English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 January 2019, 23:48   #1
MartinW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 349
Amiberry Expectations

I spent the day yesterday playing with Amiberry on my RP2. I have to say, while I didn't get very far I was quite impressed with what I saw, it was quite slick.

I had no idea how to get anything newer than 2.18 (I think it was) which was bundled with the "distro download" version and seems to be a bit behind.

Before I go mad with this, what can I expect? My RP2 has always had a graphics problem so I could do with getting a new one which will of course be RP3+. Will it cope with A1200 + RTG? Or is that asking too much of the RP3? I am assuming that I didn't see RTG in the config because my version is quite old. I see RTG mentioned in various places but it looks like the main Amiberry place is Facebook and I'm no longer on there.

Whilst really I prefer the real machines, I was kind of hoping that I might be able to use it on my desk here to do some stuff.
MartinW is online now  
Old 21 February 2019, 01:01   #2
Feo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6
Hello Martin,
I am on the same boat as you. I hope you do not mind me commenting here. I hope we can get some experienced users to share some feedback/experiences.
I got as far as installing it and making it emulate an A1200 with a 68020 (I believe). I believe I also have Workbench 2.x. I would love to learn how to get a hi-res desktop like I have seen on some screenshots. Is that what you are calling 'RTG'? But I am not sure what to do next. Also how do we get to being able to have a working web browser?
What are you hoping to be able to do with yours? In my case some graphic design.
Feo is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 01:22   #3
MartinW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 349
Ah, I didn't comment further since the thread did not get any replies but I went a whole lot further with this!!

First of all, by RTG, yes, I mean a hi-res desktop. I think 1280 x 720 worked best for me. It is technically RTG (because it is using an emulated graphics card, like a Picasso card but instead a 'UAE' card).

I will look up where I got to a bit later in the week (too many things on the go at once again!). I visited a friend that has a company selling kit that uses Raspberry Pi and optionally Tinker Board so while I was there I bought both a RPi 3 and a Tinker Board S. I know the Pi3 worked extremely well indeed but i think i had to build the latest code from GitHub for Amiberry (surprisingly quick and easy). I then wanted to try the TinkerBoard and i think i got stuck there but I don't recall why or what I was about to do to it.

I need to get back to it.

Oh, getting online should just be a case of installing a browser if Amiberry implements the bsdsocket library the same as WinUAE. I don't know if I got that far or not.

As for what I will do with it? Don't know yet! As usual.
MartinW is online now  
Old 21 February 2019, 17:09   #4
jayminer
Registered User

jayminer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Umeå / Sweden
Posts: 208
From what I have tried I'd say the speed on a RPi3B+ is somewhere between a 68030 and 68040, but it's hard to measure. I mostly used RTG stuff so it might be slower if it has to emulate AGA or OCS/ECS.

bsdsocket-emulation works just fine!
jayminer is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 19:24   #5
Feo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6
I was able to get a hard drive configured yesterday. I was not able to figure out how to save that configuration so that it would 'stick' I seem to have to assign the hard drive file every time before I start the emulator. I don't have a web browser or a way to see external data inside the emulator, so I don't know how to get programs loaded yet. I want to get an unzip, a program to decompress lha files and some type of web browser and ftp client. Sysinfo also would be nice to be able to tell if I am actually emulating a 68030 or a 68040. All this so that I can get to the point where I can load LW Modeler! I am spending a lot of time going in circles but learning as I attempt things.
Feo is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 23:59   #6
MartinW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 349
Ahhh. OK i can see the dilemma! And I cheated (sort of)

I just took my fully up and running UAE config from my PC, which happened to be FS-UAE for Mac and copied it to a USB stick, then onto the Pi. So everything was there from the outset. But if I open a web browser in Amiga on the Pi I just get told that a TCP/IP stack must be active so I must be missing something since bsdsocket emulation is enabled.

I verified where I had got to last night:

DietPi as OS. No optional software (even though Amiberry is available)
Downloaded source for SDL2 and built as per the Amiberry site instructions
Same for Amiberry itself so I have the latest version.

