English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 November 2019, 23:05   #961
brett71
Registered User

brett71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
got my ROMS and disks from them not too long ago for both my 1200 & 4000 with no issues
How long ago was this? Like I said, I can't find 3.1.4 offered on their site anywhere.
brett71 is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 09:37   #962
acerRI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 10
You can buy digital version on Hyperion site, but you need to burn eprom and put adf files to floppy disks.
I cannot also see on Amiga On The Lake version 3.1.4, you can maybe sent them email?
acerRI is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 10:59   #963
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 35
Posts: 1,419
Hi I just read the amiga.org OS 3.1.4 bug list. Has the boot menu been fixed so that the amiga can now boot in 31khz Workbench mode instead of 15khz?!? I could not find that mentioned on the 12 pages and the hyperion site.

Thanks

Last edited by redblade; 26 November 2019 at 11:04.
redblade is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 13:34   #964
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by redblade View Post
Has the boot menu been fixed so that the amiga can now boot in 31khz Workbench mode instead of 15khz?!?
I haven't tested it, but that feature is definitely there. There's text on the early startup menu that tells you what to do, IIRC it's pressing Enter to enable 31kHz modes.

That's a feature that was already there in 3.9, and one I made a lot of use of over the years.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 13:44   #965
ItsTheSmell
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Ferry
Posts: 223
The amiga can boot to 31Khz mode? I assume it needs extra equipment?
ItsTheSmell is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 14:08   #966
coder76
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsTheSmell View Post
The amiga can boot to 31Khz mode? I assume it needs extra equipment?

Well, ECS/AGA chipset is needed, but those modes are not too useful on ECS, since it still runs with OCS graphics bandwidth. Good to hear that it has been fixed in 3.1.4.
coder76 is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 14:22   #967
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,446
Yeah, that's system-friendly stuff only, so won't help with games that hit the hardware directly (i.e. most of them). Essentially it's just including the DblPAL and DblNTSC monitor drivers in Kickstart, so you have the option to start with them.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 20:49   #968
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 35
Posts: 1,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Yeah, that's system-friendly stuff only, so won't help with games that hit the hardware directly (i.e. most of them). Essentially it's just including the DblPAL and DblNTSC monitor drivers in Kickstart, so you have the option to start with them.
I thought only Productivity 640x240, 640x480 reaches 31khz? It's a shame this wasn't fixed on Kick3.1 (1993). I read the old comp.sys.amiga.advocacy and some guy slammed the A4000 because of it (link was on wikipedia multisync monitors page)

I thought they would of just patched the copperlist instead of load the whole monitor code in ROM. Good to know
redblade is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 23:05   #969
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,446
DblPAL and DblNTSC do the high frequencies too, and give appropriate resolutions (640x512 and 640x400 respectively). It wasn't really a thing to be "fixed", the Amiga hardware wasn't originally designed to do that, so any software that wanted to use the original hardware would override any new copper lists. The 3000 included a hardware workaround that was expensive to produce, and therefore was dropped from the 4000, along with SCSI, but that was the only way to have all screenmodes (including games) available at 31kHz. The monitor drivers are essentially a system-friendly way of modifying the copper lists, but the 3.1 ROMs were already full. Those drivers could still be loaded at boot time of course, so the only real advantage of having them in ROM was if there were problems with the system or you needed the early startup menu.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 04:37   #970
Zippy Zapp
Registered User

Zippy Zapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: CA/USA
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by brett71 View Post
How long ago was this? Like I said, I can't find 3.1.4 offered on their site anywhere.
I would send an email to them. When I look at my order history for OS 3.1.4 it shows this:
Unfortunately this product is no longer for sale so it cannot be reordered.

Could it have anything to do with the legal battle with Cloanto?
Zippy Zapp is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 09:15   #971
Ami
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 99
Is OS3.2 going to be free update or not?

P.S. I don't mind paying for it.
Ami is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 09:58   #972
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 41
Posts: 2,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ami View Post
Is OS3.2 going to be free update or not?

P.S. I don't mind paying for it.
Hi Ami,

AmigaOS 3.2 is a new version that comes with new features.

It will not be free for 3.1.4 owners as far as I know.
gulliver is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 12:10   #973
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
It will not be free for 3.1.4 owners as far as I know.
No problem, it's ok if 3.2 comes for free for all other Amiga users.
PeterK is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 12:16   #974
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 41
Posts: 2,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
No problem, it's ok if 3.2 comes for free for all other Amiga users.
gulliver is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 10:47   #975
scu98rkr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Twyford
Posts: 81
Hi will 3.2 have its own ROMs ? Thinking about buying 3.1.4 + roms. But would prefer to wait if 3.2 comes with ROMs ? Any ideas on release date ?

Thanks Roger
scu98rkr is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 14:25   #976
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by scu98rkr View Post
Hi will 3.2 have its own ROMs ?
Yes.

Quote:
Any ideas on release date ?
None given so far.
Jope is offline  
Old 26 December 2019, 22:21   #977
tech3475
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 57
I'm starting to wonder if I should buy a chip reader/writer.
tech3475 is offline  
Old 27 December 2019, 01:02   #978
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 480
Or get a ROMulator
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 27 December 2019, 09:16   #979
aeberbach
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 133
The gglabs F2R16 is a very nice flexible thing - https://gglabs.us/node/2067

You need a programmer and an adapter to make it work but once you have it you can burn any ROM you like, no UV erasing.
aeberbach is offline  
Old 27 December 2019, 11:32   #980
tech3475
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by McTrinsic View Post
Or get a ROMulator
I have a 1200, afaik it only exists for the 500/600.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aeberbach View Post
The gglabs F2R16 is a very nice flexible thing - https://gglabs.us/node/2067

You need a programmer and an adapter to make it work but once you have it you can burn any ROM you like, no UV erasing.
Thanks, I’ll look into it.
tech3475 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would AmigaOS 3.9 be ok for me? stu232 support.Hardware 12 02 October 2013 19:20
AmigaOS 3.9 PoLoMoTo support.WinUAE 8 27 August 2011 19:06
AmigaOS 3.5 or 3.9 maddoc666 support.Apps 12 22 February 2010 09:02
AmigaOS koncool request.Apps 6 04 June 2003 18:45
AmigaOS XL sturme New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 15 January 2002 03:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10783 seconds with 14 queries