English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 November 2010, 23:28   #1
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 442
A1200 floppy not working

Hello everyone,

i have an Amiga 1200, and everything works except the floppy.

I have tried to change the drive with other drives (they work on other 600 or another 1200 so they are fine) but nothing has changed.

Even an external floppy drive doesn't work ( i have tried months ago, i don't remember nothing else ).

The internal drive makes "click click" but if I insert a floppy, it isn't recognized ( being a dos or a non dos-disk, there is no difference ).

What can it be?

Thanks in advance.
mtb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 November 2010, 23:52   #2
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 864
test with another supply, error on negative -12volt
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 22 November 2010, 00:45   #3
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,592
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpiac64 View Post
test with another supply, error on negative -12volt
Why whould the floppy ever use -12Volts.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 November 2010, 05:54   #4
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 51
Posts: 3,481
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Replace Paula chip.
rkauer is offline  
Old 22 November 2010, 09:03   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,161
Drive motor would still start and you would get some seek sounds if Paula is broken. I guess it is CIA problem.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 November 2010, 10:05   #6
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 442
Quote:
test with another supply, error on negative -12volt
Already changed 3 of them, nothing changes.

Quote:
Drive motor would still start and you would get some seek sounds if Paula is broken.
Only click click and nothing else.

So... Cia ( 2 chips? )

I guess i need to use the other machine, or is it possible to fix/change them? I have a spare 600 ( a bit broken, i've lost some hd pins... ) and a 500 that i think has ram problems.

Thank you.
mtb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting protracker 2.2a samples from PC to floppy and working W4LKR New to Emulation or Amiga scene 12 16 June 2013 18:45
Amberstar floppy version not working macce2 Retrogaming General Discussion 2 01 August 2012 18:54
floppy df0 working / not working Dave_wb support.Hardware 3 07 January 2009 10:11
External floppy drive not working, comes up as DF2 when should be DF1 Hewitson support.Hardware 6 16 December 2007 04:57
New floppy drive not working :( Highwayman support.Hardware 0 18 November 2006 14:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20680 seconds with 12 queries