English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 January 2020, 19:41   #101
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 49
jotd: Thx for the game. Works great now. Standard Amiga 1200 OS 3.0 and 8MB fast. What about Tapper? I had a lot of fun with that game.
nikosidis is offline  
Old 05 January 2020, 19:48   #102
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,526
Erm even a small game like this needs a lot of work. I was contemplating Pengo for a while now. Even have a SDL mockup running since 2010... never got further, even if I figured out some of the enemy AI
jotd is offline  
Old 05 January 2020, 23:35   #103
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
BTW I have zoned a new .adf. The Elevator kill bug should be history now.
Many thanks jotd, I just quickly tested copying files to a .HDF and indeed no more "elevator kill bug" when using a 68020 CPU with or without "Cycle-exact (Full)" ticked

I still might stick with a 68030 CPU & no "Cycle-exact (Full)" in WinUAE though.
DamienD is online now  
Old 05 January 2020, 23:42   #104
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,526
thanks for testing. You know that there's a windows version too
jotd is offline  
Old 05 January 2020, 23:55   #105
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
thanks for testing.
No problem

Many thanks for creating this port and your super quick bug investigation / fixes

Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
You know that there's a windows version too
Yeah, but not really interested in "Windows" games, unless it's the Diablo series
DamienD is online now  
Old 06 January 2020, 00:55   #106
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,526
anyway, your testing was very useful on behalf of people using/willing to use the game on real amigas. Anyone around? (ATM I know only one person who tried the game on a real A1200: me )
jotd is offline  
Old 06 January 2020, 02:31   #107
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 37
Posts: 701
Ayayay! Tested with ACA1221, everything looks fine!
Cobe is online now  
Old 06 January 2020, 02:39   #108
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
anyway, your testing was very useful on behalf of people using/willing to use the game on real amigas. Anyone around? (ATM I know only one person who tried the game on a real A1200: me )
I tested on real Amiga 1200 with 8MB fast and CRT
nikosidis is offline  
Old 06 January 2020, 07:00   #109
Nightshft
Registered User

Nightshft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Austria
Age: 44
Posts: 296
Thankfully I could fix my A1200 and it boots again.

The game works fine (real A1200/030/40).
"Stack 30000" before gamestart is def. needed. (I forgot it at the first try and you get heavy distortion/flickering in main screen and game)

Minor bug:
When I wait on the ladder in screen 2 like on the screenshot, the guard will exit the lift where you see him and stay there on the edge, at least for a while. (It's possible that this happens in the original too.)

Edit: He also leaves the lift sometimes about 20 pixels lower too. It doesnt break the game, but it's not entirely correct.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bagman1_k.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	12.6 KB
ID:	65843  

Last edited by Nightshft; 06 January 2020 at 07:27.
Nightshft is offline  
Old 06 January 2020, 09:18   #110
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,526
completely not expected. Never saw that bug before.
jotd is offline  
Old 06 January 2020, 13:39   #111
Nightshft
Registered User

Nightshft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Austria
Age: 44
Posts: 296
This is where he left the elevator the next time. It's no problem for gameplay, as he will continue his route later normally.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2563_k.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	15.2 KB
ID:	65846  
Nightshft is offline  
Old 07 January 2020, 03:35   #112
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,243
By the way, for the credits you can address me as J.M.D.
saimon69 is offline  
Old 07 January 2020, 14:20   #113
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,526
Will change that ! I'm planning to change some characters from bob to sprites, hoping that the speed will improve (no background masking, no blitting…). Guards are 16-pixel wide and carry nothing, so it would be a good start.
jotd is offline  
Old 08 January 2020, 00:54   #114
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Will change that ! I'm planning to change some characters from bob to sprites, hoping that the speed will improve (no background masking, no blitting…). Guards are 16-pixel wide and carry nothing, so it would be a good start.
Oh, the version we currently have is not the final?

Ok, then I should probably mention a very slight issue that I experienced via WinUAE with an "A1200 / 68020 CPU / Cycle-exact (Full)" config...

If you grab the pickaxe, drop / grab again, repeat numerous times, then it doesn't go into your hands always but slightly moves a few pixels onwards.

No biggie; and only happens with the above configuration; as far as I could tell.

BTW; never seen that bug that Nighshift mentioned in all the testing that I've done... mind you; I don't have a "real" Amiga
DamienD is online now  
Old 08 January 2020, 10:31   #115
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
[...] A cracktro haha no thanks. I'd have to add a protection first, then remove it and add a cracktro
Maybe someone will add a trainer and thus we will have a nice intro for this game as well
malko is offline  
Old 23 January 2020, 22:18   #116
Pixelfill
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Preston
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
Maybe someone will add a trainer and thus we will have a nice intro for this game as well
I need a trainer lol, My 6 year old daughter loves it though
Pixelfill is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 08:37   #117
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,526
yes, the game is rather difficult when you don't know where to go/how to avoid the guards. the "trainer" mode gives more time at least. I'll change it so it gives more lives too.
jotd is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 09:08   #118
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
yes, the game is rather difficult when you don't know where to go/how to avoid the guards. the "trainer" mode gives more time at least. I'll change it so it gives more lives too.
Don't forget the "trainer"-tro

Last edited by malko; 24 January 2020 at 09:13. Reason: typo
malko is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 23:24   #119
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,526
hummm I'm not a demomaker. And I'm not doing a cracktro for my own game
jotd is offline  
Old 25 January 2020, 17:14   #120
el_pasi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 226
Hi, I just tried Bagman with Amiga 1200 which has Blizzard PPC 603e+/68040 -card. I did use stack 30000, but still game flickered on menu screen and crashed after few seconds of game play. Play screen was garbled from start. Has anyone got this to work with 68040?
el_pasi is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Remake" C64 Amiga International Karate + video amiman99 Retrogaming General Discussion 9 22 January 2013 18:54
Speccy remake of Amiga tune on Youtube Hewitson Nostalgia & memories 4 01 April 2011 22:42
not Amiga-like, not remake, but still brilliant s2325 Nostalgia & memories 14 13 September 2007 16:01
Old version number? [GameBase version vs. GBA version + misc. questions] wanderer project.MAGE 5 23 August 2007 01:51
Amiga Remake killergorilla Amiga scene 2 12 October 2003 12:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12590 seconds with 16 queries