen with F11...?!?!? trodas support.WinUAE 7 16 February 2003 20:49
F11 (Screenshot Dumper) Won't Work CodyJarrett support.WinUAE 4 19 November 2002 12:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:47.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.22518 seconds with 13 queries