English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 February 2013, 22:47   #1
attila06
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nice / France
Posts: 196
Amiga Browser

Hello,

I would like to know if some of you are browsing the web with Netsurf, on their "classic" (amiga+graphic card) , which amiga and config they use and how does it run.

Thanks.
attila06 is online now  
Old 25 February 2013, 02:02   #2
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
Hehe. Good question. First time I use it (today) with my desktop A1200 BPPC&BVision and OS3.9. It doesn't go very fast, less than IBrowse of course, and ... I've got a DEEP YELLOW filter just opening it.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 25 February 2013, 06:11   #3
attila06
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nice / France
Posts: 196
Nice config Retrofan,

I asked this question to know if it's worth or not buying graphic card and others for networking with Netsurf ? (for an amigfan )
It doesn't go very fast with a PPC ...and you' ve got a yellow filter, hoping you will solve this problem.
Hold us informed.
attila06 is online now  
Old 25 February 2013, 12:58   #4
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 560
@Retrofan

Do you use 16bit?
It was broken but is fixed for the next version.
arti is offline  
Old 25 February 2013, 14:02   #5
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by arti View Post
@Retrofan

Do you use 16bit?
It was broken but is fixed for the next version.
No, this is with 24 bit. When and where can I try a new version?

Last edited by Retrofan; 25 February 2013 at 15:29.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 25 February 2013, 18:04   #6
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 560
I've created quickly a webpage for development builds:

http://ami-soft.blogspot.com/
arti is offline  
Old 25 February 2013, 21:54   #7
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
That's fast man!. I will try it and tell

Edit: It is yellow with 24bit and likes to hang (but right colors) with 16bit. I only could open Amigans; with EAB it hangs, and it wasn't hanging with the previous version (I didn't try 16bit).

Last edited by Retrofan; 25 February 2013 at 22:14.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 26 February 2013, 20:42   #8
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 560
24bit wasn't fixed only 16bit.

Can you run ns from shell with -v (enter ns folder) and send output ?

Edit: I updated exe with which I can browse this thread (couldn't before).

Last edited by arti; 26 February 2013 at 21:10.
arti is offline  
Old 26 February 2013, 22:54   #9
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by arti View Post
24bit wasn't fixed only 16bit.

Can you run ns from shell with -v (enter ns folder) and send output ?

Edit: I updated exe with which I can browse this thread (couldn't before).
Sorry I would preffer to use 24bit. It runs with 16bit now, but very slowly, and what ns folder, where?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 28 February 2013, 21:14   #10
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 560
ns means netsurf. Does it still crash on eab with new exe?
arti is offline  
Old 01 March 2013, 00:14   #11
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
The thing is that it works clicking on it with 24bit (yellow and slow). With 16bit it works clicking on it (the fast links I see with an screen 800x600), but introducing http://eab.abime.net/ doesn't work. Also, trying to use Del introduces a simbol instead, so I can only use the left arrow to delete. And from shell doesn't open any web with -v. This is the report with 16bit and -v:
Attached Files
File Type: zip NetsurfReport.zip (12.4 KB, 74 views)

Last edited by Retrofan; 01 March 2013 at 01:26.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 01 March 2013, 20:19   #12
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 560
Open shell, type cd "sys:internet/netsurf" or where you have netsurf installed.
Run netsurf -v, go to eab and then send report.
arti is offline  
Old 01 March 2013, 21:57   #13
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
Ok, yesterday I thought it coudn't open it, but it does after a time. I've came to this thread with Netsurf 16bit. Instead of introducing the address I've searched English Amiga Board with the Google search, and entered there.
BTW can't you do the same changes you did to use 24bit instead?

Attached the report, this saved as Styles instead of plain text. You can open it with wordpad.
Attached Files
File Type: zip NetsurfReportStyles.zip (12.9 KB, 78 views)

Last edited by Retrofan; 02 March 2013 at 01:39.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 01 March 2013, 23:34   #14
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 405
On my A4k, it stops right there:

Code:
netsurf -v
(0.000045) desktop/netsurf.c netsurf_init 158: version '3.0 (Dev)'
(0.018215) desktop/netsurf.c netsurf_init 165: NetSurf on <AmigaOS>, node <hamiller>, release <unknown>, version <45.57>, machine <m68k>
(0.035757) desktop/netsurf.c netsurf_init 167: Using 'PROGDIR:Resources/Options' for Options file
(0.081085) utils/messages.c messages_load 124: Loading Messages from 'PROGDIR:Resources/messages'
(0.196042) image/image_cache.c image_cache_init 380: Image cache initilised with a limit of 524288 hysteresis of 104857
(0.218796) content/fetchers/curl.c fetch_curl_register 167: curl_version libcurl/7.28.0 OpenSSL/1.0.0a zlib/1.2.7
(0.619308) utils/useragent.c user_agent_build_string 68: Built user agent "NetSurf/3.0 (AmigaOS)"
(0.632206) content/fetchers/curl.c fetch_curl_register 213: ca_bundle: 'PROGDIR:Resources/ca-bundle'
(0.642145) content/fetchers/curl.c fetch_curl_register 217: ca_path: 'PROGDIR:Resources/'
(0.655724) content/fetchers/curl.c fetch_curl_register 229: cURL linked against openssl
(0.665052) content/fetchers/curl.c fetch_curl_initialise 286: Initialise cURL fetcher for http
(0.677328) content/fetchers/curl.c fetch_curl_initialise 286: Initialise cURL fetcher for https
(0.686216) content/fetchers/data.c fetch_data_initialise 65: fetch_data_initialise called for data
(0.938036) content/llcache.c llcache_initialise 2287: llcache initialised with a limit of 1572864 bytes
(0.949496) amigaos3/gui.c process_cmdline 461: argc 1, argv 0x8ceb1c0
Unable to init SDL: Bug in BestCModeIDTags Found use 16 bit screen fallback 

