English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 May 2010, 03:41   #1
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Commodore 64 D64/D81 image creator for Amiga?

I finally made my Easy 1541 cable and I am happily mounting CBM IEC drives in my Amiga as if they were system disks!

File transfer is easy but I have a problem with this method: I don't know how to make D64 or D81 (or any other type of disk file) with this system.

Would any disk imager, like those used for ADF Amiga disk images, work to make D64 images?

Can anybody help or am I being way too oldschool using this? xD

Thanks in advance!
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 May 2010, 04:37   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I knew I was missing something, there are tools for making D64 files!

This led me to a new problem: I have two GEOS work disks that I want imaged, but it seems the D64 is not good enough. Is there any solution in the Amiga to make a G64 or D81 file?

I really want to back up these disks, they contain my first ventures into computer generated imagery!! I MUST back them up before it's too late!
Akira is offline  
Old 18 May 2010, 04:43   #3
spoUP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 331
i use arc64.
spoUP is offline  
Old 18 May 2010, 04:47   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Hm
Quote:
Archive processor to list and extract files from P00, T64,
Arkive, D64, D81, ZipCode and Lynx archives.

Capable to convert between D64 and ZipCode and to extract
P00, T64, Arkive & Lynx directly into a D64/ZipCode image.
thanks Spot, very interesting! Unfortunately that's not what I need, I need a program that reads a disk on a drive connected through the Easy 1541 cable and makes it into a G64 or D81 image, whatever is apropriate to create GEOS disks.
Akira is offline  
Old 18 May 2010, 09:51   #5
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,894
Easy1541 always worked fine for me.
StingRay is offline  
Old 18 May 2010, 13:30   #6
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Easy1541 always worked fine for me.
From the docs:
"Easy1541 is designed to provide EASY access to the Commodore 1541 drive (and compatibles) to manage old 5.25" disks formatted using standard CBM DOS 2.6 filesystem."

I suppose this is not what Akira wants...
Supamax is offline  
Old 18 May 2010, 13:32   #7
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,894
Eh? I have used this in the past to create D64 images...

Edit: Ok, I missed his second post. I don't think there are tools to backup the GEOS disks. At least I don't know any.
StingRay is offline  
Old 18 May 2010, 16:28   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
It's a workdisk. It can be backed up. I do not want to backup the original disks. Those have been all over the internet for a while.

I think the mistake is within the Easy1541 mountfile. It seems like it is made for single sided 1541 disk images. These disks are surely double sided 1571 disks.

I bet that if I change the mountfile they would be properly converted, however, maybe the software that converts the disks to D64 will only read until the first side of the disk then stop, giving me a faulty image.

Are there really no other options for better imaging of disks in the Amiga?
Akira is offline  
Old 19 May 2010, 08:34   #9
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 583
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
Just to say easy1541 cable isn't very safe. I lost two drives whilst being connected (before i also realised waiting 10 mins for a disk is too long!). It's much safer (and more functional) to use an old pc for the job. I know others have used them without problems but anyway.
BuZz is offline  
Old 20 May 2010, 00:50   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
How can it kill a diskdrive? LEt me know before I bust my old trusty 1571

I cannot afford the space to have a shit old PC around nor the money to buy an XU1541. This will have to do for now
Akira is offline  
Old 20 May 2010, 01:16   #11
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 583
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
Dunno - I'm no electronics expert. They both just died whilst connected. There was no short. Perhaps the voltages on the signal lines etc are not fully compatible or something like that ? But I note that most other cables don't wire directly though, and the frodo one certainly has some additional circuitry.
BuZz is offline  
Old 13 December 2012, 00:27   #12
Vicky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tempe Arizona USA
Posts: 112
I have the cable and software and all the utilities work fine EXCEPT the formatting a disk and writing to disk. I can't figure it out.
Vicky is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Item image Trip-A-Tron Amiga Commodore VJ Software XDelusion request.Apps 11 06 August 2011 22:12
D64 Dizzy Games Steve Retrogaming General Discussion 2 16 May 2010 18:26
MMC64 problems with .D64 Reader! - Please Help ME! D4Ni3L3 support.Other 4 09 June 2008 09:46
Multi-session CD image editor/creator Medvind request.Apps 0 27 June 2004 19:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07204 seconds with 13 queries