English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 March 2008, 23:41   #1
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,302
New Rechargable Replacement Battery

We've all seen the discussion about replacing your batteries for non-leaking Lithium button cell, holder & diode etc.

I was looking on CPCs website earlier for a DVD duplicator and decided to have a nose around. I've got to repair the sound on my 4000D shortly

And I came across this little jem http://cpc.farnell.com/BT01218/batte...ELL-ML2032-T25



A rechargable Lithium button cell that fits in the same space as the original battery. I'll be trying this on my 4 Amigas than need new batteries

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 06 March 2008, 01:08   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
Sweet!!!!

let us know how it goes!!!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 06 March 2008, 01:10   #3
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 41
Posts: 3,243
Great find!! Might bag a few of these for some of the 500 expansions I have
Paul_s is offline  
Old 06 March 2008, 02:30   #4
Smiley
Amiga-less!
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,350
Surely it would be cheaper just to get a normal coin battery for about 50p?

The batteries last years anyway


EDIT: Actually I may have misread, do these solder straight on to the mobo without the need for a holder?
Smiley is offline  
Old 06 March 2008, 02:42   #5
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiley View Post
EDIT: Actually I may have misread, do these solder straight on to the mobo without the need for a holder?
This one does and it's rechargable

The only others that I've seen are not rechargable so you have to have a diode in the circuit to stop them blowing up

In my eyes this seemed a good idea because it's a one piece solution rather than a battery, a clip and a diode

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 06 May 2008, 18:09   #6
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Nice find!

The handling charge is a bit steep though!

Anybody bought a load of these and wants to sell one?



M.
Macca is offline  
Old 06 May 2008, 18:48   #7
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macca View Post
Nice find!

The handling charge is a bit steep though!

Anybody bought a load of these and wants to sell one?

M.
@Macca

If you're serious about doing it this way - I think I've got one left that I could let you have. I'll get a replacement when I order some more stuff (free postage if you order enough stuff in one go)

I'll check tonight.

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 07 May 2008, 12:31   #8
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Sorry didn't see this mate as I was checking the other posts. Definately going to go this way as I think it's a lot safer than replacing the battery in the long term (hell the current batterys been in there 20 years and still works but it's only a matter of time before it goes!




M.
Macca is offline  
Old 08 May 2008, 08:34   #9
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,545
I would remove it ASAP! You will be sorry if you don't. I did that in my 3000. I had checked it during an upgrade and it looked great. Worked too. I said "Ah its ok for now" Months later it took a dump on my system board! LOL

On a side note, I wish I can get some of these rechargeable batteries here in the US. Anyone know of a place that might sell them? I wonder how much shipping would be to buy from the above link?
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 11 May 2008, 08:32   #10
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
I would remove it ASAP! You will be sorry if you don't. I did that in my 3000. I had checked it during an upgrade and it looked great. Worked too. I said "Ah its ok for now" Months later it took a dump on my system board! LOL

On a side note, I wish I can get some of these rechargeable batteries here in the US. Anyone know of a place that might sell them? I wonder how much shipping would be to buy from the above link?
Farnell?

http://export.farnell.com/jsp/home/h...n_EX_DIRECTEXP
rkauer is offline  
Old 12 May 2008, 08:40   #11
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,545
Aren't they in the UK? I imagine shipping/exchange rate to the US would be costly.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 12 May 2008, 13:15   #12
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Aren't they in the UK? I imagine shipping/exchange rate to the US would be costly.
Arguably my friend, i doubt it would make much difference...

.....


...... Farnell are some what over priced no matter where the location of your rotation happens to be...
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 12 May 2008, 14:29   #13
Oli_HD
Collector

Oli_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: No longer active
Posts: 157
The best place to get a cheap rechargable CR2032 battery is from those cheap wind up torches. I got one for £3 from a Birmingham shop and its got a nice CR2032 li-ion battery in a holder along with LED's and 6V motor (used as the generator.
Oli_HD is offline  
Old 12 May 2008, 14:43   #14
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
they have something similar to them in poundland..... looks like time to stretch the budget
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 18 May 2008, 18:38   #15
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Well after finally getting around to it I removed the battery from my A2000. Just a little bit of force required on the snips and then a couple of twists and off it came. Checked the area underneath it and the surrounding area and no damage.

Interestingly when I rebooted the amiga it came up as the date 4/6/2008 00:22 so no idea where it got that from!

Checked the battery and it looks like new - shame to pull it out really but the damage cause is not worth it.

So Dave any news on the batterys yet?



M.
Macca is offline  
Old 18 May 2008, 19:16   #16
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 743
You running ClassicWB?
Eclipse is offline  
Old 18 May 2008, 20:29   #17
Oli_HD
Collector

Oli_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: No longer active
Posts: 157
I read somewhere that when the system boots it looks for the newest file on the system and uses that date.
But I have to say when I dont have a clock in it never shows the right year, let alone month/day.
Oli_HD is offline  
Old 18 May 2008, 20:42   #18
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Yes running ClassicWB.

It doesn't really bother me what date it shows - would be interesting to know why it chooses that date and doesn't reset to some default weird thing though (like 1/1/70 0:00)



M.
Macca is offline  
Old 19 May 2008, 01:13   #19
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macca View Post
Well after finally getting around to it I removed the battery from my A2000. Just a little bit of force required on the snips and then a couple of twists and off it came. Checked the area underneath it and the surrounding area and no damage.

Interestingly when I rebooted the amiga it came up as the date 4/6/2008 00:22 so no idea where it got that from!

Checked the battery and it looks like new - shame to pull it out really but the damage cause is not worth it.

So Dave any news on the batterys yet?

M.
Not yet I'm afraid.

Mondays at work are a bit hectic but I'll try and give them a call and see what the expected delivery date is

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 19 May 2008, 12:08   #20
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
No problem mate. There's no rush really as I need to buy a new soldering iron and such like.



M.
Macca is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga battery replacement craggus2000 support.Hardware 49 24 January 2019 16:39
Replacement battery ? willbloke support.Hardware 3 22 July 2011 22:11
500 plus battery replacement ceedy Hardware mods 10 24 February 2011 11:35
4000D battery replacement source Hardware mods 2 24 September 2010 06:11
A4000 Battery Replacement (UK) Hybrid support.Hardware 1 31 March 2006 22:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10123 seconds with 14 queries