(1.007066) framebuffer/framebuffer.c framebuffer_initialise 412: Unable to initialise nsfb surface
>

P96, Radeon 9200 - both 16 and 32bit modes are available.
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 02 March 2013, 02:22   #15
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
EAB takes an eternity to open. I've made a bad video with my mobile, and uploaded from it. Low quality though, but I'm using AmiKit with my BPPC/BVision:

[ Show youtube player ]
Retrofan is offline  
Old 06 March 2013, 12:58   #16
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 560
I've updated exe.
On WinUAE without JIT EAB loaded in 24 sec. Was about 40.
Is it faster on Amiga ?

http://ami-soft.blogspot.com/
arti is offline  
Old 06 March 2013, 15:31   #17
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
No, it isn't now with the new. . I don't know if 24 or 40, but it was very slow.

Last edited by Retrofan; 06 March 2013 at 17:55.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 07 April 2013, 22:30   #18
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 560
What about now. I used smaller sized fonts.
Can you post results ?
Loading time is on the down left corner.

Last edited by arti; 07 April 2013 at 22:44.
arti is offline  
Old 07 April 2013, 22:42   #19
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
Ups. I can't right now. I'm waiting for a new PSU. Surely somebody can

Surely it can be tried under emulation too, I should try.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 07 April 2013, 23:47   #20
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbob42 View Post
On my A4k, it stops right there:

Code:
netsurf -v
(0.000045) desktop/netsurf.c netsurf_init 158: version '3.0 (Dev)'
(0.018215) desktop/netsurf.c netsurf_init 165: NetSurf on <AmigaOS>, node <hamiller>, release <unknown>, version <45.57>, machine <m68k>
(0.035757) desktop/netsurf.c netsurf_init 167: Using 'PROGDIR:Resources/Options' for Options file
(0.081085) utils/messages.c messages_load 124: Loading Messages from 'PROGDIR:Resources/messages'
(0.196042) image/image_cache.c image_cache_init 380: Image cache initilised with a limit of 524288 hysteresis of 104857
(0.218796) content/fetchers/curl.c fetch_curl_register 167: curl_version libcurl/7.28.0 OpenSSL/1.0.0a zlib/1.2.7
(0.619308) utils/useragent.c user_agent_build_string 68: Built user agent "NetSurf/3.0 (AmigaOS)"
(0.632206) content/fetchers/curl.c fetch_curl_register 213: ca_bundle: 'PROGDIR:Resources/ca-bundle'
(0.642145) content/fetchers/curl.c fetch_curl_register 217: ca_path: 'PROGDIR:Resources/'
(0.655724) content/fetchers/curl.c fetch_curl_register 229: cURL linked against openssl
(0.665052) content/fetchers/curl.c fetch_curl_initialise 286: Initialise cURL fetcher for http
(0.677328) content/fetchers/curl.c fetch_curl_initialise 286: Initialise cURL fetcher for https
(0.686216) content/fetchers/data.c fetch_data_initialise 65: fetch_data_initialise called for data
(0.938036) content/llcache.c llcache_initialise 2287: llcache initialised with a limit of 1572864 bytes
(0.949496) amigaos3/gui.c process_cmdline 461: argc 1, argv 0x8ceb1c0
Unable to init SDL: Bug in BestCModeIDTags Found use 16 bit screen fallback 

(1.007066) framebuffer/framebuffer.c framebuffer_initialise 412: Unable to initialise nsfb surface
>

P96, Radeon 9200 - both 16 and 32bit modes are available.
Hm, looks like SDL doesn't like your card.
arti is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(2012) Using EAB with amiga browser ? RCK project.EAB 2 03 October 2012 01:12
new to OS 3.9, whdload, amiga web browser sovietconscript New to Emulation or Amiga scene 17 07 November 2009 07:47
New Amiga Web Browser Solid Snake Amiga scene 7 19 June 2006 16:04
WWW Browser for Amiga 1200 Picard request.Apps 5 20 February 2006 23:53
What is the best browser to use with an Amiga 68040+RTG? Tolismlf New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 20 November 2004 10:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10587 seconds with 14 queries