English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 October 2016, 01:36   #101
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 856
With NoCache option, some games with problems do work. However, in some cases disabling caches slows things down seriously. SWOS, for example. With Lotus 3 NoCache won't help. That' s the case with relatively f3w games, however.
macce2 is offline  
Old 31 October 2016, 12:03   #102
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,477
Rather use OS CPU command, CPU nodatacache nocopyback leaves instruction cache on. Can't remember how Lotus3 works - at least I played it with an 060. Probably just instruction cache on like with Lotus 2.

Last edited by zipper; 31 October 2016 at 12:14.
zipper is offline  
Old 31 October 2016, 15:36   #103
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,113
Hmm... with my 040/40 I get the same error as you with Lotus 3. When using NoCache all works fine. If that doesn`t help for you then make a bugreport, please.
daxb is offline  
Old 31 October 2016, 21:06   #104
Irek´72
´040 User
Irek´72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Emsland/Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 394
I've just tested Lotus 3 on my Blizzard 040/25 and the game worked fine without additional options on my setup.
BTW: the game SWOS works only with CACHE option without problems on 040/25 machines.
Irek´72 is offline  
Old 02 November 2016, 17:51   #105
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 856
I eventually got Lotus 3 to work. I booted directly to DOS with ECS chipset (?!) disabling Caches in early startup menu. Then I started Lotus 3 WHDload with NoCache option. I didn't use Preload option.
I only tested single player game, however. I'm afraid the two player game to have issues..?! :-o
macce2 is offline  
Old 04 November 2016, 10:02   #106
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,624
Would it be fair to say that any slave requiring NOCACHE or other tooltypes was poorly written? Surely there's a way to disable the caches in the slave?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 04 November 2016, 13:19   #107
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,477
Can't say - but then different processors should have different slaves. And nocache is overkill as many games do use instrucrion cache but barf at data cache (030 and up) and 040/ 060 specific caches. Then some games expect VBR=0. too.
zipper is offline  
Old 04 November 2016, 17:26   #108
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,113
It might be the case but generally no. The slave author isn`t always able to test on different systems. It may work fine on his system(s) without NoCache. Sometimes it is better to give the user the choice to disable cache. Details about this should be answered by slave writer.
daxb is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 04:44   #109
majestyx
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: PA - USA
Age: 49
Posts: 19
Happy YAY! Questron II works now

Quote:
Originally Posted by Irek´72 View Post
I can confirm it. After the start the game crashes with an error on my set up as well. Then I tried to start the game with a NOMMU option and it worked without any problems. There are some games which only work with this option without problems on 040 CPU.
Here are some of them listed : The WHDLoad 68040 Users Group
Awesome! Came here trying to get this to work on my A4000D/040 and kept getting a fatal Out of Range error (something to that effect). The NOMMU option solved it. Weird thing is I was actually able to run it from the diskette, although it moved way too fast. Glad someone figured out how to get this to run.
majestyx is offline  
Old 28 July 2017, 20:42   #110
Irek´72
´040 User
Irek´72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Emsland/Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 394
@majestyx: I'm glad I could help. Well, I always use the NOMMU option in case of weird game crashes. Sometimes, it helps and sometimes it does not.

Btw: There is a little update in the WHDLoad 68040 Users Group....
Irek´72 is offline  
Old 23 September 2018, 19:23   #111
Irek´72
´040 User
Irek´72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Emsland/Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 394
The WHDLoad 68040 users group has birthday today :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
I also started a user group dedicated to such things (Irek's idea, not mine); if you own an '040 please join so we can see how many people these problems affect.

Exactly 10 years ago we created our WHDLoad 68040 users group.
I think that we have managed to solve some problems together. Of course, without great support from the entire WHDLoad team that would have been impossible. I wanted to say thank you.
Irek´72 is offline  
Old 23 September 2018, 19:28   #112
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,113
My impression was/is that there isn't such a big problem or incompatibility with 68040 like some people say in forums. At least no bugs in 68040 that cause software failures.
daxb is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workbench 1.3 software compatibility list ppsh41 project.ClassicWB 12 05 September 2015 21:20
DosFellow compatibility list and compatibility of specific games ruffian support.WinFellow 8 24 May 2010 20:23
whdload compatibility problems hexaae support.WinUAE 3 26 November 2009 20:48
A1200(040/32m) WHDLoad Problems... Crackersixx project.WHDLoad 10 16 January 2006 13:36
Old Compatibility List eNVy support.Games 7 10 March 2002 18:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07714 seconds with 14 queries