English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2013, 01:18   #1
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,292
Exclamation Ghosts N Goblins patch v0.6d for test

Hi,

With Codetapper agreement, i have continue beta patch of Gng.

i have just uploading new beta patch in TheZone!

Can you test it?

I hope to have removed definitely temporary freeze on 68020 and > CPU

If many guys are no freeze, I'll continue patch and will release whdload's patch.

regards
Bertrand

Uptade:
Version 0.6c in TheZone!

Last edited by CFOU!; 22 February 2013 at 20:42. Reason: version superieur du patch
CFOU! is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 February 2013, 10:15   #2
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Well I played to 5th stage, no freezes . The sound still has some bugs but now you can actually hear a sound when collecting a "treasure". Is this going to include the jump-&-turn-&-shoot feature?

Looking forward to v1.0 patch
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 20 February 2013, 10:27   #3
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,564
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
the arcade boast this feature ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 20 February 2013, 10:41   #4
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Well I played to 5th stage, no freezes . The sound still has some bugs but now you can actually hear a sound when collecting a "treasure".

Looking forward to v1.0 patch

great!!

I'll can finish it and add trainer option on whdload startup windows (both version will be supported ans debugged if possible)

Last edited by CFOU!; 20 February 2013 at 10:58.
CFOU! is offline  
Old 20 February 2013, 10:57   #5
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post

Looking forward to v1.0 patch
I think it's possible but for a Gng's fan it's a crime!!!! because you change original gameplay...

Gng is for me one of the better amiga conversion, it's exactly arcade version (with same bugs!!) but with less colors

if i have some timeds, i will perhaps add colors using copper list (changing color palette several times in one screen).

For level one it's easy because there no vertical scrolling for other is possible but more complicate (i must found scrollling code and understand it but it's not really complicate in my option just it's needed precious time....)
CFOU! is offline  
Old 20 February 2013, 11:04   #6
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
the arcade boast this feature ?
I don't remember, I played the original arcade cabinet many many moons ago...
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
I think it's possible but for a Gng's fan it's a crime!!!! because you change original gameplay...

Gng is for me one of the better amiga conversion, it's exactly arcade version (with same bugs!!) but with less colors...
If it's not an original feature (jump&turn) then it's not needed. And yes, I'm a GnG fan!
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 20 February 2013, 11:13   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,121
Sadly the controls aren't really exact/smooth and the scrolling runs faster when you jump in some levels. It could have been an Amiga classic, but the port was a bit sloppy.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 20 February 2013, 11:30   #8
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Sadly the controls aren't really exact/smooth and the scrolling runs faster when you jump in some levels. It could have been an Amiga classic, but the port was a bit sloppy.
I do not totally agree ....

I know the arcade (I've played a lot in my youth).

It seems to me that the rotten scrolling is also present in the arcade version (eg in amount at the beginning of Level 2 or Level 5.

It is not annoying as we know the game perfectly ...

If scrolling was fluid on amiga, I was disappointed because it would have changed the gameplay (including the speed of the character that would have faster)
CFOU! is offline  
Old 20 February 2013, 11:38   #9
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,121
That's true. The orginal Arcade version has a shitty scrolling too. At least the controls are really smooth.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 20 February 2013, 11:54   #10
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
That's true. The orginal Arcade version has a shitty scrolling too. At least the controls are really smooth.

playing amiga version, i am same pleasure and same sensation that playing arcade version..

Is this not the most important point for a successful conversion?
CFOU! is offline  
Old 20 February 2013, 11:59   #11
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,121
Maybe you should compare it via MAME. But it's OK for me if you like the Amiga version as much as the arcade version. It's a normal port, but not as good as some other Amiga arcade ports.

Anyway, it's good to see that you have time again to improve/do new WHDLoad patches.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 20 February 2013, 12:00   #12
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,564
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Very much like Toki or Snow Bros, or Pang.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 20 February 2013, 12:15   #13
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Maybe you should compare it via MAME. But it's OK for me if you like the Amiga version as much as the arcade version. It's a normal port, but not as good as some other Amiga arcade ports.
Lots Once I finished the arcade version and for me it is a good conversion on amiga because I have the same fun to play and the game is also addictive.

But it is certain that things could be improved in this conversion.

What is for you the best arcade conversion on amiga?

ps: for me, the best converter was FRANCE OCEAN (pang, snowbros,toki)

Rødland was wonderfull conversion too...
CFOU! is offline  
Old 20 February 2013, 12:28   #14
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,121
Pang is pretty good. Toki too but the viewable screen is too small. Arkanoid, Super Hang-on, Marble Madness, Midnight Resistance, Silkworm, Rainbow Islands, to name a few really good ports. I'm disappointed about the Ghouls'n'Ghosts Amiga conversion. Nearly unplayable and the scrolling is torture for your eyes.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 20 February 2013, 13:03   #15
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Hmm...Sidewinder was a great "conversion"

I thought Bubble Bobble was good also.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 20 February 2013, 13:11   #16
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,564
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Rodland is pretty awesome in this regard, indeed Midnight resistance too ; Rainbow Islands is quite average, and the game is not complete, (worlds missing, etc etc).
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 20 February 2013, 14:24   #17
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
I'm disappointed about the Ghouls'n'Ghosts Amiga conversion. Nearly unplayable and the scrolling is torture for your eyes.
Yes, me too.

Indeed, Ghouls'n ghost is a shame for amiga....
CFOU! is offline  
Old 20 February 2013, 14:37   #18
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
Yes, me too.

Indeed, Ghouls'n ghost is a shame for amiga....
As a conversion it's shameful yes, but I must confess it's still one of my favorite games. Quite playable, great music but collision-detection is too wide.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 20 February 2013, 16:37   #19
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
I think a lot of people confuse Ghost'n Goblins with Ghouls'n Ghosts when it comes to their memory of it being in the arcade.

I don't think you could jump and throw your spears up and down in Ghost'n Goblins Arcade but you could in Ghouls'n Ghosts Arcade.

Although I could be getting mixed up.

It was also strange that Ghouls'n Ghosts was released before Ghost'n Goblins for the Amiga.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 20 February 2013, 17:15   #20
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitesnake View Post
I think a lot of people confuse Ghost'n Goblins with Ghouls'n Ghosts when it comes to their memory of it being in the arcade.

I don't think you could jump and throw your spears up and down in Ghost'n Goblins Arcade but you could in Ghouls'n Ghosts Arcade.

Although I could be getting mixed up.

It was also strange that Ghouls'n Ghosts was released before Ghost'n Goblins for the Amiga.
This is more sad because the more recent productions of the coder are better coded (http://hol.abime.net/hol_search.php?N_ref_artist=739)

Indeed a GhoulsN Ghost version coded as DojoDan, assassin or Overdrive was been really better and perhaps in aga
CFOU! is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ghosts 'n Goblins DeafDaz support.Games 5 09 August 2011 16:25
Ghosts'n Goblins for KS V2.0 or V3.1? D4Ni3L3 support.Games 7 30 September 2008 20:05
Ghosts'n Goblins fc.studio Games images which need to be WHDified 59 24 March 2008 09:51
HD Installer for Ghosts'N'Goblins zambot3 support.WinUAE 2 04 February 2008 10:33
Ghosts 'n Goblins Kodoichi HOL data problems 8 03 March 2003 16:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09267 seconds with 14 queries