English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 March 2020, 00:05   #341
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 313
How many frame slices are you using?
guest.r is offline  
Old 07 March 2020, 01:20   #342
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,900
4 slices.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 07 March 2020, 08:48   #343
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 313
Good and bad news is i get the "tearing" with more than 1 slice even without using shaders. Your HW is faster, so you can afford a bit more i think.

If still looking for a compromise you can setup a config with 1 slice for games you memorized very well.

As i read this is still a viable option that adds only about a half of frame of input lag. Should need about 1/4 of gpu 'power' compared with 4 slices, which means 1x, 4x could become an option.

Beamracing, by any means, is not an industry standard. It's more an endeavour to get things fixed with a set of general purpose functionalities, provided by 'the industry'.

Some issues might be related with heavier shading, but it's not a shader issue in general.

Last edited by guest.r; 07 March 2020 at 21:46.
guest.r is offline  
Old 09 March 2020, 21:45   #344
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 313
New shaderpack release.

Two new shaders added, some tweaked a bit, nothing got worse.

The biggest improvement is with the ReShade WinUaeMask shader. I decided to add another version for gfx. adapters with more muscle.

Now glow and bloom can be used form Reshade and added to any mask or shader (bloom is a decent brightness booster for heavier masks).

This shader also got 3 new masks:
- non-linear "mask 5", "mask 6" (similar to the PNG masks released some while ago) and a dispersed mask.

Edit: A bit better glow.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Smart-Res-Pack-4.2-plus-r3.zip (66.4 KB, 17 views)

Last edited by guest.r; 12 March 2020 at 21:04.
guest.r is offline  
Old 10 March 2020, 00:55   #345
fxgogo
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Richmond / U.K.
Posts: 87
Loving the UAE mask shader with glow and the trim torn filters. I am so close to a real CRT, well at least in my minds eye, that is.

So I have managed to blue screen my windows 10 laptop 5 times tonight. Would you class that as normal behaviour or should I be looking for an issue here? I ha e noticed it happening when tweaking reshade settings and when transitioning to and from the main WinUAE settings.
fxgogo is offline  
Old 10 March 2020, 08:37   #346
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 313
I also experienced some blue screens with the D3D11 mode, even without ReShade. Since there are not much other reports of this i contributed it to the aged drivers. D3D9 is rock solid though with ReShade.

For nVidia users with new 'Game Ready Drivers':

https://www.techarp.com/games/reshad...ce-experience/

Quote:
How To Add ReShade Filters To GeForce Experience

Here is a step-by-step guide to add your favourite ReShade filters to GeForce Experience :

Download and install Game Ready Driver 441.07 or greater
Open GeForce Experience, go to Settings, and check “Enable experimental features“.
You can now download and install GeForce Experience 3.20.1.57 or greater
Copy the ReShade filters you want to “Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\Ansel”.
If you installed the DCH driver, then you will need to create this folder yourself, before copying the files
Activate the Ansel (Alt-F2) or Freestyle (Alt-F3) overlay in your game.
You can now apply the ReShade filters from the down-drop Filters menu and tune to your liking.
(if someone tests this would be great).

Anyway, it's good to use the latest Reshade version.
guest.r is offline  
Old 10 March 2020, 09:40   #347
fxgogo
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Richmond / U.K.
Posts: 87
Will give it a go tonight. I am thinking there might be a conflict with my Adobe apps. After Effects requires a specific signed driver that I think is tweaked for application use and not games. Let’s see what happens.
fxgogo is offline  
Old 14 March 2020, 11:57   #348
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 313
Another nice update. Somewhat nicer glow was already introduced. This one is more about the Bloom feature.

As mentioned, bloom is a nice option to have, since it corrects the brightness lowered by the masks. Previous version tends to override more subtle scanlines with brighter colors.

New version has the option added to preserve the scanline presence, which can look much nicer.

Since shaders have to pass the parameter to the next "mask" pass, most of them had to have this support added.

Happy shading.

As a reminder, most shaders can be edited/tweaked. Some shaders like the "Warmer Colors" and "Color Profiles" can be offloaded to the *1 or higher passes and ofc. tweaked too.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Smart-Res-Pack-4.2-plus-r4.zip (66.8 KB, 30 views)
guest.r is offline  
Old 14 March 2020, 17:02   #349
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,900
You have removed the general saturation tweak in all shaders for the new Bloom enhanced pack? This means we can only set a higher saturation in the Color-Profiles shader from now on ( =2.0 high saturation)?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 14 March 2020, 17:25   #350
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 313
Yeah, the saturation is higher/better now in general due to slightly lower output gamma, which was again allowed by the new implementation method of brightboost.

I'll probably start working on a ReShade version of a color altering shader, will turn out nicely, with color temperature, color spaces, contrast, saturation etc.

If someone wants to use vanilla shaders, they are still here...
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=292

Emm...new shaders can also be used without reshade.

Last edited by guest.r; 14 March 2020 at 17:31.
guest.r is offline  
Old 14 March 2020, 18:08   #351
dreadnought
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Ur, Atlantis
Posts: 186
What's the minimum hardware requirement to run the vanilla pack? I only have an olden Radeon (HD 6450) in my Win PC. It can run some less advanced shaders in Retroarch (eg caligari, hyllian) but chokes on the likes of geom/royale.
dreadnought is offline  
Old 14 March 2020, 18:23   #352
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,900
Finally tried your WinUAEMaskGlow in combination with Reshade. Man, this looks so beautiful. Many thanks for again for your hard work.

https://abload.de/gallery.php?key=j2V78iGa

And the Mask looks fine in other emulators too. Denise with your CRT Trinitron shader, and additonal with Bloom & Glow only in Reshade.


Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 14 March 2020 at 19:00.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 14 March 2020, 19:19   #353
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 313
Thanks Retro-Nerd. I'm also content now, things may only improve.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreadnought View Post
What's the minimum hardware requirement to run the vanilla pack? I only have an olden Radeon (HD 6450) in my Win PC. It can run some less advanced shaders in Retroarch (eg caligari, hyllian) but chokes on the likes of geom/royale.
You can use the shaders from latest pack too (without ReShade).

Some of the faster shaders are:

- CRT-Pi
- Scanlines-Sine-Abs
- CRT-Guest
- CRT-Trinitron-Lighter

You might want to set the resolution multipliers right to where you select the shader to:
1x, 2x

More is better quality, but slower.

There are also some fast smoothing shaders like 4xSoft, 4xSoftLite and DDT-Sharp (and maybe Lanczos).
You can use them with 1x, 1x resolution multipliers.

With crt shaders, don't forget to use a mask, if you want this effect.
guest.r is offline  
Old 14 March 2020, 19:47   #354
dreadnought
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Ur, Atlantis
Posts: 186
Ok thanks. I might give it a quick whirl, I like to see how shaders are advancing - even though I sit next to 3 Trinitrons

Glad to hear there are now good options for Amiga too (or actually have been for some time now, I'm quite ut of the loop). I did try to run it in Retroarch with their shaders some time ago but back then PUAE was too much of a headache to use.
dreadnought is offline  
Old 15 March 2020, 12:11   #355
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 313
Yeah, sometimes a standalone emulator is the obvious choice. I'm still very fond of Libretro though. Very nice for arcade and most consoles.

Back to the shaders, i promised a color altering ReShade shader and it's complete now. It includes color profiles from Dr. Venom, colorspaces, color temperature, saturation and contrast. It's a bit 'nerdy' option to use, still a nice to have.

In addition, glow got better again. I decided to use a 15x15 gaussian kernel instead of 11x11, with a different sigma. Since it uses 2 passes it's quite fast though.

All included in the shader pack below.

Some thoughts on using reshade. I noticed that using a 64 bit version activates Reshade, while the 32 bit doesn't. Very nice feature.

One more thing: The color shader should be applied before the mask shader.

Edit: crt-arcade-hires-smartres-interlace shader added. It's faster than the other "interlace" shader included, may look better in some games.

Looks pretty nice in games like Hired guns.



It can be used normally otherwise.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Smart-Res-Pack-4.2-plus-r5.1.zip (71.5 KB, 31 views)

Last edited by guest.r; 17 March 2020 at 14:51. Reason: New shader added.
guest.r is offline  
Old 15 March 2020, 17:25   #356
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,900
Thanks for the color options. Now it looks nearly as good as in Retroarch.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 March 2020, 11:41   #357
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 313
Indeed. The advantage here IMO is, that's a bit easier and much faster to setup tho' with ReShade.
Didn't take much time for me to find these settings, which i like very much for some games for example.

guest.r is offline  
Old 20 March 2020, 11:40   #358
mcbpete
Zone Friend
mcbpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London, England
Age: 37
Posts: 194
Send a message via MSN to mcbpete Send a message via Yahoo to mcbpete
Quote:
Originally Posted by guest.r View Post
Edit: crt-arcade-hires-smartres-interlace shader added. It's faster than the other "interlace" shader included, may look better in some games.
Well, looks like I've found my new shader. Absolutely lovely - thank you!

I gave reshade a go but unfortunately my GPU isn't up to the challenge on all but the most basic built in shaders (e.g ones that are just replacement colour LUTs). Unfortunately your lovely looking glow shader pushes UAE's CPU to a reported 250% CPU usage !
mcbpete is offline  
Old 20 March 2020, 14:59   #359
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 313
Thank you also @mcbpete, for giving it a try.

This shader has quite subtle scanlines, so a 1x, 1x resolution multiplier is also an option with it. 2x, 2x is already 4x slower for example (for the WinUAE shading part).

Maybe this is a good hint how you could get the 'glow' shader running with ReShade.

Last edited by guest.r; 20 March 2020 at 16:09.
guest.r is offline  
Old 20 March 2020, 17:04   #360
mcbpete
Zone Friend
mcbpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London, England
Age: 37
Posts: 194
Send a message via MSN to mcbpete Send a message via Yahoo to mcbpete
Haha yeah I'm already at 1x by 1x Having to work from home this week (due to the COVID-19 thing) and it's kinda highlighted how much I really overdue to upgrading my machine !
mcbpete is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multipass shaders craig64 support.FS-UAE 20 10 July 2017 22:45
HLSL/CG Shaders and xBR Enverex support.FS-UAE 11 19 July 2013 16:44
fx Shaders in WinUAE 2.6.0 crazy46guy support.WinUAE 8 16 June 2013 14:30
[FS-UAE] Optimized or corrected Amiga Game Database Entrys nexusle support.FS-UAE 3 24 August 2012 21:30
Subpixel-corrected lines and polygons on Amiga Scali Coders. Asm / Hardware 9 11 January 2012 12:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09443 seconds with 14 queries