English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 June 2012, 02:32   #1
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,906
a600 classic workbench setup with ECS Indi and ACA630/30

Hi All,

I was just looking at this video by Gibs...

[ Show youtube player ]

I have an A600 i want to set up that has the ACA630/30 and indivision Mk1 and it is sooo slow compared to the one in the video. I haven't set up acatune and i am not even sure on what switches to use. The KS is 1.3/3.1 and it has 4gb CF card, classic workbench install, with the basic WHDload install. It doesn't display at anywhere near 1024 x 768 res etc and just appears to have default monitor drivers...
so what i'm hoping is ...

I know acatune command needs to go on first line in startup-sequence, but what switches should be used and what else should i do to get the most out of it. There are a lot of posts spread around but i can't find anything that has a lot of info in one dedicated thread.

Thanks
kipper2k is offline  
Old 10 June 2012, 06:26   #2
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 39
Posts: 825
My experience is the same as yours. Although I have the Viper 630, the card mounts a 40 MHz 68030+68882 and 4 mb ram. I got Indivision ECS, and tried installing the P96 driver for it in order to enable the chunky mode of the indivision card. It was a lot of trials and errors to figure out how to set it up, because you have to extensively research everything and figure out what to do with it.

So I downloaded and reflashed the indivision with core 1.10. Downloaded and installed MMULib (which works just fine, but by the way, slows down the 030 a bit which means that windows opening time is even slower). I installed P96 and copied the configuration for P96, latest indi.card, latest monitor driver and tried it all up.

The chunky mode does not seem to want to work on my hardware. Once opened, it takes anywhere between 45 seconds to over 2 minutes to initialize. More often than not, it presents a garbled screen output, but sometimes it's just black screen with a monitor sync.

I realize that this is all highly experimental, so one can't really expect it to be stable and usable at this point. So how does the A600 in the video achieve such a speed and responsiveness, especially running P96 in 1024x768? I have no clue. Even if the Aca630 were a lot faster than my Viper630, it shouldn't make THAT much difference, should it?

Regarding Indivision ECS, I find very little info with regards to its usage with the A600. In fact, there aren't even any official instructions on how to install it onto the 604 memory expansion. I figured it out by looking at the pic at amigakit.com. Jens is really busy designing (awesome) hardware so I guess it's very understandable that he doesn't have time to deal with all this. I think it would be wise to create some sort of a guide and post it online. In fact a lot of the new hardware is lacking info about its usage.

So maybe I could open a new subsection on my website just for that. It's mostly dead anyway, so at least to put it to some good use.
alenppc is offline  
Old 10 June 2012, 09:08   #3
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
check out the Superplus driver, 800x600 as this runs much faster than HighGFX 1024x768.

To use Superplus you will need the latest Indivision Core.

Have a read of mfilos' blog, we found that 800x600 in 8 colour was the best performance vs eye candy setup for the ACA/Indivision we only found decent performance in 16colour at 640x512 (high res laced) otherwise it just seemed too slow.

http://mfilos.blogspot.gr/2012/03/a6...rovements.html
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 10 June 2012, 13:22   #4
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
check out the Superplus driver, 800x600 as this runs much faster than HighGFX 1024x768.

To use Superplus you will need the latest Indivision Core.

Have a read of mfilos' blog, we found that 800x600 in 8 colour was the best performance vs eye candy setup for the ACA/Indivision we only found decent performance in 16colour at 640x512 (high res laced) otherwise it just seemed too slow.

http://mfilos.blogspot.gr/2012/03/a6...rovements.html
Thanks Steve.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 10 June 2012, 21:04   #5
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 41
Posts: 1,577
Yep Steve is right.
My ACA630@30 is really nice and responsive with MWB 8 colors instead of the awesome palette for 16 colors by Rebel.
On A1200's and AGA chipset the 16 colors are ultra nice but on ECS systems it's not enjoyable. I tested it on both 3.1 and 3.9 setups and system isn't as good as it would be.

Best resolution imho is either PAL 640x512@8 or SuperPlus 800x600@8 and you're set.
You can check a video that I made some time ago here:
[ Show youtube player ]
mfilos is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommend scene demos for ACA630 setup. Mendel support.Demos 4 04 August 2012 16:19
Wanted: ACA630 or Viper 630 for my A600 Trigger58 MarketPlace 0 05 January 2012 23:46
ACA630 Review (well, first impressions in my A600 portable) Photon Hardware mods 27 22 January 2011 18:06
my '1 inch drop technique' (indi ecs) lost_lemming support.Hardware 5 27 February 2010 20:29
Unable to setup Classic WB Dust90 project.ClassicWB 2 07 October 2008 02:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06380 seconds with 13 queries