English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 May 2007, 01:10   #1
potis21
M$ Survivor
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Greece - Crete
Age: 41
Posts: 12
Why is it impossible for the pc to write amiga disks? (or isn't?)

http://www.fdos.org/ripcord/rawrite/

It seems that 880k is the only format not supported; but somehow I feel it can be done.

This is the only thing I truly miss from UAE. I own 3 amigas (2XA1200, 1XA500)
But despite the fact that there are ways to transer data to and from OS3.0, I have a problem with my A500 - somehow I feel I have a tremendous problem converting file-by-file the tons of disks I have from Floppies to ADF, but specially VICE-VERSA.
I need to be able to enter a floppy into my pc and get a A500 compatible format.

I know it can be done by PC0: and even serial, but consider transferring 3 times around the very same data just to end up on a usable disk... it is truly frustrating, and I own 3 ks3.0 amigas now. back to 2002 I had none... since my first A1200 Died suddenly in my hands
Therefore I know how it is to have an A500 and can't use it because your mum (now a grandma) threw away those old wb1.3 disks... and all the demos - games you had.
potis21 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 May 2007, 04:31   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,486
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
use a compact flash card reader, a compact flash, CFD.lha and FAT95.lha
from aminet, and now you use the CF to transfer the adf you want ^^ !

and then use the disks made with a tool like diskwrite or tracktool to recreate
new disks, and finaly use them on your A500
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 29 May 2007, 07:47   #3
potis21
M$ Survivor
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Greece - Crete
Age: 41
Posts: 12
Surely there are ways that sort of transfer can be done. Even the most unawaited of my desires has been fulfilled - the ability to plug a disk to my PC and format it as an amiga DH0: - that did it, I am happy.

But imagine if.....

I guess you all know I'm right, right? the problem sticks with the dreadful PC floppy controller. The question is - can it be persuaded to write raw? and if yes, how? how can one ensure compatibility with all kinds of badly designed totally unbent controllers and even if circulated via smart programming, can the AFD be fed as raw with correct start position (the hole in PC floppy) be the start of that special word on the start of track 0 perfectly aligned???
Gee, I went too far...
potis21 is offline  
Old 29 May 2007, 08:01   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,375
Technically impossible. Do some research first (disk2fdi documentation is very good starting point)

PC floppy controller can't write AmigaDOS compatible tracks. It has no "raw"-mode and PC format MFM encoding is done in hardware (which cannot be bypassed)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 May 2007, 10:55   #5
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,516
Listen to dlfrsilver, that's the cheapest no-nonsense way of transferring to disks. Just fill a 2GB card, put it in your A500 and you can write disks until the end of time...
Photon is offline  
Old 29 May 2007, 11:37   #6
Dastardly
Into the Wonderful

Dastardly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gods Country
Age: 43
Posts: 2,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver
use a compact flash card reader, a compact flash, CFD.lha and FAT95.lha
from aminet, and now you use the CF to transfer the adf you want ^^ !

and then use the disks made with a tool like diskwrite or tracktool to recreate
new disks, and finaly use them on your A500

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon
Listen to dlfrsilver, that's the cheapest no-nonsense way of transferring to disks. Just fill a 2GB card, put it in your A500 and you can write disks until the end of time...
Is there a detailed guide/walkthrough on how to do this anywhere I could read up on?
Dastardly is offline  
Old 29 May 2007, 12:48   #7
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,035
Can't remember the details, but someone said on a forum once, that you're able to write floppies on a pc... something about creating a VMware/VirtualPC environment and putting the adf in the virtual floppy drive... or was it the other way around - dumping data from floppies to an virtual adf?
Shoonay is online now  
Old 29 May 2007, 12:49   #8
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by potis21
the ability to plug a disk to my PC and format it as an amiga DH0: - that did it, I am happy.
I'd like to do this for my A1200 as my original WB floppies have gone belly up. Is there a guide somewhere on how to do this?
Coagulus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Impossible to write changes to ADF floppy images Gaula92 support.FS-UAE 18 15 January 2017 22:27
Write of disks on Catweasel MKIV _ThEcRoW support.Hardware 24 02 December 2006 22:54
Games who write on their disks Adderly project.TOSEC (amiga only) 42 08 September 2006 02:24
Isn't it time to release Amiga ROM 1.3 for FREE ? Leo42 Retrogaming General Discussion 29 06 July 2004 11:55
Nostalgie isn't what it used to be Severin Nostalgia & memories 1 16 September 2003 11:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06949 seconds with 13 queries