English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 May 2008, 03:34   #1
Groundhog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 93
"Eye of Beholder 2" older slave

Would anybody share his old version (1.02a) of the WHDLoad slave for "Eye of Beholder 2" ?

There's no music in the char gen screen with the new one, and the improvements are minimal.

BTW I just discovered the new AGA versions of both games. I'm so happy ! And I'll be able to play in french ! Thanks to the authors !

Anyway I would still like to be able to run the old one on HD. Just to remember the old times.

Thank you in advance.

EDIT : Forget it. Thanks Retro-Nerd.

Last edited by Groundhog; 02 May 2008 at 17:07.
Groundhog is offline  
Old 02 May 2008, 17:15   #2
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 37
Posts: 2,485
Aga version rules, the automap is the best i think!!
kriz is offline  
Old 02 May 2008, 17:26   #3
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,875
But both AGA versions are still in WIP. I hope CFou! will find the time to finish this awesome packages someday.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 02 May 2008, 17:36   #4
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 37
Posts: 2,485
Yes, but still completeable..
kriz is offline  
Old 02 May 2008, 17:54   #5
Groundhog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 93
Are you sure the first one is still in WIP ?
Groundhog is offline  
Old 02 May 2008, 18:01   #6
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 40
Posts: 1,125
I have noticed some corrupt graphics in EOB 2 AGA,it's a pity after the HUGE work in the game have not been polished those small details
frikilokooo is offline  
Old 02 May 2008, 18:02   #7
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,941
He has a personal life, and is busy atm.. when he has some time i'm sure he'll return to his projects
BippyM is offline  
Old 02 May 2008, 21:17   #8
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 44
Posts: 5,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by frikilokooo View Post
I have noticed some corrupt graphics in EOB 2 AGA,it's a pity after the HUGE work in the game have not been polished those small details
uhm... i'm guessing here, but, have you tryed to disable Scalos, JIT and eventually set the cycle exact function on, if you are on winuae?
Marcuz is offline  
Old 03 May 2008, 02:09   #9
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 40
Posts: 1,125
...I will try it tomorrow,thanks Marco!
frikilokooo is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 18:47   #10
Groundhog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 93
Installed with WHDLoad, the games ask for an MMU compatible CPU. I'm currently installing games on an emulated 68020 for the best general compatibility. I could change the configuration to a 68030 or a 68040 but it would mean that I would have to recheck my installed games for a possible occuring exception.

Another thing that I could do is to change the configuration on the fly from the emulated machine (with uae-configuration, thanks to TheCyberDruid for pointing out), and then reset, and run a script at boot. This is currently what I'm doing for several old games. I have a bunch of scripts, not necessarily resetting, but fine tuning the config, mapping disk images, etc. to run the different games properly. Thanks to that, I can run everything from a Picasso config.

So, my question is : do the games really need the MMU ? Can I remove the MMU tooltype safely ?

If not, it would mean that I would have to change the config or to add a script with a reset, and I would like to limit this latter option to a minimum.
Groundhog is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 19:06   #11
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groundhog View Post
I could change the configuration to a 68030 or a 68040 but it would mean that I would have to recheck my installed games for a possible occuring exception.
Yes, in case of the 040, but 030 is almost perfectly compatible with anything WHDLoad related. At worst you'll just use some tooltypes - which is needed very rarely.
Shoonay is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 19:12   #12
Groundhog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 93
OK, thanks for this precision. Unfortunately, 1/3 of the games I installed don't have a WHDLoad patch (the major reason of all my scripting). So my question is still :

Do the games really need an MMU ?
Groundhog is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 19:20   #13
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groundhog View Post
1/3 of the games I installed don't have a WHDLoad patch
This can't be, there aren't that many unwhdified good games left
Shoonay is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 19:22   #14
Groundhog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 93
Hehe.

Well, I really am an old nostalgic gamer.
Groundhog is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 19:26   #15
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 40
Posts: 1,125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groundhog View Post

Do the games really need an MMU ?


I think that no,I can play EOB AGA in 68020 perfectly,it seems to me that the MMU is optional and I don't think that there are many games that need MMU.Anyway I use the EOB AGA HD version because the EOB AGA WHDLoad version needs a lot of memory.
frikilokooo is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 19:37   #16
Groundhog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 93
OK. Thank you very much.

BTW, how far did you go in this version of the game ?
Groundhog is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 19:48   #17
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 40
Posts: 1,125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groundhog View Post
OK. Thank you very much.

BTW, how far did you go in this version of the game ?
I'm not playing it,I have only tested the default savegame in my A1200(020)

In WinUAE it is more difficult to make it work as I commented more above
frikilokooo is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 22:52   #18
Groundhog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by frikilokooo View Post
I'm not playing it,I have only tested the default savegame in my A1200(020)
What are you waiting for ?
Groundhog is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 23:08   #19
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 40
Posts: 1,125
I finished to the original first part recently,I didn't know the AGA version
and the AGA second part I will play it soon
frikilokooo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"After The War" slave colour fixed, please test :) SyX project.WHDLoad 40 13 October 2012 12:09
Party Eye of the Beholder II from Amiga in Eye of the Beholder III on PC vrascio support.Games 20 16 August 2012 12:52
Last Ninja 2 tune "inspired" by an older tune, "Midnight in Tula" laffer Retrogaming General Discussion 7 27 March 2012 01:29
Glitchy horizontal lines in Vanish's "Monoxide" demo plus list of older reports Maren support.WinUAE 34 07 January 2011 13:53
Is there a way to "fix" an older g-rex1200 to have 2 DMA slots? keropi support.Hardware 12 24 May 2006 19:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10254 seconds with 13 queries