English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 April 2008, 16:29   #41
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Show me one bug or non-implemented feature.




I thought so...
Why? You know the famous ones like this (posted several times), right?

Retro-Nerd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 April 2008, 21:42   #42
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,565
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
You're right here Retro nerd
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 24 April 2008, 22:26   #43
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlcarr View Post
Aha! That did the trick. Well, Cycle-Exact plus disabling JIT together did the trick. (The NoCache tooltype on the O-o-O icon isn't needed).

To sum it all up, to have "Dr J. vs. Larry Bird One on One" run correctly under WHDLoad (with WinUAE 1.4.6 and ClassicWB Full, anyways), I ultimately did:
(1) Load the ClassicWB.uae configuration.
(2) On the CPU page, untick the JIT box. (note that I didn't need to pick the A500 mode on the CPU page).
(3) On the Chipset page, tick the Cycle-Exact box.
(4) Hit Start and enjoy the game.
Glad you found a solution. It is actually mentioned in the ClassicWB FAQ:

http://classicwb.abime.net/classicweb/faq.htm


Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Bah, that's rubbish IC. Of course you need JIT for CWB, AmiKit etc or it way too slow. Not the games, but the OS operating.

Gamebase Amiga+WHDLoad obsoletes the use of an AmigaOS, it uses WHDRun to start the games. So there is no need for JIT in emulation.
Nah, a modern PC is perfectly capable of running the ClassicWB packs without JIT. The FULL is lightening fast on my PC without JIT and the P96 version is perfectly usable (on a old 2Ghz Athlon XP). Workbench emulation without JIT is more comparable and compatible to a real Amiga experience so I actually use non-JIT configs quite often as it feels more like a genuine accelerated A1200.

I'm sure WHDload can be configured via tool types to disable JIT and set other WinUAE options when launching a game now can't it, so I guess it's all kind of a mute point if you use JIT or not for Workbench? Or have I been smoking too much again!

Gamebase Amiga is great, but I like emulating as close to the real thing for nostalgia reasons so that includes going through Workbench for gaming. Call me a traditionalist!

I have to admit, Gamebase is great for when you want to fire up some quick games when friends come round or running on a frontend driven dedicated retro pc.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 24 April 2008, 23:05   #44
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
Nah, a modern PC is perfectly capable of running the ClassicWB packs without JIT. The FULL is lightening fast on my PC without JIT and the P96 version is perfectly usable (on a old 2Ghz Athlon XP). Workbench emulation without JIT is more comparable and compatible to a real Amiga experience so I actually use non-JIT configs quite often as it feels more like a genuine accelerated A1200.
It works for CWB Lite here, when you switch to "Adjustable between CPU and chipset". No chance for AmiKit or AmiSys, it needs JIT for a reasonable speed.



Quote:
I'm sure WHDload can be configured via tool types to disable JIT and set other WinUAE options when launching a game now can't it, so I guess it's all kind of a mute point if you use JIT or not for Workbench? Or have I been smoking too much again!
Of course you can, but will you configure the whole KGWHD packs for me?

Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 24 April 2008, 23:19   #45
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Yeah, the eye candy packs require the extra power for a nice experience, but I'd be interested to see how fast a modern CPU can emulate an Amiga without JIT. Like I said, all my packs are fine without JIT on an old CPU - after all most were built with an 020 14Mhz in mind. It's only the hogging tasks like MP3 playback that's going to bring them to their knees.

As for the tooltypes you have a point, I guess that's why I've never bothered. It woundn't be that bad if you just did it on an as-need basis though. No need to do them all at once - pace yourself!

We need a Workbench tool to set tooltypes. Perhaps there is one on Aminet?
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 24 April 2008, 23:22   #46
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post

We need a Workbench tool to set tooltypes. Perhaps there is one on Aminet?
Yep, such a tool would be awesome.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 30 April 2008, 07:41   #47
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 40
Posts: 3,313
http://www.grapheine.com/bombaytv/in...64bfd9ba74ad85
Ironclaw is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A game running too fast on 2.20 msayed1977 support.WinUAE 2 07 July 2010 23:56
Monkey Island and Rocket Ranger WHDLoad running too fast. ricky500 project.WHDLoad 13 19 November 2008 17:59
Running WAY too fast!!! Rabbit80 support.WinUAE 16 15 August 2008 19:41
UAE TiME is running to FAST !!! IRoN support.WinUAE 6 11 July 2008 21:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07168 seconds with 15 queries