It worked fine.

The results were that performance was fine on Raspberry Pi 3+, I achieve what seems to be a sollid 60FPS at the desktop, 1024x768. Not sure how many colours without looking and then if I play a game such as Worthy I get a constant 50fps with no frame skipping. I'd call that pretty good. CPU is showing around 80% most of the time.

The Asus Tinkerboard is doing something a little strange. The cpu is much less stressed - around 25% to 30% but for some reason it is constantly varying around 58, 59, 60 or 61fps (and likewise 48, 49, 50, 51 for PAL games) rather than locking on to 60 (or 50) and this gives it a much less fluid feel which is a shame as it would be really nice to use the tinkerboard with a switch fitted to flip between Amiberry on internal storage and general Linux on an SD card.

I may re-visit and have another go since I skipped the compiling of the Mali drivers. It didn't complain so I figured it was fine but maybe this is what is up?

I also need to change my install as it is based on UAE folders so I see a tonne of 'uae' files in AmigaOS which is crap really. I need to switch to using hardfiles. But to effectively do that I need to get TCP/IP working so I can easily get things on and off.
MartinW is online now  
Old 22 February 2019, 15:13   #7
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 46
Posts: 2,566
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayminer View Post
From what I have tried I'd say the speed on a RPi3B+ is somewhere between a 68030 and 68040, but it's hard to measure. I mostly used RTG stuff so it might be slower if it has to emulate AGA or OCS/ECS.

bsdsocket-emulation works just fine!
Amiga on RPi is much faster, here is video with RPi 3 (not plus) describing speed test. Only slower is MFlops.

[ Show youtube player ]

He tested it and it outperforms at least twice his 68060.

Last edited by Anubis; 22 February 2019 at 17:58.
Anubis is offline  
Old 23 February 2019, 10:19   #8
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 55
After being outbid 8 times on A500`s on ebay I Managed to get one for £80 "sold as powers up"....any way...tried it and get a Green screen "chipram error" so ive saved it as a later project....Anyway bought myself a Pi3 to try.....downloaded and installed the Image and powered up Rasbian......took some setting up as i was a noobe so i used a Winuae HDF i have....now i have RTG 040 super fast amiga....Well Any amiga i want now....so the plan is....

1...take out the A500 mobo(make it into wall art by putting it in a frame)
2...Fit the Pi3 intot the A500 case
3...Use a A500 to USB keybored addapter

Im on Facebook if u need any more "help" ;-)
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 04 March 2019, 23:25   #9
falken
Registered User
falken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 28
Is there a thread that talks about Amiberry for Android?
falken is offline  
Old 05 March 2019, 13:02   #10
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,203
Sorry for offtopic but maybe someone can help. I've installed Amiberry under RetroPie under Raspbian. When I start a WHDLoad game (.lha) a DOS window appears saying "WHDLoad: unknown command". So I think it isn't found. WHDLoad is located here: /opt/retropie/emulators/amiberry/whdboot-dist/WHDLoad. How can I fix it?
daxb is offline  
Old 05 March 2019, 14:08   #11
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by falken View Post
Is there a thread that talks about Amiberry for Android?
No it's not released yet. You can follow Amiberry via Facebook for updates on the Android port.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 05 March 2019, 14:30   #12
falken
Registered User
falken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
No it's not released yet. You can follow Amiberry via Facebook for updates on the Android port.
I'll do that!
falken is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB on Amiberry (Retropie) NeonBible support.OtherUAE 2 22 December 2018 03:29
Custom controls on Amiberry?? Akira support.OtherUAE 29 09 November 2018 19:49
Amiberry on S905 boxes Mark36 support.OtherUAE 0 01 October 2018 09:43
Autofire in uae4arm/Amiberry cakeisaliegamin support.OtherUAE 5 02 June 2018 14:16
Amiberry/UAE4ARM - WHDLoad Turrican II Crash? ransom1122 support.OtherUAE 1 06 May 2017 07:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08098 seconds with 14 queries