English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene > Member Introductions

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 December 2019, 13:37   #1
somacast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Manama
Posts: 47
Hi and thanks for accepting my membership

Hi ,

I would like to introduce myself, I am a mechanical Engineer who loves electronics and video games, mainly retros, and this of course includes commodore computers .

for the electronics side i do all kind of mods at home to retro cosoles as hoppiest and kindda collector of retro consoles

i grew up having vic20 at home with tapes, remeber blitz, packman , and other similar games for vic20, then c64 with 1541, then c128, also owned and still do plus4 and c16, also we once had the dot matrix printer of c64..

i didn't own amiga during its glory times but late, have a500 for quite looong time, used only as gaming machine, a few months ago bought second hand a2000 and a2000hd , the a2000hd had the hdd 50mb in it but it had some issues and it had only 512k chip ram, so i left it and i took its hdd to the other a2000 , which is one of latest revisions with 1mb chip ram, also 2.0 kickstarter rom (purple disk insert screen).

the experts of lemonamiga helped me alot building it, with the scsi controller, the cd rom installation, new 4 gb hdd, and finally with whdload , and thats were I faced and still face issues.

thats all I guess
somacast is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 13:49   #2
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,878
Hi somacast, welcome to EAB!

Just out of curiosity, what kind of issues are you having with whdload? What is total amount of RAM and did you upgrade KS to 3x or its still 2.0?
Anubis is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 14:13   #3
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,295
Welcome to EAB.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 14:34   #4
somacast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Manama
Posts: 47
@Anibus : thnx , actually i do have an entire thread in lemonamiga with good detail of the problem, it was that no games were starting all giving the exceptional error (I think ) screen.. then changed system format file to pfs3 , then still had issues, then to pfs3 1.3ds, which helped alot, but still many games crash, second is that I tried many a500 rom 1.3 from the net (i own both a500 and a2000) , but none of them accepted by whdload to run those games requiring it, said invalid kick bla bla file .. this is the thread if you may kindly maybe have a look , there is a sort of uncertainty if its hardware issue (ram is 1 mb chip and 4 fast ram, hardframe scsi controller, Toshiba scsi cd rom, seagate 4gb hdd).
pictures are linked in many posts too
http://www.lemonamiga.com/forum/view...er=asc&start=0
thnx

@Pyromania: thanks alot
somacast is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 16:08   #5
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,516
Vic 20, C128 and second hand Amiga 500 also here

Anyway i didn't own no more any real hardware, only emulation of Amiga nowadays

Welcome to the forum
chip is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 17:17   #6
somacast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Manama
Posts: 47
c128 is a 2 in 1 anyway so you already own a c64 too

thnx
somacast is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 17:48   #7
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,516
C128 was 3 in 1

Never used the third one anyway
chip is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 19:15   #8
somacast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Manama
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
C128 was 3 in 1

Never used the third one anyway
really ?

whats the third !!!
somacast is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 19:39   #9
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,516
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CP/M
chip is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 20:08   #10
somacast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Manama
Posts: 47
i c , thnx
somacast is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 20:09   #11
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,516
You are welcome

No idea of what kind of computer it was actually
chip is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 23:58   #12
512k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Creatures Land
Posts: 103
Welcome
512k is offline  
Old 06 December 2019, 00:48   #13
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 35
Posts: 1,419
Hi Somacast. Welcome to the forum.

You write you are from Manama. Is that Manama Bahrain?!?! I'm studying mechanical engineering so what type of work do you do with your degree? Plastic moulding, prototyping?!?
redblade is offline  
Old 06 December 2019, 01:45   #14
aeberbach
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 133
Hi, welcome! I have had one issue with whdload, on Eye of the Beholder - downloading from whdownload got me a package with an older slave component that had a bug. Grabbing the newer version from whdload fixed it.
aeberbach is offline  
Old 06 December 2019, 04:46   #15
somacast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Manama
Posts: 47
@512k : thnx

@redblade: thnx , yes its the pearl of the gulf , Bahrain
I work in the technical services, we look after Engineering modifications, static equipment & piping mostly.

@aeberbach : thnx , ok , so does whdload site have every slave file for every game? in fact a similar thing was noticed when i downloaded whdload file itself , 18.5 which had issues , then downloaded the (small) version which worked alot better.
somacast is offline  
Old 06 December 2019, 06:46   #16
aeberbach
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 133
whdownload is a bit like those emulator rom sites - it usually includes an archive that you can just run using whdload, game and all.
whdload site gives you the whdload program itself, but also has a database of support files that you would add to each game separately. What I was meaning is that the prepackaged game from whdownload had an old support file but getting a new support file from whdload and putting that into the game folder fixed everything.
aeberbach is offline  
Old 06 December 2019, 07:30   #17
somacast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Manama
Posts: 47
^^^
excellent, i will give it a try. thnx alot
somacast is offline  
Old 06 December 2019, 09:49   #18
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 35
Posts: 1,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by somacast View Post
@redblade: thnx , yes its the pearl of the gulf , Bahrain
I work in the technical services, we look after Engineering modifications, static equipment & piping mostly.
Are you a native of Bahrain? If so can you post some information about the Amiga/Commodore scene in Bahrain i.e What Amigas you had (US NTSC, UK PAL, FR PAL)? Did you buy your Amigas locally or off Ebay?

Thanks
redblade is offline  
Old 06 December 2019, 11:48   #19
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeberbach View Post
I have had one issue with whdload, on Eye of the Beholder - downloading from whdownload got me a package with an older slave component that had a bug.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeberbach View Post
whdownload is a bit like those emulator rom sites - it usually includes an archive that you can just run using whdload, game and all.
I was about to say; do not use https://whdownload.com/ as it hasn't been updated since 29-07-2011.

Use Retroplay's WHDLoad packages from the EAB File Server here: Commodore_Amiga/Retroplay/

...but have just seen this recent news on https://whdownload.com/:

Quote:
2019-11-10 (a HUUUGE Update ^_^)
- Synced with Retroplay's current archive. Thanks a lot, mate...
DamienD is offline  
Old 06 December 2019, 13:02   #20
somacast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Manama
Posts: 47
the copy of whdload app itself I use is the one from whdload.de or something like that , and I think it was recent 2019 too …

but for the games ok , I will check that thanks
somacast is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elbox not responding after accepting money Overmann Amiga scene 1 05 March 2019 21:26
NComm not accepting keyboard input Jaymes Keller support.Apps 8 01 July 2017 05:02
DCE accepting Accelerators for repair? majsta Amiga scene 2 21 September 2012 22:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09145 seconds with 15 queries